2/18 Eddie AMPS 302, +5.5 = 173, PMPS 315, +6 = 216

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=113893&p=1199850#p1199850

Today:
AMPS = 302 (2.4u)
+5.5 = 173 (meh)
PMPS = 315 (2.4u)
+4 = 249
+5 = 237 (yicko)
+6 = 216 :sad:

Kind of a meh cycle last night with starting the smidge of a reducie on the higher pre-shot numbers. Might be some bouncy hormones still floating around though. There was a hairball epidemic going on amongst the civilians last night. Three civilian hairballs from three different civilians. @-) Spring cleaning? Everyone got a dab of vaseline.

Eddie was pretty sleepy last night. Most of his clinical symptoms have greatly improved, but I'd love to see him back to romping and playing more. Eight is by no stretch an old cat, but he used to bounce around like a young adult kitty. Hopefully this will gradually return.
 
Re: 2/18 Eddie AMPS 302, +5.5 = 173

OK Eddie, stay out of that pink tutu! You know Lucian will want it back in a couple days. :lol:
 
Re: 2/18 Eddie AMPS 302, +5.5 = 173

Hey Jen, just wondering (and trying to learn new things), why are you doing a reducie on higher preshots? You thinking too much insulin on a high preshot is causing the bouncing? I've been reading up on bouncing and somogyi effect to help me figure out what's going on with P.

I'm ready for P to get back to his old self again too. His clinical signs have improved, but I just love how we used to play for hours.

Playful vines and paw fives.
 
Re: 2/18 Eddie AMPS 302, +5.5 = 173

This is why Eddie is hard. You can lessen the bounces somewhat by reducing a little, but you don't get the greens. I don't know which is better.
 
Re: 2/18 Eddie AMPS 302, +5.5 = 173

nckitties3 said:
OK Eddie, stay out of that pink tutu! You know Lucian will want it back in a couple days. :lol:

Darn! He's running around with the tutu on! I have to say, though that Eddie would probably be pretty cute with a pink tutu on. Maybe after Eddie's done with it, we can just tell them that the tutu got a kitty puke stain on it, and had to be thrown away. :smile:

I think Eddie and Lucian need to get together -- Eddie can give Lucian some of the too long duration he gets on some shots, so he can get a solid 12 hours, and Lucian can switch to a 12/12 cycle. :smile:

Melissa and P said:
Hey Jen, just wondering (and trying to learn new things), why are you doing a reducie on higher preshots? You thinking too much insulin on a high preshot is causing the bouncing? I've been reading up on bouncing and somogyi effect to help me figure out what's going on with P.
Playful vines and paw fives.

Good question Melissa! Eddie does bounce a fair amount. He also sees relatively low greens into the 60's and sometimes even the 50's that I steer with food. He will often bounce up to the high 300's or even 400's for the next pre-shot test. So basically, he's swinging around something like 350 down to 70 back up to 400. Up and down and back again. For Eddie, bounces are usually reflected in a higher pre-shot number, but sometimes he will sit higher and flatter for an entire cycle. He also throws me for a loop occasionally where the insulin will last 14 or more hours, so he's too low to shoot by the next pre-shot. It's tough to consistently spot patterns with him, but he seems to do the "worst" bouncing on what I was dosing for the 300's or 350's. The thought is to reduce by just a smidge (0.2u) to see if it will soften the curve a little bit and settle down the bounces. Some cats do seem to do better on less drastic curves.

I've tried tweaking my sliding scale a bit about a week ago, and held for four cycles, but he had higher nadirs (in the mid-to-high 100's), on the reducie. I raised him back up after four cycles after seeing pretty ho-hum cycles with the reducie. Seems like he's going for a repeat with another try at a reducie. His nadirs have been in the mid-to-high 100's again. It seems kind of crazy that he sees up to 100 points difference in his nadirs on a dose change of 0.2u. We can't seem to find a happy medium...yet. I was hoping that with less bouncing, his pre-shots might be in the 200's but so far on the reducie, the pre-shots are still in the 300's.

