P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near end)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and P

Member Since 2014
I've been away from the site for a while. I've been dealing with a lot lately; school, the possibility of moving out of state away from my family, and just the stress and anxiety I constantly have since I'm constantly thinking and worrying about P.

He was doing well (got a couple of 200s/mainly in the 300s) for a few days when I dropped his evening dose. It was looking like when he ate enough, he didn't need as much insulin. Then he started eating less throughout the day and I tried to play catch up for a week and a half or so. Then last Saturday, I tested his ketones and he tested with a small amount. I smelled his breath and although it didn't smell fruity or like nail polish, it did smell different. So I decided to take him to the emergency vet. They tested his blood for ketones, and he was negative. They gave him some fluid because he was a little dehydrated which my regular vet said the last time we were in his office. They sent us home and P drank lots of water that day and a few hours later I tested his ketones again and they were negative. The emergency vet urged me to follow my regular vet's advice and start giving two units. I showed her my spreadsheet and showed her where he had done better on a smaller dose, but she was adamant about the two units. I was scared from the positive ketones, so I did. But it's not helping. My regular vet has been in contact with me over the phone lately and now wants me to increase to 3 units. And I don't want to do it. I think it's too much. I gave him 2.5 units this morning, which I am regretting, and I'm going to do a curve, but I don't think it's going to tell me much other than the dose is too high. I've been trying to get in to show my regular vet my spreadsheet, but we've been getting all kinds of ice and snow lately and I don't drive in either.

Sue said sometimes when there is a higher nadir than preshot, it can mean too much insulin. I think that's what's going on here. The emergency vet I went to has internal medicine vets and I was told I could make an appointment with them to talk about how to better treat P if the 2 units didn't work. Do you guys think it'll be worth it to talk to them?

Any advice or pep talk you can give would be greatly appreciated. I'm afraid I'm going to develop an ulcer from all this stressing I'm doing.
 
Re: An update on P

Hi Melissa and P!

So glad to see you two again! I've been meaning to post on your last condo to see how you two are doing.

I know you did try the very small amounts at first, and had what appeared to be some initial slightly lower numbers, but then it looks like it stalled out. I don't necessarily comfortable giving you specific dosing advice, but I did want to give you some info to chew on.

Eddie and I stalled out a couple weeks ago, and were stuck for cycle after cycle in mid-yellow numbers. Carl and Bob (GA) popped in to one of Eddie's condo and suggested a more dramatic increase in his dose. I adjusted almost a full unit upward, and suddenly started consistently seeing great cycles. In fact, just last night I shaved Eddie's overall scale a bit because I was having to feed lower numbers late at night to keep him above 50. It's entirely possible, though, that I will raise him back up if he doesn't continue to see greens at nadir.

I read about a million posts and condos on this board and what I kept seeing was this: high flat cycles, even if they are initially caused by rebound, result in glucose toxicity if those high flat numbers continue for several days. The toxicity in turn, sets up insulin resistance meaning that the body can't use the insulin that is administered effectively, and the pancreas has to work even harder. This is different from the high-condition type of IAA insulin resistance that some cats have. This kind of insulin resistance is temporary. To "break through" the toxicity, however, often requires increases in dose until you hit a number that will push down that resistance. From what I've studied, it can result in rather rapid decreases in dose once that break through has been achieved.

I think this is what happened with Eddie: we had some good cycles on a dose around 1.5u. Then, he bounced, and got stuck in a bounce that never cleared. It wasn't until I upped the dose quite a bit that it pushed through the glucose toxicity and brought him down.

Here are a couple links to get you started:

Info on glucose toxicity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=62960

Insulin resistance and it's relationship to glucose toxicity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=67645

More on the relationship between glucose toxicity and insulin resistance: http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Glucose_toxicity

So nice to see you guys again! Hang in there! You always only have three options: decrease, increase, or hold the dose. One of the three has to be the right answer. :-D
 
Re: An update on P

A curve today should help you fill out the picture. Looks like so far, he dropped at nadir, but not much. I am not a big fan of increasing the dose a whole lot at at time. I like increasing by .5 if he is in higher numbers, every three cycles. So I'd suggest maybe your 2.5 for two more cycles and then 3 units. The one change I would make is that I'd shoot a different dose when you see a yellow preshot. Maybe go down to 2 units for those numbers. (Those were the cycles you saw a higher nadir for - when you shot the same dose for yellows as you did for reds. So it might have been too much for those lower pre shots.)
 
