Would love your thoughts re: our cat's recent hypoglycemia

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by onemorejennifer, Jan 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. onemorejennifer

onemorejennifer New Member

Hi! This is my first time posting here but I could sure use some thoughts/advice from cat people a little more experienced in dealing with feline diabetes than I apparently am! I'll try my best to keep this really short and to the point but it seems like a lot has happened over the past week.

Our cat Tyler is 14 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes over a year ago. He gets one unit of Humulin N twice a day. We do not monitor BG at home but have had no problems/issues until recently.

Last Wednesday evening Tyler exhibited many classic symptoms of hypoglycemia (restlessness, head tilting, shivering, turning in circles, problems with eyesight, vomiting, disorientation and finally seizures) so we gave him karo syrup and rushed him to the nearest emergency vet. He wasn't seizing anymore when he got there about midnight. BG was 68 and potassium was low. It looks like a few of the other blood tests results were abnormal but I'm not sure what the abbreviations stand for. In addition to the hypoglycemia, we found out he has hyperthyroidism. Stayed overnight for IV and observation. BG was 184 at 5:15 am.

We took him straight to his regular vet from the emergency clinic. His BG there was 169. We were advised to skip his morning insulin but continue with his normal dose in the pm. Also given pills to take 2x day for the hyperthyroidism.