I'm not quite ready to throw in the towel on the reduction yet. Probably give it at least a full four cycles to see if it just needs to settle a bit.

Basically the concepts behind Somogyi and bouncing are the same...kitty releases glucagon/glucose and counter-regulatory hormones in response to "lower" numbers. Somogyi is much more severe, in my mind, and deals with true hypo numbers. Bouncing is short term and is really just part of the process of the kitty's body learning that the new healthier blood glucose numbers are safe and not scary. Lots of people refer to this as "liver training." :smile:

Thank you for the playful vines! Eddie is a little more alert and up and about this PM.

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
This is why Eddie is hard. You can lessen the bounces somewhat by reducing a little, but you don't get the greens. I don't know which is better.

Looks like Eddie can't really decide which dose he prefers. :YMSIGH: This kitty doesn't go for happy medium! He likes all or nothing I guess! It is interesting that 0.2 difference is resulting in a 100 point difference in his nadir. He seems like he is pretty sensitive to those minor changes. A few cycles I think you could chalk up to just extraneous variables, but with a second try at a reducie and seeing this pattern pretty consistently again, I think it's hard not to conclude that it's the 0.2 difference in dose.

I'm torn on which is better - less bouncing and a shallower curve, or lower nadirs. I guess if we knew the answer to that question, this dance would be simple!
 
Re: 2/18 Eddie AMPS 302, +5.5 = 173, PMPS 315, +5 = 237

So since Eddie bounces to higher AMPS from greens the previous night, what would you say is happening that day? For an example of what I mean;

On your SS, on 02/01, he had a few greens that night. Then on 02/02, he bounced up to 325 at AMPS. The rest of the cycle that day, looks like it's "supposed" to. BG starts to go down, then comes back up in time for that night's shot. Would you consider that a bounce that lasted a full cycle since his nadir was higher that day than the previous night? I hope that's not a stupid question, I'm running low on brain fuel tonight.

I'm studying the heck out of Eddie's SS right now and I think I've got more questions coming. lol If I can figure out how to form them coherently. Just taking some cues from you, studying and researching. :smile:

Here's what I was reading on Somogyi. http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Somogyi_rebound

The bit that I found interesting was:

A typical rebound pattern, most often seen with long-acting insulins, is a high, flat, unresponsive blood sugar over a period of days. Sometimes, often when raising dosage, this high flat curve will be punctuated by sudden drops to very low values, (with possible hypoglycemic events) followed by a fast return to high unresponsive numbers. (It's the sudden dip that distinguishes this pattern from inadequate insulin, but it doesn't always happen.)
◾ When using shorter-acting insulins, repeated Somogyi rebound may manifest instead as rapidly alternating high and low blood sugar[11] numbers with no apparent logic. The highs and lows will both be exaggerated compared to what you'd see on a smaller dose.
Since it didn't say very low BG values for shorter-acting insulins like it did for long-acting, it just piqued my curiosity. Along with the term "rapidly" since that seems to be how P handles his bounces.

Glad Eddie's up and about! :smile:
 
Re: 2/18 Eddie AMPS 302, +5.5 = 173

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
This is why Eddie is hard. You can lessen the bounces somewhat by reducing a little, but you don't get the greens. I don't know which is better.
Just my opinion...
Greens and bounces are better than numbers over the renal threshold for extended periods of time, as they lead to glucose toxicity and further resistance to insulin. Glucose toxicity is the "crux of diabetes" to quote Dr. Lisa. That's why me and others keep bumping the "Glucose Toxicity" thread frequently.

Also, I think the "high flat cycles" you and others might be seeing are mostly related to bounces and the "counter- regulatory hormones" that can be released and can take a few cycles to clear. I have never believed that a perceived "inverse curve" is caused by too much insulin, because nobody has ever explained it in a way that makes logical sense to me.

