Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=112232
Our PM cycle ended up being pretty good! Blues for the first time in days! Clearly my insulin is still effective.
Nadir was over 50% of a drop from PMPS and I last measured at +8 which was 100. Assuming he didn't go lower after that, nadir was a little late. The dose also appears to have been still working at +12 (unless the reading was inaccurate), after which there was a BIG bounce up to our shoot number of 395 at +12.5.
AMPS: 395 (delayed +12.5) (1.4u)
+5 = 252 (decrease consistent with last night so far)
+6 = 317 (? - food influenced?)
+7 = 306 (cycle long bounce? putting on patience pants)
+8 = 300 (patience pants in place) - will see what the PM brings!
PMPS = 302 (1.4u)
+3 = 161 (erm slow down a bit probably?!)
+4 = 138 (nice and easy please -- fed 1 Tbsp. FF)
+5 = 91 (Fed usual 1/2 can FF)
+6 = 107
+7 = 141
So, since 1.4u was clearly effective last night, and it does appear that Eddie takes at least a cycle (if not a few), to settle into a dose, my question is whether to proceed with a set unit of 1.4u, or whether to continue with the sliding scale as planned (1u for 200/1.2u for 250/1.4u for 300+).
My next question is how to shoot the bounce. Assuming I should continue with the sliding scale, do I shoot the bounce number or if it's like this morning, where he has a lower +12 number, and then bounces to a higher 300+ number a little later, should I shoot based on the later "bounce" number?
I have yet another questions: the ProZinc protocol suggests that where there is bouncing, and the nadir is a greater decrease than 50%, that the dose may be too high, and a reduction may be considered. I know some of the L protocols indicate to shoot "through" the bounce. Since ProZinc is non-depot, but Eddie seems to take a couple days to "settle in" does it make more sense to shoot "through" the bounce, at least in this instance?
Finally, the 1.25u seemed pretty clearly to be not enough to get a good nadir, even after several cycles. Is it odd that such a tiny increase to 1.4u should result in such dramatically different results? I've been trying to think of various reasons why the 1.25 cycles may not have been effective, and I imagine there's a lot of potential reasons. I'm wondering if there are some possible variables that we could control for, for future reference.
Poor sick DH is home again today with the flu. I'm going to have him check +6 and probably every couple hours after that to see how low nadir is and what time it happens.
Thank you for your patience with my questions and for helping me and Eddie figure out the "right" dose!
Our PM cycle ended up being pretty good! Blues for the first time in days! Clearly my insulin is still effective.
AMPS: 395 (delayed +12.5) (1.4u)
+5 = 252 (decrease consistent with last night so far)
+6 = 317 (? - food influenced?)
+7 = 306 (cycle long bounce? putting on patience pants)
+8 = 300 (patience pants in place) - will see what the PM brings!
PMPS = 302 (1.4u)
+3 = 161 (erm slow down a bit probably?!)
+4 = 138 (nice and easy please -- fed 1 Tbsp. FF)
+5 = 91 (Fed usual 1/2 can FF)
+6 = 107
+7 = 141
So, since 1.4u was clearly effective last night, and it does appear that Eddie takes at least a cycle (if not a few), to settle into a dose, my question is whether to proceed with a set unit of 1.4u, or whether to continue with the sliding scale as planned (1u for 200/1.2u for 250/1.4u for 300+).
My next question is how to shoot the bounce. Assuming I should continue with the sliding scale, do I shoot the bounce number or if it's like this morning, where he has a lower +12 number, and then bounces to a higher 300+ number a little later, should I shoot based on the later "bounce" number?
I have yet another questions: the ProZinc protocol suggests that where there is bouncing, and the nadir is a greater decrease than 50%, that the dose may be too high, and a reduction may be considered. I know some of the L protocols indicate to shoot "through" the bounce. Since ProZinc is non-depot, but Eddie seems to take a couple days to "settle in" does it make more sense to shoot "through" the bounce, at least in this instance?
Finally, the 1.25u seemed pretty clearly to be not enough to get a good nadir, even after several cycles. Is it odd that such a tiny increase to 1.4u should result in such dramatically different results? I've been trying to think of various reasons why the 1.25 cycles may not have been effective, and I imagine there's a lot of potential reasons. I'm wondering if there are some possible variables that we could control for, for future reference.
Poor sick DH is home again today with the flu. I'm going to have him check +6 and probably every couple hours after that to see how low nadir is and what time it happens.
Thank you for your patience with my questions and for helping me and Eddie figure out the "right" dose!