Re: An update on P

Thank you Jen, that's some really good info. I really liked Carl and Bob's post. I loved the part when he said we look at BG as poison and insulin as the antidote but in actuality, they are best friends. Man, I needed to read that. Because that's how I've been feeling. Poison, poison, poison, bad, bad, bad! Obviously, there is a relationship between BG and insulin and I've been aware of that, but somehow just seeing it written how he wrote it makes me feel a little better. I think that's also in part to being back on this site. It's just full of warm fuzzies and wonderful people.

I am interested in finding out of this is a result of glucose toxicity. Gosh, that word, toxicity... :? :? :? :? :? :? :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :o :o :o :o :o But if we can still overcome it by not necessarily needing to increase his dose dramatically, but by increasing the dose until we hit the number that will push the resistance down, then I'm first going to try what Sue said. Do the 2.5 for another couple cycles, then increase to 3.

Thanks for keeping us in mind, wondering how we've been doing. :smile:

I see what you're saying Sue, about shooting different for the yellow preshots. I gotcha. :smile: Thank you.
 
Re: An update on P

I think of insulin and glucose more like dance partners ... and neither should lead!
 
Re: An update on P

Melissa and P said:
But if we can still overcome it by not necessarily needing to increase his dose dramatically, but by increasing the dose until we hit the number that will push the resistance down, then I'm first going to try what Sue said. Do the 2.5 for another couple cycles, then increase to 3.

Oh yeah, just so I'm clear I agree with Sue -- take it up slowly. :smile: Sometimes it just takes going up (slowly and safely) to get to the dose that is enough to break through. If you have the time and inclination, there are a lot of threads in Lantus Land talking about increasing a dose (per Lantus protocol) to eventually hit that breakthrough dose. Even though ours is a different insulin, I thought the info about the relationship between glucose toxicity and temporary resistance made complete sense, regardless of the type of insulin you're using. I also think it makes sense that if a cat gets stuck in high rebound numbers over a prolonged period, the high BG is having the same effect regardless of whether it's due to too high or too low of a dose. Of course, that's with the caveat that ECID, and there is definitely scientific case studies of massively overdosed cats that showed extreme lows, and then extreme highs, that did subsequently settle down reducing the dose. I think the challenge is when what may have started as a rebound gets "stuck" for lack of a better term.

It sounds like you have a lot on your plate right now, but I hope to see P's daily condo's in PZI land when you have time. :smile:
 
Re: An update on P

Everything you said makes complete sense to me, Jen. :smile:


I'm wondering if anyone has experience with traveling/moving with a diabetic cat. I'm going to post on feline health, so if you guys have any advice, that's where my post will be.
 
Re: An update on P

We took Oliver with us as a diabetic. Took his insulin in a ice chest with cold packs. He was a very mellow cat and adapted well. We picked pet friendly motels (LA Quinta is a good one with pets free) and did VRBOs that allowed pets. Inthe motel, I put out the Do Not Disturb, pet inside signs. Niko (our current civie) also travels well. He does look around with disgust with every new room (like again?). But as long as he can sleep on the bed, he's happy. I take their vet records with them, always.

When moving, I put vaseline on their paws. Someone told me once that it picks up the scent of the old place and lays it down on the new one, so they feel more at home. Our latest move was after 8 different places for Niko to stay in, so he seemed just glad not to have to go back in the carrier the next morning.

I know people say they should travel in the carrier when the car is moving, but both were so miserable that we let them out. They sat in the passenger's lap or slept in the back seat. They were both chipped and had collars. I figured if we were in an accident, all our of us would be in the same bad shape.......
 
Re: An update on P

Wow, that's amazing that they traveled so well! Niko sounds like master traveler. I like the idea about the Vaseline.

I already know I'm going to have to keep them in their carriers, they all get motion sickness. But I've recently discovered that P doesn't get sick if I keep a blanket on top of the carrier...it seems like as long as he can't see that we're moving, he does just fine. But the farthest we've gone lately is 30 miles. I've also heard you can get cats acclimated to riding by taking them for short rides, then increasing the length each time. I'm going to have to try that out.

