PK's numbers 6-17 to present ( the old fashioned way!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa&Paul-Kyle

Member Since 2009
6-17-10
pmps 59

6-18-10
+13 amps 55
+13 pmps 89

6-19-10
+12 amps 125
+12 pmps 83

6-20-10
+11.25 amps 63
+12.75 pmps 120

6-21-10
+11.5 amps 38
+11.25 pmps 109

6-22-10
+11.5 amps 28
+8.25 48
+11.5 pmps 72

6-23-10
+13 amps 96
+1 274
+12.5 pmps 55

pretty sure we can assume he has spiked regularly after each meal...pretty sure we can bank on the high 200's to low 300's...just going on past data backed up by this AM's +1

I have PK cut back to what I am calling .3u Half of the .6u I have had him on for a hundred years ( or shortly after I stopped keeping our SS up to date)

My goal- as always- is to shallow out the curve....I would rather have ps of 150 and mid cycle of 250, than ps of 50 and mid cycle of 250.....

To achieve that in the past, I have lowered the dose to lower the drop/ps/peak which historically are one in the same for PK.

The 96 to 274 in an hours time today is disheartening even though it came back to 55 for ps....it is the huge spike variance that bothers me....as I've written before- vetsulin curve on levemir prices. gads.

Not sure how much lower I can go to lower that peak number! yikes! Will try to hold a bit longer to settle unless I get another bread loaf icon ( number too low)...
 
That was my thought exactly - lower the dose to flatten the curve. And he surely earned a reduction with those below 50 nadirs (will call them nadirs since that is his low point). Do you test before feeding or right after?

Yeah, vetsulin curves, but isn't lev cheaper overall? It is for me - or maybe about the same. I'm too tired to figure it out.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
You forgot to put the dose after each preshot. :razz:

I'd have to go back through the recent posts I made to fish them out...maybe eventually I will do that.

6-17 he was getting the .6u from forever ago, on one of those lows- maybe the 38? I went to .3, next dose was .4, dose after that and since was .3, unless my posts say otherwise.

that's my best guess.
 
I know you know your PK, but honestly shooting those very low preshots makes me so nervous Melissa! I wish you could get more +1's and +2's and more +8's - then at least I would feel better. nailbite_smile
 
Pamela, I never knew what this nailbite_smile icon was so I had to check. I always thought it was someone wiping their face with a napkin!

Remember that PK's preshot is the same as his nadir, so if you took those numbers and rearranged them by 6 hrs, she would be shooting something in the upper 100s/ lower 200s - or higher. He just has a weird cycle.

Melissa, have you gotten any more really low PS's?
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Melissa, have you gotten any more really low PS's?

leaving off at the 55 from 6-23

all shots following are .3u

6-24-10

+11.5 amps 135
+12.75 pmps 135

6-25-10

+ 11.25 amps 127
+13.75 pmps 148

6-26-10

+11 amps 132

can only presume the +2's are still 250-350 as per history....*might* have an opportunity to check this today, but with shot almost 2 hrs late last night and an hour early this am, it is doubtful the data would be stable.

presuming the typical spike, I prefer the 130's I am getting now to the 30-50's before...the curve is shallow and predicatble and PK seems to handle it that way so much better- as proof we have the recenty earned dose decrease of 50% ( for those who are counting) :thumbup

He is still acting as fine as I have seen recently, though I am not here much to observe, admittedly.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Pamela, I never knew what this nailbite_smile icon was so I had to check. I always thought it was someone wiping their face with a napkin!
LOL!!

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Remember that PK's preshot is the same as his nadir, so if you took those numbers and rearranged them by 6 hrs, she would be shooting something in the upper 100s/ lower 200s - or higher. He just has a weird cycle.

Yes, I remember, but you are assuming that nothing has changed. Cats insulin needs change all the time as we are seeing here with the reduced doses with PK. Absorption is different from day to day too. Also, the lower the dose of insulin, the shorter the duration of action. Again, I was just expressing my discomfort in dosing those low numbers without more spot checks to see what was happening.

I am sorry Melissa, I know you know your PK and I am not trying to criticize, just giving my opinion and reservations. And I know you have your plate really full now. I hope your Gramma is doing better.
 
I didn't take it as critism pamela- I welcome folks input. I don't think Sheila thought of it as critism either...I *think* she was answering in my stead due to my not getting her much right now.

Just to clear- not assuming...in one of my posts of numbers it shows PK is still spikeing after shot...form6o to 200 something in ONE HOUR. Classic PK and the reason I keep peaks higher ( 150's) so he has less fluctuation in the cycle for oggie feelings and such.

I get what you are saying that things change so stay on top of it...that is good advice and duly noted, thank you.

Honestly, I would like ot have done a full curve before dose changing, but with dangerous lows/ps/peaks ( in and the same for PK) I felt it had to be lowered immediately.

Thanks for Gramma wishes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top