I am a newbie with cat with diabetes

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Fluffmiester, Jan 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fluffmiester

Fluffmiester Member

My Maine Coon cat was just diagnosed with diabetes. My vet told me I do not need to check his levels every day that after a few times sticking him he will fight me. I have been giving him his shots twice a day with no problems He goes back in a month to check his levels. His glu level now is 432, alt is 258, phos is 3.0, t4 is 0.8 and chol is 274 do not know what all this means. Thanks for any suggestions

2. Charliemeow

Charliemeow Well-Known Member

Welcome! I'm glad you found us! I've found quite the opposite of what your vet said to be true. I check charlie's bg levels at least twice a day (before every shot), and usually more than that. In the beginning he resisted and it was tricky to get the hang of. But it's easy now for all of us. He know he's gonna get a tasty (low carb) treat after the test. He'll do anything for food! What are you feeding your kitty? He should be on low-carb wet food (<10% carbs). Binky's list has the carb counts for all the major brands. You can check his sugar at home with an inexpensive human meter (many of us use the relion meter from walmart. Strips cost $20 for 50.). There's no need to pay a vet lots of money to do for you what you can do at home. Plus, stress raises glucose levels, so the numbers the vet gets will almost certainly be higher than the numbers he normally has at home. How my much insulin is he getting at each shot? I'm sure others will be along with more advice and questions for you, but this will get us started! Ask lots of questions, we're here to help you!!

3. KristenP&Sam

KristenP&Sam Member