What do you think about this morning's dose? I think I should have given 2u because his nadir's higher than preshot. But I also fed him a snack after +4...

AMPS: 328
+4: 364 (fed 1/4 can turkey and gibs)
+5: 459
+6: 427
+7: 368 (fed 1/4 can mariner's catch)
 
Re: An update on P

I do not like these numbers. I'm concerned that increasing the dose didn't make an difference. It certainly could be insulin resistance and you need to up the dose every three cycles.

Remind me. Why did you go from .6 to 2 units? I am wondering if there is a chance the best dose in around 1/1.5?

It's either up or down. If he were mine, I think I'd try 1.5 for a cycle, checking for ketones and see if the numbers are any better. If nothing improves, then you need to keep raising it.

Nothing else has changed. No antibiotics, no infection. How old is the insulin?
 
Re: An update on P

That spike at +5 is strange, and there seems to kind of be a pattern at times like that. It looks like you fed at +4. He spiked again around +8, and it looks like you fed at +7, so that makes me lean towards food spike as the culprit possibly? I think the feeding notes are helpful. Sue's suggestion to go back to 1.5 since you upped to 2.0 per your vet makes complete sense as well. Gah! P is not giving us much in the way of clues, is he?
 
Re: An update on P

I increased to 2u at the urging of the emergency vet and also my regular vet. I caved because of the ketone scare.

Nothing else has changed. No antibiotics, no infection. I got the insulin on Jan 7th, and the expiration date is 12/31/14.

I'll try 1.5 tonight.
 
Re: An update on P

I have been feeding turkey and giblets (not special diet) and poultry platter, which are over the 6% carbs I had him at before. He started getting tired of the SD turkey and gibs, SD beef and chicken, and SD ocean whitefish and was eating less because of it. I read on Dr. Lisa's site that I need to stay away from fish based food and I shouldn't get too caught up on the carbs, as long as they are under 10% (because of the variance of each batch, a food with 3% carb could be 8% the next batch), so that's why I started feeding the none SD turkey and gibs and poultry platter.
 
Re: An update on P

I see you tried 1.5 and no improvement, Melissa. Wonder what the 3 will do. The only other idea I have is to feed less during the cycle. I am thinking if he is really sensitive to carbs, this might keep the numbers up. Will he let you feed one can at breakfast and then just a few treats at test time and during the day (PureBites or something?) and a meal again in the pm?

Just to check so we have all the bases covered

Test before feeding
No contraband, even treats are lower carb
We know the insulin is new


The only thing I can think of is that he is insulin resistant as Jen said and you just have to keep raising the dose until he finally drops. Or he is a high dose cat. Do any of the symptoms sound familiar?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=375
 
Re: An update on P

Melissa and P said:
I have been feeding turkey and giblets (not special diet) and poultry platter, which are over the 6% carbs I had him at before. He started getting tired of the SD turkey and gibs, SD beef and chicken, and SD ocean whitefish and was eating less because of it. I read on Dr. Lisa's site that I need to stay away from fish based food and I shouldn't get too caught up on the carbs, as long as they are under 10% (because of the variance of each batch, a food with 3% carb could be 8% the next batch), so that's why I started feeding the none SD turkey and gibs and poultry platter.

Are these the Friskies? I know there are several varieties that are low carb, but we opted not to feed them because if I recall, there's brewer's rice or some other grains as an ingredient. I don't know for certain that Eddie's sensitive to grains/glutens, etc., but we've had almost no puking of foods since eliminating all those things. Does P barf his food at times? Might he be sensitive to the grains in the Friskies?
 
Re: An update on P

The only thing I have noticed is that he has gained 0.6 lbs since he was diagnosed in December, but I haven't been feeding him strictly based on the calories he needs. At breakfast and dinner, I feed him as much as he wants to eat, which is usually a little over a can. When I give him snacks, I keep those to 1/4 a can, no matter if he wants more or not (he usually does).

On 2/8, the day I took him to the emergency vet, he ate breakfast, and didn't get anything else to eat until dinner time. At PMPS that day, he was at 299. So maybe eating only two meals could help. I'm going to try not feeding him again until dinner. I only gave him 3/4 of a can this morning because I weighed him last night (that's when I realized he'd gained 0.6 lbs) so I figured I need to control his portions more, so I may feed him 1/4 can as a snack in a few more hours before dinner.

