2/27 Eddie AMPS 188, +4.5 = 160, +10 = 208, PMPS = 430

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114482

Yesterday's cycles both started with high (bouncy?) pre-shots, but ended up having excellent nadirs. Last night's nadir happened around +8 or possibly later. Eddie was still surfing at +12 this AM, so I stalled and shot at +12.5. I have that nagging feeling in the back of my mind again that we might get good nadirs with a hair less insulin with a bit less bouncing. That said, we just reduced a few days ago, so I don't want to get too excited and move down too quickly. I also hate to lose some of the duration if in fact the lower doses are shortening the duration just a little. We are so fortunate that Eddie often gets long duration so we can take advantage of that overlap, now that we know how to handle it. :smile:

Today:
AMPS = 188 (2.0u)
+1 = 344
+4.5 = 160
+10 = 208
PMPS = 430 (2.0u)

Eddie frequently continues to rise pretty rapidly after his shot until +3 or so. I'm guessing this is due to a combination of things, including food, the last shot petering out, and maybe even a bounce pushing through.

His meals at shot time are fairly large, and then he gets a small lunch and a midnight snack at roughly +5 or +6 after his shot. I'm wondering if it would make any difference is those large meals were split into two and fed an hour or an hour-and-a-half apart. For example, half his breakfast/supper at shot time, and the second half an hour or so later. I'm wondering if that would create less of a food spike that the insulin has to pull down, or if it would just keep piling on to an already high number for the insulin to work on. Maybe it would make no difference at all. :smile: I'm curious as to thoughts on this one.
 
Re: 2/27 Eddie AMPS 188, +4.5 = 160

There are many that feel that smaller, more frequent meals, lead to a smoother cycle. I don't have a choice, Lucian insists on eating every 2-3 hrs, 24/7. :roll:
 
Re: 2/27 Eddie AMPS 188, +4.5 = 160

Work obligations required an early "lunch" check in at +4.5.

+4.5 = 160, so Eddie cleared that food spike no problem.

Confirmed our rescheduled vet appointment to run pancreatits tests at 8:20 AM tomorrow. Eddie has to fast for 12 hours before hand. He's going to be a bummed out kitty with no midnight snack and no pokie snacks after 8:00 PM. angry(2)_cat

So more questions: For the shot tonight, I'm thinking I might shave it just a bit, since there won't be a midnight snack, and I won't be able to steer. In the AM, we would normally shoot at 6:00 AM. I'm not sure what to do with his AM shot. Our tech suggested dosing half his normal dose (sans food) before the appointment, and then the other half after we get him home. The problem is that the second shot would be around 2-3 hours after the first shot, at best, so it would be onsetting just as the first shot is picking up momentum. I think we run Eddie a bit to tightly to do that safely, especially without being able to monitor closely. So I think my options would be to shoot normally if he has a high pre-shot or shave it a bit since it will be without food, unless shooting on an empty stomach will upset his tummy, or if, he's surfing, just wait until after his appointment to shoot. My primary concern is Eddie's safety and not making the process more stressful than it will already be for him, and a messed up schedule is not a big deal, especially going into the weekend.
 
Re: 2/27 Eddie AMPS 188, +4.5 = 160

I think your ideas are best. Skinny the dose since he can't eat and you won't be able to steer, don't want a hypo issue under those circumstances.

And wait till morning to decide, depending on his numbers. If you're lucky he'll have one of those long cycles and it'll be all good.

As tightly has you have him regulated, splitting his dose isn't a good idea, IMHO. Maybe a bit of reduction, but you know Eddie and are doing an excellent job with him. I'd trust your judgement before the tech that's never around him. Again, just my opinion.
 
Re: 2/27 Eddie AMPS 188, +4.5 = 160

PMPS = 430 (2.0) :shock:

Yikes! Looks like a bounce to me. I can't quite tell if the duration isn't quite hanging on as long with the slightly shaved doses or if Eddie's bouncing off the lowish green's he's hitting on most of the cycles recently. I suspect the latter.

Thanks for your input Deb! I did shave the dose despite the high pre-shot tonight. I guess it's a good time to see if a slightly lower dose will bring Eddie down effectively from those higher pre-shots. Now, fingers crossed that we don't have any unexpected lows tonight.

I sure hope he surfs in the morning, so we don't have to guestimate how much to dose on an empty stomach. :?
 
Hard to tell when there is a possibility of both a bounce and response to a lower dose, causing the numbers.

At least with the skinny dose tonight, you shouldn't have to worry about steering with food. Or NOT being able to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top