6/11 Merlin AMPS 391,+6/275, PMPS 332,+4/311

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
Yesterday

6/11
AMPS 391; 1.2u
+6 - 275

Thanks BJ...I will check into those drops.

I cannot seem to get him lower at nadir. Do you think I am giving him too much insulin or not enough? Or should I continue with 1.2u and get his sinusitis medicine and see what that does?
 
Re: 6/11 Merlin AMPS 391,+6/275

I don't know, Cindi. If he is in pain or even stuffed up and stressed out, that can raise his bg levels. I think he looked better at a lower dose, but that could be cancelled out by stress and pain. If he continues to climb with the 1.2, I think I'd do a quick check with a gfew shots at .6 and see if the numbers are better. (but if you're going to try that, be sure to get ketones tests in.)

How does he seem generally? Is he just lying around or does he seem like his usual self? How is his appetite?
 
Re: 6/11 Merlin AMPS 391,+6/275

Today his appetite is not good. I had to delay his shot this morning for about an hour because it took me that long to persuade him to eat something. I ended up giving his Miralax and Pepcid AC by syringe. After about 20 minutes, he then began to show some interest in food. He may have had an upset stomach. I have been giving him Pepcid AC 1/4 tab BID but have not these last couple of days. I picked some up last night. Throughout today, he has eaten but not with the enthusiasm that he has had in the past. He seems to be a little more tired and is sleeping more. He continues to sneeze. Poor thing...I don't think he is himself. I get his medication tomorrow afternoon. I think it is arithromycin (a type of antibiotic) or something like that.

So if I go a smaller dose, say a .6u, can I just go for it or do I need to decrease over time? I am willing to try it tomorrow morning if you think it is worth a try. Or I can wait until I get the antibiotic and give that a couple of days to start working.
 
Re: 6/11 Merlin AMPS 391,+6/275

I think I'd start the antibiotic first with 1.2 and see how he does. Then, if he perks up and you think it's just the insulin impacting him, not the illness, try the .6. And yes, you can just drop it and see.

I can't remember - is this sinus thing new or something he has had before?
 
Re: 6/11 Merlin AMPS 391,+6/275

He has had this sinus thing going on for very long time probably 6-8 months. We thought at first it was a very bad cold. At the same time, we had two other cats that had the same problem but I think it was truly a cold. We have given him doxycycline and it helped but as soon as his is off the antibiotic, it comes back. The other cats received doxy too but their cold never came back. It has been worse before with a lot more drainage way back in Nov or December. His poor little nose was continuously running and he was blowing out gunk all over the place. At least now, he is a little dryer but you can tell that he is miserable and can't breathe well due to his nose being all stuffed up.

That sounds like a plan. Will get him on the antibiotics and continue with the 1.2u or 1u (depneding upon his numbers). Will give him a couple of days and see how he does.

Thanks for checking in and providing your ideas.
 
Re: 6/11 Merlin AMPS 391,+6/275

6/11
AMPS 391; 1.2u
+6 - 275
PMPS 332; 1.2u

Appetite is good tonight. Nothing else or new to report. I can't wait to get his meds for his sinus tomorrow afternoon.
 
Re: 6/11 Merlin AMPS 391,+6/275, PMPS 332

6/11
AMPS 391; 1.2u
+6 - 275
PMPS 332; 1.2u
+4 - 311
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top