3/5 Eddie AMPS 174, +4.5= 32, +6.5= 104, PMPS 339, +7= 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Good morning!

Condo from the third: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114789

Didn't get a chance to post yesterday. Crazy day at work finalizing a massive court brief. Got home from the office at about 11:30 PM last night. @-)

Just when I'm starting to get a little annoyed with our streak of high pre-shots, Eddie has a longish cycle going into this AM. I'm starting to be suspicious that generally the lowered dose is not getting quite the duration that the higher doses got. He's not really going up fast this AM, but he's not dropping either. Food should boost him up and bring him high enough for the shot to be safe. I'll be able to check on him around +4 or +5 today to ensure he's not going too low.

Eddie seemed a little "off" yesterday. A little bit "pathetic" and whiny for lack of a better way of saying it. This morning, in contrast, he's bright eyed and bushy tailed.

Today:

(stalling)
+11 = 170/145
+12 = 170
+12.3 = 150
AMPS (+12.6) = 174 (1.8u)
+4.5 = 32/33
+5 = 35
+5.3 = 43
+5.6 = 53
+6 = 74
+6.5 = 104
+8 = 157
PMPS (+12) = 339
+4 = 137
+5 = 90
+6 = 69
+6.5 = 74
+7 = 66
+7.5 = 66
+8 = 90
 
Re: 3/5 Eddie AMPS 174

He really does present you with many different scenerios. No same old, same old with Eddie. :mrgreen: Now to figure the dose to get 12 hour cycles with good numbers.....
 
Re: 3/5 Eddie AMPS 174

Ugh!

+4.5 = 32/33 :shock: (1 tsp HC)
+5 = 35 (1 tsp HC)
+5.3 = 43(1 tsp HC)

On my stupid phone so updates are a bit challenging. Called work and said I may be late coming back from lunch.

Hopped on DH's laptop, so I can post a little more easily.
 
Re: 3/5 Eddie AMPS 174, +4.5 = 32, +5.6 = 53

+5.6 = 53
+6 = 74

Fed 1 Tbsp. of his regular LC FF since Eddie didn't think that the couple tsps. of gravy was enough for lunch. :?

At what point am I OK to go back to work? Someone should be here within about 3 hrs. to check on him if I were to leave.

I'm gonna have to think about whether I maybe shot too low this AM or what. Two of the last three times I shot what appeared to be a rising blue number, we dipped below 50. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/5 Eddie AMPS 174, +4.5 = 32, +5.6 = 53

Thanks Sue! We went from 53 to 74 up to 104 before I left. That HC gravy really does the trick thankfully. By the time I left, someone will be home again within about 2 hours. I may leave work a little early today, too, given the 16+ hour work day yesterday. @-)

I'm leaning towards another reduction on those lower "surfing" pre-shots to 1.6u, and leaving the dose at 2.0u on the 300+ range. I'm wondering if this was just one of those long duration surfs and he wasn't headed back up quickly enough by the time the next shot started to onset. He is just full of surprises! I thought we might be going back up on the dose again since his nadirs had looked to be a little higher the last couple days. Guess he had other plans in mind. dancing_cat

He sure made my eyes pop out with that 32 reading. @-) He didn't have any symptoms and was sunning himself on the cat stand. He really enjoyed the gravy, and jumped up on the counter to try to sample some more between tests. While I was testing/feeding, I got a voicemail from our vet with the results of the fPL test which was right in center of the normal range, so she indicated it's very unlikely Eddie has pancreatitis. Whew! :smile:
 
Re: 3/5 Eddie AMPS 174, +4.5 = 32, +5.6 = 53

bunni9 said:
I'm leaning towards another reduction on those lower "surfing" pre-shots to 1.6u, and leaving the dose at 2.0u on the 300+ range. I'm wondering if this was just one of those long duration surfs and he wasn't headed back up quickly enough by the time the next shot started to onset. He is just full of surprises! I thought we might be going back up on the dose again since his nadirs had looked to be a little higher the last couple days. Guess he had other plans in mind. dancing_cat

He sure made my eyes pop out with that 32 reading. @-) He didn't have any symptoms and was sunning himself on the cat stand. He really enjoyed the gravy, and jumped up on the counter to try to sample some more between tests. While I was testing/feeding, I got a voicemail from our vet with the results of the fPL test which was right in center of the normal range, so she indicated it's very unlikely Eddie has pancreatitis. Whew! :smile:

I like that scale. I do think that those lower amps numbers may be carryover. Although you did the additional tests to see if he was headed up, they were all in that 20% range. So he could have had still had some insulin in his system. (I know I keep seeing people saying it is an in and out insulin and only lasts 8-10 hours. They need to remember that ECID and not speak in absolutes!) The only other thing to try is a tiny dose on that kind of amps, although they usually don't do much for Eddie.

Great news on the pancreatitis.
 
Re: 3/5 Eddie AMPS 174, +4.5 = 32, +6.5 = 104

Wow I'm shocked. Turn my head for a minute........bet you know how that feels. Hang in there Jen.
 
Re: 3/5 Eddie AMPS 174, +4.5= 32, +6.5= 104, PMPS 339

Maybe Eddie could use some patience pants too. ;-) I'm thrilled that he wants less insulin, but it would be nice if he'd do his deep sea diving when I'm around to monitor. :shock:

Sending vines your way, Deb.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top