Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114482
Yesterday's cycles both started with high (bouncy?) pre-shots, but ended up having excellent nadirs. Last night's nadir happened around +8 or possibly later. Eddie was still surfing at +12 this AM, so I stalled and shot at +12.5. I have that nagging feeling in the back of my mind again that we might get good nadirs with a hair less insulin with a bit less bouncing. That said, we just reduced a few days ago, so I don't want to get too excited and move down too quickly. I also hate to lose some of the duration if in fact the lower doses are shortening the duration just a little. We are so fortunate that Eddie often gets long duration so we can take advantage of that overlap, now that we know how to handle it. :smile:
Today:
AMPS = 188 (2.0u)
+1 = 344
+4.5 = 160
+10 = 208
PMPS = 430 (2.0u)
Eddie frequently continues to rise pretty rapidly after his shot until +3 or so. I'm guessing this is due to a combination of things, including food, the last shot petering out, and maybe even a bounce pushing through.
His meals at shot time are fairly large, and then he gets a small lunch and a midnight snack at roughly +5 or +6 after his shot. I'm wondering if it would make any difference is those large meals were split into two and fed an hour or an hour-and-a-half apart. For example, half his breakfast/supper at shot time, and the second half an hour or so later. I'm wondering if that would create less of a food spike that the insulin has to pull down, or if it would just keep piling on to an already high number for the insulin to work on. Maybe it would make no difference at all. :smile: I'm curious as to thoughts on this one.
Yesterday's cycles both started with high (bouncy?) pre-shots, but ended up having excellent nadirs. Last night's nadir happened around +8 or possibly later. Eddie was still surfing at +12 this AM, so I stalled and shot at +12.5. I have that nagging feeling in the back of my mind again that we might get good nadirs with a hair less insulin with a bit less bouncing. That said, we just reduced a few days ago, so I don't want to get too excited and move down too quickly. I also hate to lose some of the duration if in fact the lower doses are shortening the duration just a little. We are so fortunate that Eddie often gets long duration so we can take advantage of that overlap, now that we know how to handle it. :smile:
Today:
AMPS = 188 (2.0u)
+1 = 344
+4.5 = 160
+10 = 208
PMPS = 430 (2.0u)
Eddie frequently continues to rise pretty rapidly after his shot until +3 or so. I'm guessing this is due to a combination of things, including food, the last shot petering out, and maybe even a bounce pushing through.
His meals at shot time are fairly large, and then he gets a small lunch and a midnight snack at roughly +5 or +6 after his shot. I'm wondering if it would make any difference is those large meals were split into two and fed an hour or an hour-and-a-half apart. For example, half his breakfast/supper at shot time, and the second half an hour or so later. I'm wondering if that would create less of a food spike that the insulin has to pull down, or if it would just keep piling on to an already high number for the insulin to work on. Maybe it would make no difference at all. :smile: I'm curious as to thoughts on this one.