Wally and Costello 10/18

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Oliver (GA)

Member Since 2009
Amps 467

Higher than we would like - about the same as yesterday. Wally decided on 2 units. I love that he is figuring out his own doses. He is really learning this sugar dance.

He found some raw bison he could afford. He'll introduce it slowly with the canned stuff he is already feeding to see how it works.
 
Agree with the dose. I am hoping all the other distractions- constipation, appetite, etc. stay away so that we can see how just the insulin and eating work together. Would love to evaluate the dose over several cycles.

Wally is doing an amazing job, especially considering all of these obstacles!

Sue, you may not understand why people call you a saint. How does "angel" work for you?
Carl
 
Oh, pooh. It is something all of you would do if you had the chance. I am lucky that I am retired and have the time, and unlimited long distance.

We have had a lot of people donate to help Wally out. Those are the angels.
 
dmartini4 said:
We could be the PZI angels!! (like Charlie's angels!)

(yes I am a dork!)
Awesome, then I get to be Bosley!!!
Carl
 
Fingers crossed that, with Costello feeling better, 2 units is his magic dose and gives him some better #'s. I'm totally on board with Sue being an angel among the angels of PZI land. I look at my cat Max strong and healthy (still a bit of a hoover) and am so very thankful for the help I received here.
 
:lol: You guys crack me up. :lol:

I think everyone here is an angel, my introduction post when I came here was "Hello Angels" I couldn't believe how lucky I was to have found this site so quickly, we all remember how overwhelming and emotional those first few weeks were. Harley was not a lap cat, he liked to have his chin scratched but no holding or cuddling, how on earth was I going to convince him to let me stab him in the ear twice a day :shock: lots of tears and years but here we are purring along.

I think Saint Sue has a certain ring to it and you do have the patience of a saint.
 
Sorry, I havn't been following along but why the huge jump up in dose? He's gone up 1 unit in two days.

He got that awesome blue on 1 unit and then probably a bounce from it and now it looks like maybe too much insulin to me.

Anyone else?
 
That's what I can't figure: up or down. History: he came on after a disastrous time with YDC, TID with 2-3-4 U at a time. Since he can't come online, and he is West Coast, we wanted some general scale for him. And we figured there would be a lot of bouncing at first, coming down from the high numbers and high doses.

But now, bounces seem to have cleared and I am not sure whether we go up or down. Check out his ss in my signature and see what you think.
 
Robin, just to try to catch you up....

Other complications over the past three or four days - constipation caused a trip to an ER vet a couple days ago. Along with that was lack of appetite that led to forced syringe feeding. A really low number one 1 unit, and higher PS numbers since. This is a really bizarre "case", made even more difficult by the lack of internet at Wally's end. We've been (Sue has been!) on the phone a whole lot, and Wally's been running all over town scrambling to find supplies, trying different foods.
It's been like a really bad hollywood b-movie script!

Dose - I don't understand why huge reaction to one unit, little reaction to the increases, but the "curves" aren't obvious indicators that the dose is too high, are they?

ayiyiyi.....
Carl
 
I did look at his ss. The going from 1 to 2 units in two days seems a little drastic to me. It looked like better results on the 1 unit, I might suggest to go back to that and try again for yellow ps's and blue nadir.
 
On 0/16, we didn't like the nadir up a hundred points. But maybe we should have gone down, not up?

So little data, so many complications. I am, and I know Wally is open to suggestions.
 
There was no pmps on the 15th and no amps on the 16th. He ran out of strips. He knew help was coming but the strips hadn't arrived. Horrid night. First store cheap meter didn't work. Second one didn't work. Finally decided to drive the long way to Walmart but pharmacy was closed. Got ReliOn next morning but too late for amps.

You see what I mean by a saga....

Those 2 numbers would really help fill out the picture......
 
Robin,
Also, a week ago, Costello was getting up to 10-12 units a day, every 6 or 8 hours he was getting a shot.
 
So Robin, are you thinking we should try one unit for a few cycles? He now has ketone strips and Costello is eating so it would be doable. I don't like this 300-400 cycle. Carl, do you think we should try that?

SO much harder deciding what to do with someone else's cat when the picture is so murky.
 
Hi Everybody-
Thanks for all the hard work and efforts put forward by all you elves out there. It's a great feeling, getting help when you need it. Yes, it is tricky, as a little too high can make it go up, and a little too low can do the same. Is it also possible that because it fell so fast that one day, ( I don't have the chart with me), to 177, and I didn't wait 20 minutes, but instead gave 1/2 u, that it was too small a dose, and started an upwards trend after? I guess, either way, decreasing may be best if 2 u doesn't work.
Thank you so much, Patti, and Sue, and Cindy, for the supplies and financial help I got in the mail! TC all-
 
Robin and Sue,
Yes, I think we can do the 1u dose for a couple of days to see what we get. As long as Costello cooperates and eats and poops normally. We should try to determine what we expect, and what "flags" would tell us if it is or isn't working. We don't want high numbers and/or ketones for sure.
He's got stix, he's got plenty of test strips and meters, and if Costello can eat the new food mixture without showing any allergic reaction, he's got plenty of food.
Of course, we need to make sure Wally understands what/why he should try this, but checking 1u now sure beats having to backtrack later. Maybe the "right dose" is 1, or in between 1 and 2?

Carl
 
Hey Wally,

Good to "hear" you. Glad you saw the discussion on raising vs lowering. If you are still on and have questions, ask. You haven't heard from Robin before but she is very knowledgable and her advice well respected. I hope she comes back on and confirms our trying a trial of one unit.

I will call tonight to get the pmps. Think we are expecting another 400 type number.
 
YIKES 10 to 12 units???!!! I'm glad he's still with us.

That alone makes me think we need to start over at 1 unit and go from there like he was newly dx (thinking Callie Mae). Test for ketones and make sure he's eating and pooing ok.

You guys ROCK!!! Sorry I've been MIA lately.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top