Sometimes he'll get a lick of a pan left on the stove, but no contraband. All food is locked up, I keep crumbs swept up and off the counters. His treats are Simply Nourish freeze dried shrimp. I break them into at least 3 teeny pieces, and he only gets one piece before and one piece after a test.

I've been going over all my receipts and information from the vet and I realized he hasn't had a urinalysis done. I'm calling the vet on Monday to set up an appointment to get him one.

Yes, they are Friskies. I feed Friskies just because I know he likes it. Back when all the fur babies were on dry food, they used to get some canned as a treat every once in a while, and it was always Friskies. But he could be carb sensitive. He has been higher on the higher carb food, it seems. I don't remember when exactly I started feeding the poultry platter and regular turkey and gibs. Maybe not quite a week? It looks like that would line up with the higher numbers on the spreadsheet too. I should have been keeping track of his food all along. *kicks self* But he hasn't puked, once, since being off dry food. I'm going out today to buy some Fancy Feast.
 
Re: An update on P

Per Dr Pierson of Cat Info, you can add 20-25% plain meat or poultry to canned food, then portion out for feeding. This increases the protein, and generally reduces the fat and carbohydrate calories.
 
Re: An update on P

Alright. Here's today's numbers with no food, except breakfast and treats at test time:

AMPS: 380 - fed 3/4 can poultry platter - shot 3u
+2: 434
+4: 390
+5: 392
+6: 365
+7: 327
+8: 352
 
Re: An update on P

With those high nadirs over 300, I would increase by 0.5 units.

If she had lower nadirs, I'd only increase by 0.25 units.
 
Re: An update on P

I am at a loss. I sure don't like the numbers, Melissa. At least today, he didn't go up for nadir. He came down a little. I think I'd stay at 3 units for one more cycle and then up by .5 I'd stay with the feeding at preshots and just do low carb snacks at testing times.

You are definitely testing for ketones daily? How much do you have left in the vial?
 
Re: An update on P

Definitely testing everyday...haven't gotten a test today yet though. I only had 3 strips left so I bought some more today.
 
Re: An update on P

P's +2 may show a bit of a food spike, so the +7 appears to be a lower number (outside the 20% meter variation). With you withholding food during the cycle today, and with no mid-cycle spikes during today's AM cycle, I do think that suggests that the food may be accounting for some of those mid-cycle spikes, rather than an inverse curve. Assuming the insulin had an onset around +2 or so to pull P down from the +2 434 it looks like he got roughly a 100 point drop to 327 at +7.
 
Re: An update on P

I didn't get a +2 this morning, I shut off my alarm...guess I must have been half asleep. That's the first time I've done that since I've had P on a schedule. Since I didn't get the +2 this morning, I can't be certain, but it looks like food, no matter the % of carbs spike's him high. Yesterday for breakfast he had poultry platter (9%) and dinner, he had FF turk and gibs (3%). He spiked 54 points from AMPS to +2 on 9% carbs, but he spiked 72 from PMPS to +2 on 3% carbs.
 
Re: An update on P

What you've observed is one of the several reasons for letting a cat graze or give mini-meals, rather than meal feeding. It doesn't push the pancreas so extremely.
 
Re: An update on P

Well if we weren't confused before, check this out:

AMPS: 344 - fed 1 can FF chicken, 1/2 can FF turk and gibs, 2 tbsp boiled chicken - shot 3.5u
+4: 394
+5: 414
+6: 421
+7: 403
+8: 296

There was a little bit of a difference in his activity today. He didn't sleep very much yesterday, but today he napped for an hour after +5 and again after +6.

I really don't like only feeding him twice. He's hungry from AM +4 until dinner time. He paces the kitchen, and comes running from another room when DH or I walk into the kitchen.
 
Re: An update on P

Hi Melissa,

I think it was helpful from a data standpoint to experiment with no food during the cycle, but I agree that if it works with your schedule, feeding smaller meals more frequently is probably better in the bigger scheme of things. It looks like P spikes from the big meal in the AM and it may be hard for him to bring those numbers down again, particularly with the overall high BG. The 296 at +8 is interesting though! Nice to see a different color on his SS. :smile:
 
Re: An update on P

What I'm thinking I could do is feed actual mini-meals. The way I'm am doing it right now or rather, was doing, he gets two bigger portions for breakfast and dinner, and 2-3 snacks (1/4 of a can). What I could do is start feeding on a calorie needs basis (to get him back down to ideal weight), and splitting that into four or five mini-meals, instead of two bigger, and two-three smaller. He still spikes with the snacks, but maybe there wouldn't be such a swing if he ate more consistent sized meals.