And don't get hung up by the term "Somogyi". It's existence in humans is subject to debate, and no study has ever proved it exists in cats. (At least no study that has ever been posted on the board by anyone). I've seen far too many times where cats were given a "rebound check" by drastically reducing dose in the hopes that the "inverse curves" were due to excessive insulin. And off the top of my head, I can't recall any cases where it turned out to be a successful experiment.

Reducing the dose would probably lessen the frequency and/or severity of bounces. But if it doesn't continue to give you decent cycles and improving preshot numbers, then it is counterproductive (again, just my opinion).

Carl
 
It's hard to say with any certainty, but here's what I think happened starting with the PM cycle on 2/1: some nice low greens that PM cycle, then the AMPS the morning of 2/2 is a little higher (325). That might be a small bounce. He does go down pretty nicely from there. I think he actually had a late nadir the AM cycle of 2/2. The last reading I got that morning cycle was 135 at +7. I'm guessing he went a bit lower than that. Then the PM cycle of 2/2 he has a good pre-shot of 245, but sits flat in the yellows that whole cycle. After studying him for a while, that PM cycle of 2/2 is where the bounce pops through (I think). A flat cycle like that can be a bounce.

Eddie will sometimes have a higher pre-shot after some lower numbers the previous cycle, but clear those and have another good cycle. A cycle or two later, however, the counter-regulatory hormones that are floating around just are too much for the insulin to break through, so he has a flat cycle. At least that's what I think Eddie's doing. Sometimes, he'll bounce for a full cycle (flat cycle) after one good cycle, or sometimes he'll have even three good cycles in a row, then one flat cycle. That's the hard part. Just like the insulin is a hormone, bounces are thought to be caused by hormones too, so throw two (or more) hormones into the mix, and it's hard to predict when a bounce will pop up. Sometimes it's within the same cycle, like when you see a sharp rise at the end of a cycle, sometimes it's reflected in a high-preshot number that clears, or sometimes those bouncy hormones overcome the effect of the insulin and you have a high flat cycle.

From what I've seen the bounces that last a full cycle seem to be a bit more common in the L insulins because they have the depot working, but for whatever reason, Eddie seems to do that too. The thought with trying to do a reducie is to see if we can get him out of those flat cycles, or reduce how frequently they happen. As you can see tonight, though, looks like the reduced amount just isn't quite enough.

The Somogyi stuff is definitely interesting. It makes a lot of logical sense, and bounces really are just based on the same concept - lower number causes a release of glucose and counter-regulatory hormones. I think the only real difference between Somogyi and "bouncing" as we understand it and see it on our spreadsheets is a matter of degree. Somogyi is dangerous because it involves dangerously low hypo numbers that cause subsequent huge spike up. Check out Xuxu's situation: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=85129&p=912704#p912704.

The key is that low number. Bouncing is pretty much the same thing, but generally doesn't involve the type of dramatic lows and highs that Somogyi is thought to involve. There's a lot of disagreement on this board frankly, as to whether Somogyi even technically exists. The phenomenon was documented in 1938 and really hasn't been replicated since then. Personally, I think it does in fact exist, but it's really not important what you call it....the important thing is what number caused the bounce? A dangerous hypo low? Or a number that kitty is just not used to?

The concern with Somogyi - and this is just my opinion - is moreso in cases where someone is just starting to test and not catching a lot of numbers. Maybe just the pre-shots which are higher and higher. It's entirely possible that there is a super low number happening in the middle of the cycle that is not being seen. That can look like not enough insulin to someone who isn't catching mid-cycle numbers.

I think what you're referring to on the wikia page with regard to the "short-acting" insulins is the novolin/humulin insulins that only last for 6-8 hours. I'm sure you've seen threads from newbies that are using these types of insulin that are having really high preshot numbers, and then catching something in the 30's around peak. That would be Somogyi. :) Check out this thread, which demonstrates this pretty clearly: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=113808.

