11/05/2011 Spitzer +2~GI,+4~511,+6~494,+8~396,PMPS~396

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Previously

He was down in the basement this morning, so I don't know if he ate or drank, nor for how long. He wasn't interested in his treat after testing, nor in the regular food. When I put down some of the A/D, he ate a tablespoon or so.

The A/D has caused a strong increase in his glucose; I'm compensating with small doses of R today, while I'm home to monitor. From past experience, in Spitzer (WARNING: your cat may respond differently), a quarter to a half of a unit, when he is in the 400s or higher, might bring him down 100-150 points. I like to think of this as "chinking" - this is something done in log homes, when there are uneven gaps between logs, they'd plaster in some mud to fill in the crack a bit, though not level with the outermost edge of the log. The R insulin is filling in the cracks a little bit today. Its better to find a dose of the primary insulin that'll handle this for the whole cycle.

If he's going to be eating A/D, then I'll have to up the ProZinc tonight - I'm thinking to 2. I didn't want to get off cycle today.
 
Re: 11/05/2011 Spitzer AMPS~538,+2~GI,+4~511,+6~494; "chinki

Will he let you syringe feed him? Maybe water down the AD and get more into him? You know about kitties with high numbers who aren't eating - dangerous combo.
 
Re: 11/05/2011 Spitzer AMPS~538,+2~GI,+4~511,+6~494; "chinki

He did eat some A/D this morning and that stuff is really high calorie. He is running so high now, I hesitate to encourage more food.

He was sleeping inside the 4 legs of a huge cat tree, near a shut vent that was still blowing cool air.

What do you think of taking the ProZinc up to 2 units?
 
Re: 11/05/2011 Spitzer AMPS~538,+2~GI,+4~511,+6~494; "chinki

I don't know, BJ. I have never responded to your doses because what you are doing is way over my head. I would not know how to advise you.

I am just thinking no food and high numbers are scary. I know it is hard to decide whether to use insulin to lower the numbers or food to help keep away the ketones or a combination.
 
Re: 11/05/2011 Spitzer AMPS~538,+2~GI,+4~511,+6~494; "chinki

Well, I gave him a tiny bit more R, in an attempt to get him down from / keep him down in the 400s.

Just 6 more hours until I can do another ProZinc, unless I go to TID (every 8 hr) dosing.

ARRGG - with I had an IV set up and could put him on a tiny drip of the R with fluids, y'know?
 
Re: 11/05/2011 Spitzer AMPS~538,+2~GI,+4~511,+6~494,+8~396

I couldn't find him and was about to give up when he appeared and started eating.

After he'd done that, I tested him and gave him another tiny dose of the R. He's finally starting to come down some. The ProZinc should be started to wear off at this point and he was eating low carb, moderate fat, so I'm hoping he doesn't skyrocket back up at PMPS.
 
Re: 11/05/2011 Spitzer AMPS~538,+2~GI,+4~511,+6~494,+8~396

Hi, sorry I don't have much to add either because I'm not sure what your dosing strategy is now.

At least the R is helping.
 
Re: 11/05/2011 Spitzer AMPS~538,+2~GI,+4~511,+6~494,+8~396

I just need to keep him moderated until this evening's Prozinc, when I'll up it to compensate for the A/D ... and hopefully not need any R!
 
Re: 11/05/2011 Spitzer +4~511,+6~494,+8~396,PMPS~396

Because of Daylight Savings time, shot a half hour later.

He didn't go up any higher than 4.5 hours previously.

I put 1/4 can of the A/D into 1 large can of the Sophisticat, and he ate some.

Since I mixed it, I upped the ProZinc to an estimated 1.5 units, rather than going up to 2 units. If all I'd given him was the A/D, I'd've gone up to 2 units - that stuff just shoots his glucose into the stratosphere.

More monitoring this evening, hopefully without needing R.
 
Hi BJ

I looked up the a/d and it says 13% carbs, so yes it should bump the BG up some, but not like it's dry food or candy bars. As far as calories, 33 calories per ounce (5.5 oz can = 180 cal.). Some of the Sophisticat's is that much or even more. Beef & Liver, for instance says 197cal in a 5.5 oz can. (1% carbs), and Salmon dinner (3%) is 190 cal.
Which flavor Sophisticats are you using to mix the a/d with?

No doubt the a/d is boosting his BG at 13%, but if you were told to feed him the a/d to increase his calories, I'm not sure where they got that logic from, unless Binky's charts are not correct on calories. I'm thinking we can find lots of low-carb options that will provide extra calories better than the a/d carbage.

Carl
 
Just getting him to eat was the intent. I feed the Turkey & Giblets Sophisticat.

He is so frail, I didn't think he could make it to the basement litterboxes. I have crated him with food and water for overnight, so I'll be able to find him in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top