He's not a big fan of FF. He wouldn't touch the chopped grill this morning even though I know he was starving. And he only ate the chicken flavor because I added boiled chicken on top. It's hard to tell if lower carbs don't spike him as much, or if it's like BJM said, two larger meals makes his pancreas work harder. But when he was on the lower carb Friskies, he wasn't as high...so I guess there's still some experimenting I have to do.

I'm trying not to get too excited about that 296, but it was such a shock to see. Maybe the 3.5u knocked on the door and said "let's do this." I'm crossing fingers on one hand so I don't jinx it. lol I'm going to test again at +10 (5:45 eastern) to see if he keeps going down because I'll need some help figuring out what to shoot tonight if he does. Hopefully someone will be around! I won't feed and shoot until 7:45.
 
Re: An update on P

I think you've got the right idea with the smaller mini-meals. How much overweight is P? It looks like he's around 11 pounds now? Where should he be at roughly?

I don't think the 3% versus 9% in carbs is going to make a ton of difference at this point, but if you can get him lower overall, you may find that the different carb levels do make a difference. I'm guessing that since his overall levels are so high, the insulin just isn't enough to pull him down from the food increase he'd see regardless of the carb level.

I will be around at your shot time. Hopefully that 296 is a sign of some movement to come for the next cycle (anti-jinx). :smile:
 
Re: An update on P

My vet said P's ideal weight is 10.5. He weighed 10.4 when he started insulin, so he's only gained 0.6 lbs since January 7th but I know we want to stay away from him gaining weight, so I just want to nip this in the bud before it gets out of control.

I'd like to keep feeding him under 6% like I originally was, but he gets burnt out on the same flavors. I don't have much to choose from at Walmart and Petsmart. My Petsmart is a small-town store and it doesn't carry much for cats. I need to find some other stores where I can get more of a selection.

Great, thank you! And thanks for slipping that anti-jinx in there :smile:
 
Re: An update on P

Melissa and P said:
My vet said P's ideal weight is 10.5. He weighed 10.4 when he started insulin, so he's only gained 0.6 lbs since January 7th but I know we want to stay away from him gaining weight, so I just want to nip this in the bud before it gets out of control.

I'd like to keep feeding him under 6% like I originally was, but he gets burnt out on the same flavors. I don't have much to choose from at Walmart and Petsmart. My Petsmart is a small-town store and it doesn't carry much for cats. I need to find some other stores where I can get more of a selection.

Great, thank you! And thanks for slipping that anti-jinx in there :smile:

Oh, ok so he's not really that overweight. It does seem like he's eating quite a bit, but then again, given his levels, he probably needs the extra. I live in a metro area and can get the FF variety packs at WalMart and other big box stores. We also have a pet food distributor that carries the non-grocery brands nearby. I have ordered some of the higher-end foods online. The cheapest I've found online for the spendier brands is at Chewy.com. The key is to place an order large enough to get free shipping. Are there any non-chain pet stores near you? Some of the non-chain places carry some of the brands that you can't find at the chains.

*Edited to add: Does your WalMart carry 9-Lives? I have a couple varieties on my list that are under 6% (based on the info I could find online). If you click on the second tab at the bottom of Eddie's SS, it's a list of foods that are 6% or less and that are grain/gluten free.
 
P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice

There are some non-chain pet stores, but they're not very close. I'm so anxious and nervous all the time that I don't like to leave the house for longer than a couple hours. I have family that live near by those places though, so I can get my hands on it one way or another. I'll look online too. My WalMart does carry 9Lives...I was feeding him that after he was diagnosed and before he was on insulin, but I kept noticing he'd shake his head while he was eating, to shake something out of his mouth, and I'd see little white pieces in and around the bowl. I assumed they were bone pieces and it kind of freaked me out, so I stopped giving him 9Lives. Have you ever noticed the little pieces?

I'll check out your SS.

Oh, and+10 was 266!
 