Frankly, the concern with P was early on that there were lows that may not have been documented, and that's why there was generally a consensus that a trial of a significant reduction was appropriate, and you did that, and got lots of tests in, without catching any lows that would be causing any kind of "chronic" rebound. You're also doing enough testing at this point, that even if he was having a drop early in the cycle and rocketing back up, you'd catch some evidence of that. Hopefully that helps! :smile:

Edited when I saw that Carl and Bob popped in! Carl helped point me in the direction of a lot of the information that I'm passing on to you, Melissa!
 
Re: 2/18 Eddie AMPS 302, +5.5 = 173

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
This is why Eddie is hard. You can lessen the bounces somewhat by reducing a little, but you don't get the greens. I don't know which is better.
Just my opinion...
Greens and bounces are better than numbers over the renal threshold for extended periods of time, as they lead to glucose toxicity and further resistance to insulin. Glucose toxicity is the "crux of diabetes" to quote Dr. Lisa. That's why me and others keep bumping the "Glucose Toxicity" thread frequently.

Also, I think the "high flat cycles" you and others might be seeing are mostly related to bounces and the "counter- regulatory hormones" that can be released and can take a few cycles to clear. I have never believed that a perceived "inverse curve" is caused by too much insulin, because nobody has ever explained it in a way that makes logical sense to me.

And don't get hung up by the term "Somogyi". It's existence in humans is subject to debate, and no study has ever proved it exists in cats. (At least no study that has ever been posted on the board by anyone). I've seen far too many times where cats were given a "rebound check" by drastically reducing dose in the hopes that the "inverse curves" were due to excessive insulin. And off the top of my head, I can't recall any cases where it turned out to be a successful experiment.

Reducing the dose would probably lessen the frequency and/or severity of bounces. But if it doesn't continue to give you decent cycles and improving preshot numbers, then it is counterproductive (again, just my opinion).

Carl

Thanks so much for stopping by Carl!

I totally agree that those occasional flat cycles are just bounces. The biggest problem I was running into with my sliding scale was some long cycles where Eddie was too low to shoot. Even a tiny reducie is not going in the right direction, I'm afraid, so I think I'm going back up to the prior scale tomorrow PM unless something dramatic happens tomorrow AM.

And thank you for helping me respond to Melissa. :) She's starting to really dig into the vast amount of info available here to get a handle on what is happening with P. If you have a chance, would you mind looking at P's spreadsheet? We're operating on the assumption that there's some glucose toxicity/resistance that's going on and working up the dose.
 
The Somogyi stuff is definitely interesting. It makes a lot of logical sense, and bounces really are just based on the same concept - lower number causes a release of glucose and counter-regulatory hormones. I think the only real difference between Somogyi and "bouncing" as we understand it and see it on our spreadsheets is a matter of degree. Somogyi is dangerous because it involves dangerously low hypo numbers that cause subsequent huge spike up. Check out Xuxu's situation: viewtopic.php? f=28&t=85129&p=912704#p912704.

I guess this is where I'm confused. I don't understand the distinction as to why "somogyi" is worse? Because it has never been proven to exist in cats and modern physicians apparently don't believe it even exists with humans. In the thread you linked, XUXu went really low, and seemed to exhibit signs of hypoglycemia. But the high numbers that followed were just a "bounce". A big one for sure. Bounces are caused by either a big drop, or a really fast drop, in BG. A drop to 30 is certainly more dangerous than a drop to the 90s, but both cause the same sort of response by the self-protective mechanisms in a cat's system. They are both "bounces". Sometimes they clear fast, and sometimes not so fast, regardless of insulin type.
 
