3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +5 244; +7 175; +9 319

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack and Jenell

Member Since 2014
Jack had a wild night last cycle and dropped @ +9 to 37. I didn't use Karo syrup because he came up with his wet food.

AMPS 536 --- 3 units.
+3 ----- 358
+5 ----- 244
+7 ----- 175
+9 ----- 319
PMPS 476 --- 2.5 units
+7 ----- 237

Lets see how today goes...
Starting to creep up!

Thanks, Jenell
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536

I did want to let you know that yes! you are formatting Jack's condo exactly right. From day to day, you'll also link to the previous day's condo.

Just wanted to also let you know not to panic if Jack stays rather flat this cycle. It's not unusual for a cat to "bounce" for an entire cycle (a flat high cycle) after a low number. Some cats even "bounce" for more than one cycle. It's the same mechanism at work that creates those high pre-shots. If you can get a couple tests in tonight that should help figure out what's going on. I'm suspicious that even the 3u may be too much but you want to take it back down fairly slowly to avoid missing a "good dose" and in light of Jack's history of DKA.
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536

Woo-hoo! :RAHCAT Catching some pee is definitely a cause for celebration! :lol:
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536

Hi Janell and Jack, i haven't "met" you before. Glad to see negative ketones. I'm with Jen and wonder if 3 units may end up being too high, but it may take a cycle to get back to normal after that low.
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +3 358

It looks like he is dropping a little - maybe let's see how he looks at pmps and decide. I think I'd lower since it's overnight and hard to monitor. What would you think about 2 units or 2.5?

What time zone are you in and when is pmps (#of hours from now) so we can watch for you.
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +3 358; +5 244

I live in Oregon, so Pacific time zone. His PMPS is at midnight so 6 more hrs. I'll definitely get a couple more checks in before then. I would be ok dropping his dose to 2.5 u if that's appropriate. I just have to keep in mind that he takes oral steroids twice daily, so that is going to raise his sugar. That's why we restarted him on such a high dose, but I'm seeing that it is dropping him a few hundred points which most likely is making his liver panic. Any input/advice is appreciated!
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +3 358; +5 244

You work split shifts, right? Sometimes, I am still on at that time of night (2AM Central). Unfortunately, it's usually pretty quiet on the PZI board at that time of night. Once in a while Deb (Lucian) is on, since she shoots as needed. If nobody is responding on PZI, you can also try posting on the Health board, which is sometimes frequented by more folks. I'll be on for at least a few more hours so if you can keep grabbing tests we can eyeball it a little later in Jack's cycle.
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +3 358; +5 244; +7 175

I work swing shift from 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm so that's why I check at 12/12. But my days off are scattered through the week. I'll try to test a little early and see how he's doing. I think I like the 3 units today but he seems to go even lower at night. I usually feed him around midnight with his shot then again at 3 am when I'm usually heading to bed.
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +3 358; +5 244; +7 175

Looks like Jack's coming down nicely from that high AMPS. Given his long cycle for the PM cycle yesterday, I'm suspicious that he may keep going down. It's not unusual for cats to have a later nadir than +6. ProZinc "on average" lasts about 12 hours, BUT, a dose can stretch a fair bit longer than that. Eddie's had cycles lasting up to 18 hours. :shock: If he keeps going down and is not shootable at PMPS again, you can do a couple things....stall, and depending where he's at testing every 30 - 60 minutes until he's high enough to safely shoot. This is kind of tricky to do with a schedule. Otherwise, some kitties seem to shorten their cycles a bit if the dose is lowered a bit. Duration of a dose isn't really "supposed" to depend on the amount of the dose, but it does seem like for some kitties, higher doses can stretch out a cycle. Other times, the length of a cycle seems rather random.
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +3 358; +5 244; +7 175

Another way we look at numbers is the percentage of drop. He dropped quite a bit today - more than 50% at +7. And he is still dropping - sometimes if the cycle lasts longer than normal, we think about the dose being too high.

If his pmps is stilll dropping at preshot, you want to wait until he starts to go up. If he is anywhere near 200 at preshot, I'd definitely go lower than 3 units tonight.
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +3 358; +5 244; +7 175

Like try 2.5 units tonight if he's hovering right above 200?

I cannot thank all of you enough for the wonderful guidance! I wish I could provide you all with the amazing information you've provided me :) If ever any of you need anything let me know and I will try my best to help you all.
 
Re: 3/31 Jack AMPS 536; +3 358; +5 244; +7 175

I would think that dose would be okay. And you might leave out some food overnight so if he did drop lower, he can bring himself up. (i am always cautious about overnight dosing because you can't monitor.)

You'll be able to pay it forward. That's the only way this website works - people who have been helped, help others. Everyone who posts was helped by others when they were new to this sugar dance,scared and confused.
 
Yeah, I'm thinking 2.5 and see what the cycle looks like. Generally speaking, if you're seeing a drop of 50-60% or so from pre-shot to nadir, that's usually considered pretty good. Bigger drops than that can set up a bounce, so it's possible that Jack may bounce off that 175 since it's a pretty steep drop off that AMPS in the 500s. He may also have some bouncy hormones that are keeping him a little higher this cycle combined with the skipped shot. So it may be an "artificially" high cycle. Great job getting those tests in today! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top