Re: An update on P

Interesting on the +10!

Maybe (anti-jinx) the 3.5 is enough to start breaking through!

Hopefully we'll have some input from some others but since ProZinc should be out by +14 even if he's not going dramatically up by shot-time, I'm thinking you keep the 3.5 or maybe go to 3.25 so you're not losing momentum. Hopefully Sue will chime in.

We haven't fed 9-Lives in years, but we used to give it as a "treat" to our fatty civilian. I thought I read somewhere that the white pieces could be little bone fragments, or little calcium pieces. I'm not sure. That's the hard part with the more economical brands -- at least in my mind. You might give up a little quality. :(

Can you edit your topic title as well? Maybe do like "P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice" and click the question mark button.
 
Re: An update on P

Ah, yep...I think I'll stay away from 9Lives until I can do some more research.

I tried to change my topic title, but I only did it for one of my replies, not the whole post...
 
Re: An update on P

Melissa and P said:
Ah, yep...I think I'll stay away from 9Lives until I can do some more research.

I tried to change my topic title, but I only did it for one of my replies, not the whole post...

You have to go back to the very first post and edit that one. :smile:
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

Derp. Thank you. :smile:

So do you think I should start mini-meal feeding tonight? I think I'll start with a little bit bigger of a portion just because he's only had one meal today.
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

Yep, I would. What you might also try doing is feeding the portions before approximately +6 or +7 so you're feeding while the insulin is headed towards its peak, and possibly withhold food after nadir so you're not increasing the BG as the insulin is waning. Are you going to be able to monitor fairly closely tonight?
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

That's really smart. Man, you are good. He usually likes to eat again at +4 so I might push to +5 just to space it out little more since I won't feed after nadir.

I sure am. I've got a test at school tomorrow, but my baby comes first. I'll stay up all night to monitor if I have to.
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

Interesting cycle for P, Melissa. How nice to see some yellows. I don't know about the dose yet. I hope he starts up by +12. He dropped around 40% from +8 to +10. That is certainly unusual that late in a cycle. The numbers aren't too low to shoot, but I'd be a little nervous shooting a number that is still dropping. Will you be around tonight to monitor?

I am around tonight and will watch for the preshot number.
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

I sure will, I'll monitor very closely. I don't want to let these lower numbers slip away.

I'm about 10 minutes past +11, but I'm going to test anyway.

Thanks Sue.
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

Sue, do you think the peak in the middle is due to the large AM meal? It's kind of hard to tell when the numbers are as high as they are due to meter variance, but those yellows at +8 and +10 are really, really interesting. Maybe it was enough insulin to pull down the BG from the AM meal and since P hasn't eaten since then, the insulin is working on the base BG later in the cycle.
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

Melissa and P said:
+11 and some change is 373

Well, I guess that removes the concern about shooting a dropping number. :smile: Nonetheless, very nice to see what appears to be at least some movement with the 3.5u. Hopefully those insulin receptors are starting to wake up a bit!
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

Well, normally a 373 would be a little disappointing,but I am glad to see it. Now it'll be safe to shoot. I'm thinking a bounce from those quick yellows. You shot 3.5 on a number lower than this, so the same dose should be okay, but I definitely would monitor.

I don't know whether I see a definite pattern from the food yet, Jen, but I think it's safe to say P is definitely carb sensitive and fooling around with timing and carbs is certainly worth trying in different scenerios.
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

Progress is progress!

Alright, so I'm feeding a mini-meal, shooting 3.5, and monitoring closely.

We'll be experimenting with food and timing. I realized that I won't be able to feed until +6.5 to +7 on Tuesdays and Thursdays; those are my long school days. So we'll see what weirdness those days bring. I may think about changing shot times if it looks like he'll work better being fed before nadir. One step at a time, though. :smile:
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

PMPS - 452 then immediately retested and got 385..

Uhhh.....?
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

Guess I need to brush up on meter variance.

Well, let's see how this goes. nailbite_smile
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

FYI: WalMart has a ship to store option for some items. And it can help to talk with the stocking manager over pet supplies to get what you want.
 
Re: P - AMPS 344, +10 = 266, dose advice (daily condo near e

This is so frustrating.

PM +4: 455
+5: 511

I don't know if I should feed him. I don't want him to go any higher.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top