Carl & Bob (GA) said:
The Somogyi stuff is definitely interesting. It makes a lot of logical sense, and bounces really are just based on the same concept - lower number causes a release of glucose and counter-regulatory hormones. I think the only real difference between Somogyi and "bouncing" as we understand it and see it on our spreadsheets is a matter of degree. Somogyi is dangerous because it involves dangerously low hypo numbers that cause subsequent huge spike up. Check out Xuxu's situation: viewtopic.php? f=28&t=85129&p=912704#p912704.

I guess this is where I'm confused. I don't understand the distinction as to why "somogyi" is worse? Because it has never been proven to exist in cats and modern physicians apparently don't believe it even exists with humans. In the thread you linked, XUXu went really low, and seemed to exhibit signs of hypoglycemia. But the high numbers that followed were just a "bounce". A big one for sure. Bounces are caused by either a big drop, or a really fast drop, in BG. A drop to 30 is certainly more dangerous than a drop to the 90s, but both cause the same sort of response by the self-protective mechanisms in a cat's system. They are both "bounces". Sometimes they clear fast, and sometimes not so fast, regardless of insulin type.

I don't think there really is a difference in mechanism. :smile: Whether it's called Somogyi or bouncing, it's the same thing. So, you are correct in that it makes no sense to try to really differentiate. Just really a matter of degree. I think that when you're very first starting, you see the term "Somogyi" all over the place. And I think (myself included early on) that a lot of new beans assume that this is what must be happening when you are seeing no improvement from icky numbers. The jist of what I'm trying to get at for Melissa's benefit, is that rather than focusing on the terminology, the focus should be on what number caused the bounce.

Hope that clarifies a bit. :smile:
 
I think it's 2 names for the same thing and has evolved over time. When I first came on the board, there were no forums for different insulins. everyone posted on Health (PS I am OLD) No one used the word bounce. " Bounce"came from the L forum. They didn't like the other term for the reasons Carl cited.

I do think there are two different kinds of the "whatever you want to call it". One is like P's. He jumps right back up within 2 hours. One seems to be a higher flatter cycle later on. That is more Eddie's pattern.

One recent change here is that we used to say, because PZI is an in and out insulin, that you shouldn't "shoot the bounce". In other words, recognize that a dose caused a low and lower it the next preshot when it causes a bounce. This is less used now and we are generally holding the dose. I am wondering if it is an ECID issue rather than an across the board change we should make.......
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I think it's 2 names for the same thing and has evolved over time. When I first came on the board, there were no forums for different insulins. everyone posted on Health (PS I am OLD) No one used the word bounce. " Bounce"came from the L forum. They didn't like the other term for the reasons Carl cited.

I do think there are two different kinds of the "whatever you want to call it". One is like P's. He jumps right back up within 2 hours. One seems to be a higher flatter cycle later on. That is more Eddie's pattern.

One recent change here is that we used to say, because PZI is an in and out insulin, that you shouldn't "shoot the bounce". In other words, recognize that a dose caused a low and lower it the next preshot when it causes a bounce. This is less used now and we are generally holding the dose. I am wondering if it is an ECID issue rather than an across the board change we should make.......

Yeah, I think it's pretty unimportant what you call it - Somogyi/rebound/bounce/whatever. The important thing is how to respond to it. If it's due to a number that's too low, then a reduction is probably in order. If not, then it's just part of the dance. Subject of course, to ECID.

On the shooting the bounce, how I look at it is being cautious about shooting higher into a higher bounce number if the bounce was caused by a low number. I do think it's an ECID thing.
 
That helps a lot, Jen!

And I get what you, Carl, and Sue were saying about somogyi. Whether or not it exists, there are still those articles out there, and to a newbie bean reading about it, somogyi is "worse" because what makes somogyi, somogyi (if it exists) is that the bounces are supposed to include hypo territory and that's just down right scary. And like you said, new beans want to be able to say "oh, this must be somogyi" because something isn't right here and we want to put a name to it. But I won't get caught up on the terminology.

Thanks all, for the info. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top