I would go with the 0.5 2x/day then, or if you can guesstimate 0.75 you could try that. BID = 2x/day, SID = 1x/day. Cycle = time from one shot to the next. So 3rd cycle on BID would be from when you give the 3rd shot up to the time of the 4th shot.
The +8 of 93 is still perfect - the rise to the +12 is likely the insulin wearing off. I'd be really really surprised if her regular nadir is +12. Sometimes they will get what looks like that, but it's more from the dose being too high - if you lower the dose, you will get a more typical pattern of a drop to around maybe +6 and then a rise back up to +12. For that one day at least, 8/31, that's what you are seeing - a nice U-curve with a drop to the nadir and rise back up to the next +12.
9/1 AMPS 319 2.00 As this was higher than previous AMPS I decided insulin was too little
+12 54
If you didn't give a shot at night, the previous insulin dose it's pretty much irrelevant to the next morning's PS. The AMPS most likely is the effect of no insulin overnight, rather than any effect from the previous shot.
When I was giving Carbonel 1u twice a day by the 4th day her +12 was 65. so I gave her no insulin. Should I have still given her 1 unit? I have tried 1u twice a day Joanna and I think this is too much, perhaps I am wrong and just a bit scared!!!
Sorry I forgot you had tried that. Yes, it sounds like too much if you got a +12 of 65.
I would definitely keep a no shoot, and DO NOT give insulin at a PS like 65!!! Most PZIers have a no-shoot of 150 to 200. If you don't have a lot of data or comfort level on lower PSs you set it at 200. If you get a PS lower than that, you retest in maybe 30 minutes or so and give the insulin once they are at a # close to 200. What Robin said.
I hope that all makes sense. I feel like there is some miscommunication somewhere - I don't think the low +12s are a nadir, I think they are a sign of a dose too high. What you typically see on PZI is something like (#s totally made up):
AMPS 300 1u
+1 350 --> insulin hasn't kicked in yet
+2 300 --> insulin is kicking in, onset has happened
+3 250
+4 200
+5 150
+6 120 --> approximate nadir
+7 125
+8 140 --> past nadir, #s starting to rise
+9 170
+10 200
+11 250 --> insulin is poop-ing out, #s rising faster
+12 (PMPS) 300 1u
My guess with Carbonel is that then she may be sitting in higher #s overnight, without that nighttime shot. If you get a low +12 at the PMPS, that is typically a sign the dose was too high that morning. To get a low # at +12, you may have gotten a weird pattern during the day - maybe an inverse curve, maybe #s that were too low at nadir, maybe a flat line and then a late drop at the end of the cycle. None of those are what you want with PZI. That's why I think a curve, whenever you can get one, will really help you see what is going on during the entire cycle.