2/21 Eddie AMPS 180, +6= 108, PMPS = 175

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114103

Today:

AMPS = 180 (2.2u)
+2 = 235
+6 = 108

PMPS (stalling)
+12 = 143
+12.5 = 136
+13 = 137
+13.5 = 136
+14/PMPS = 175 (2.0u) (PARTIAL FUR SHOT?! :cry: :YMSIGH: )

Nice AM cycle, and nice PMPS of 202 yesterday but it looks like Eddie bounced during the PM cycle. Not sure from what. Maybe he went lower during the AM cycle, or maybe he was saving this bounce up after three nice cycles. Seems like he likes to hold those bounces back for a few cycles, then let one loose, but those flat cycles seem to be coming less frequently these days (anti-jinx).

He either went lower during the PM cycle last night after +6 or just cruised in the blues till AMPS this morning. Either way, it looks like it's shaping up to be another nice cycle this AM. Eddie was on top of the cat tower when I got home from work yesterday and was happily watching biddies. He was very snuggly during the PM and wanted to be on my lap. His fur feels really nice and soft these days.

Despite snow-pocalypse yesterday, roads were relatively drive-able this AM, so I will be able to check him around +6 or so. First in-office vet visit scheduled for early this evening since we started home testing. I'm not really sure what to expect, but I will report back!

Hope everyone has a wonderful Friday!
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180

Nice amps! Sounds like the whole cat report is lovely too.

Sure hope your vet appreciates all your hard work and the results.
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180

I'm not seeing any bounces...
Which numbers are you feeling might be a bounce?
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
I'm not seeing any bounces...
Which numbers are you feeling might be a bounce?

I'm looking at the PM cycle yesterday 2/20. AMPS was nice at 202, but he seems to have climbed quite rapidly after that, as he didn't come down a whole lot more. If it was a bounce, it wasn't a huge one. Just kind of stayed in the high 100's around nadir it looks like. That's what I consider a sort of a "high/flat" cycle for Eddie even though it's not really all that high.
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180

OK, I'm just reading it differently :-)

In general, Eddie seems to rise in the first 2-3 hours after a shot. That makes sense, because it would go up after eating until onset happens. When I see that, I determine that the previous cycle was "normal" in terms of timing of onset/nadir/duration, and that's what yesterday's AM cycle looks like to me.

Last night, it just looks like onset was "late", nadir happened after your last test of the night, and the duration hadn't pooped out by today's AMPS, or it was just about to. And the bump after breakfast today was just from eating breakfast and onset is still pending.

It looks like Eddie is mixing in normal cycles with "long" ones rather than bouncing.
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
OK, I'm just reading it differently :-)

In general, Eddie seems to rise in the first 2-3 hours after a shot. That makes sense, because it would go up after eating until onset happens. When I see that, I determine that the previous cycle was "normal" in terms of timing of onset/nadir/duration, and that's what yesterday's AM cycle looks like to me.

Last night, it just looks like onset was "late", nadir happened after your last test of the night, and the duration hadn't pooped out by today's AMPS, or it was just about to. And the bump after breakfast today was just from eating breakfast and onset is still pending.

It looks like Eddie is mixing in normal cycles with "long" ones rather than bouncing.

That could definitely be the case too! :smile: I sort of try to guestimate how much he's rising after the pre-shot. If it's a really steep, fast rise, I generally look at that as more bouncy, and then the shot has to pull him off higher numbers. If it's a more gradual rise and doesn't go as high, I assume that's food. Obviously, it's not an exact science. :lol: The important thing is that he's mostly below renal threshold lately and is feeling better overall. :smile:

I guess my thinking is that maybe a "bounce" doesn't have to necessarily blast glucose levels into the system, but it might release some counter-regulatory hormones that make it harder for the insulin to do it's job. Totally a guess on that. Or, maybe it was one of those million variables that could have just affected that cycle.

If it is a bounce, it's definitely not a high one, and WAY better than the big bounces up into the high 300's and 400's he was having before. Hopefully, Eddie's starting to get more used to the normal numbers. :smile: If we can sort of maintain these more even-keeled cycles, I hope to be able to eventually bring him down just a little bit. I'm not sure how "tightly" I can regulate Eddie on ProZinc.

Now that I have a fair amount of data on shooting these pre-shots that are a bit lower, I'm hoping we can continue to take advantage of these longish cycles Eddie gets. At first, they were confounding and resulted in frustration and skipped shots. Not any more! (anti-jinx) :smile:

As always, thank you for looking over Eddie's SS and providing your input. I'm always interested in different ideas on how to tweak things here or there to continue to (safely) keep him in better numbers. :smile:
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180

Hope everything goes well at the vet! :-D


So I'm wondering if P's getting a longer duration from his shot, with these higher doses.
Carl said
In general, Eddie seems to rise in the first 2-3 hours after a shot. That makes sense, because it would go up after eating until onset happens.

This is the opposite for P (at least at night, I don't have any +2 from the morning dose to tell if it's happening then too). It looks like he's still going down in the first 2-4 hours after shot/feeding. And he has been having a way late nadir (+8, +10)in the AM cycle. I don't know what to do with this information. I don't even know if I'm correct to assume this is what's happening, due to the last couple bounces. And then there are those blues to throw me off. 2/19's AM dose had a nadir at +10, then the evening dose had an early nadir at +5.5, after I fed a TBSP of food, to slow him down. Then he jumps right back up to 272 at +7and has a high, flat cycle the following morning.

ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180, +6 = 108

Nice nadir today. Probably went a little lower after +6. Stalling for PM pre-shot again tonight.

+12 = 143
+12.5 = 136
+13 = 137
+13.5 = 136

Our vet visit today was cancelled. My tech called about two hours before our appointment and wanted to know which pancreatitis test we wanted. Hence my post in Health re: "huh? there's more than one test?" I subsequently spoke with our tech who advised that Eddie needed to be fasting, which he wasn't. Darn, as much as I study everything else, I did not study that and didn't know he needed to be fasting. Wish they had said something when I scheduled the appointment. Will bring him in probably later in the week.
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180, +6= 108, +12 = 143

I got a question....how are you supposed to 'fast' a cat that's on insulin? You can't shoot if they don't eat. as far as I know. I don't understand that.
 
Re: 2/21 Eddie AMPS 180, +6= 108, +12 = 143

I'm not really sure...

They suggested giving half his AM dose, have him in for his appointment, and give the other half the dose after with food, but I don't think I'm going to do that. I don't want to deal with onset happening too close to the nadir from the first shot, even if it is a reduced dose. Especially since Eddie (anti-jinx) has been hanging in the blues for most of his cycles lately.

On the no-shooting if they're not eating thing...I read some stuff in the think tank suggesting that this rule is more designed for people who aren't testing, but I don't really know on that one. I might seek some input on that issue before the next appointment. I may have a revolt on my hands if the cats don't get their "midnight" snack.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top