7/10 - Jean Luc Pink Land...

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=73962#p808591

Crossing fingers and paws .. We are on the outskirts of pink land. Perhaps, with more sweet talking we can travel to yellow and green. Oz, here we come!!

Any more thoughts? Who know switching a food schedule could make a big change. :o
 
Looking a little better. It's that crazy Every Cat is Different thing - sometimes food schedules make no difference, sometimes they make a huge difference. I think you are doing great, alternating between 2 and 2.25. Anytime you can get midcycle numbers, it will help you figure it out and decide when/if to increase.
 
Drags..... my chops have been forked.... little dude threw the ball. BGs high at AM& PM PS. He also left food uneaten. Is this normal? Any tricks?
 
Shannon, you have to get us some midcycle numbers. We can't tell whether he is high and flat or whether it's an inverse curve until we see what the insulin does midcycle. Any chance you can set the alarm and get a +6 tonight?

Meanwhile, be sure you are testing for ketones.
 
Last night got +5.5 = 410; +9.75 = 428; PS = +490;
+3 this morning is 445. I will be able to get a better curve today. He did eat 3oz FF Turkey between shot and +2.5ish this morning. Still trying to retest for ketones. He is stealthy.
 
I think I agree. It looks like you aren't getting 12 hours out of a dose. Sometimes an increase will cause a longer duration as well as more drop.
Carl
 
Would it be safe to increase to 2.75 or just 2.5. I was closer to 2.5 this am. The NADIR was 312 which seemed to last from +6 to +8 ish. +9 jumped to 397. I agree it isn't lasting.
Why would he have drops to 100s and now flat in 300s? Has my PZI lost its effectiveness? Am I doing something wrong? Shots in side just below skin. Right side in am. Left side in pm. He has gained some weight and skin is getting tighter so shots are moving lower towards stomach and under shoulder area of front legs.

Vet suggested looking at Glargine as an option. How is it different? Any drawbacks or issues?
 
Vet suggested looking at Glargine as an option. How is it different? Any drawbacks or issues?
Definitely different. If/when you switch to an "L" insulin, a lot of what you have come to think about (what I call "P" thinking) how things work needs to be put out of your mind. Primarily the difference is that dosing is based on the nadir number. And you would be shooting PS numbers below 200 as long as the nadir numbers indicate it is safe to do so. Reductions and increases are based on the mid-cycle numbers, and the PS numbers are not as important. It's something that takes getting used to - thinking that way - but it's the way the insulin works. The duration of Lantus is longer than Prozinc.
Bottom line.... you need to do what is best for Jean Luc. The best thing to do is to talk about this with Libby, LuAnn, Denise and Donna who have already switched recently. They can explain better than I can about how the whole thing is "different". They are living it currently. I've just been following along in their daily threads. But all of them are doing pretty well, at least to my eyes.
A couple other differences. Doses aren't adjusted as often. Holding a dose for a set amount of days is "normal" (3-5 or more days). And it's more important to keep your shots on a 12/12 schedule.

I would go with the 2.5 this cycle, and maybe increase to 2.75 when you are best able to get mid-cycle tests?

I don't think you are doing anything wrong. As long as you are shooting sub-q and you're getting a good tent to shoot into, the locations sound fine.

Carl
 
Why would he have drops to 100s and now flat in 300s? Has my PZI lost its effectiveness?

Just for a minute, forget the colors and look at the amount of drop.
On the AM cycle on the 6th, you had a AMPS of 242, shot 2.0, and he dropped to 6, right? So he dropped 181 points.
Today, your AMPS was 490, and you shot 2.25, and his nadir looks like 312. That's a 178 point drop. So, not different really. On a slightly higher dose, you got the same amount of drop. The colors look better on the 6th, but the curve is about the same top to bottom. The higher numbers can make him more resistant to the insulin, and when that happens, the only way to overcome the resistance is to increase the dose, which you are doing. When you get to a point where you are seeing pink PS numbers, and get a good drop that keeps him under 250 or so for most of the cycle, things will start to improve, and the insulin will be able to "do more with less". It's getting rid of the high numbers that's the problem right now. If your getting the same drop (like I outlined above), then it isn't that the Prozinc has lost its effectiveness. It's still doing something.

Carl
 
Thank you! I shot 2.5U. I recalled awhile back only jump .25 at time. You might miss the right dose otherwise. So far, Ps +409; +4.5 237. Hope this is another flattish curve.

Carl, thank you for the very logical mathematical explanation. I was too close and didn't see that correlation. I have been a bit overwhelmed with trying to do it all correctly. I obviously need to relax. For now, I am remaining with PZI and trying to work with it. No need to change when 1/4 - 1/2 bottle remains and it is still effective.

Many thanks to all....
 
You're welcome Shannan. :smile:
What I try to remind people is that the stress most of you are dealing with is not present from my chair. I remember feeling that way, for sure. But not for the past year or so. So it's "easier" for me to look at SS and notice that sort of thing, because to me, it's numbers rather than "real-have-to-deal-with-it-every-day life".
Everyone looks at SS's differently. Lots of people pick up on things that I don't see, and vice versa. That's the beauty of this board. Lots of eyes that all see things a little bit differently.

It's hard to relax when you're living life in 12 hour segments, Shannan. All you can do is try. And "breathe" like Sue says! :smile:

Carl
 
Good #'s today so far. Just tested +9 is 115.

What should I shoot if he is lower this afternoon at PS?
 
The very first thing you should do is smile really big. :-D
Then you should post your number before shooting most likely a reduced dose.

That should be around 5 pm eastern?

Carl
 
Yes, it is around 5 eastern. Will post close to 4:30. Smiling and taking deep breaths until then.
 
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT How nice! You need to edit your subject line, Shannon, to Jean Luc in Blue land! Hope he gives you a shootable pmps so you can keep this string going.
 
Wow, that's the lowest number you've ever seen preshot...

I almost have to say "you need to skip" but I'm almost sure he'd show you an ugly number tomorrow morning after 24 hours with no insulin. What's your night look like tonight, plans-wise?

I'm wondering if maybe even a token dose like .5u makes more sense than skipping completely.

Sue, anybody else?
Carl
 
A quiet night at home for me.. I'm worried if I skip he will be high after 12 hours as well....
He finished eating roughly 1/2 can ff. Perhaps, that will put him in a safer range.
 
Still crossing fingers.. tested at +2 after .5u BG =376. 2hr after 1/2 can ff turkey.

Tryng to be patient but getting anxious about how high he will go. :?
 
That number is not because of the reduced dose, keep in mind. This dose hadn't started to work by +2. The number is from food, and from the fact that Jean Luc's body is having a hard time remembering what "blue" feels like. Let's see how it goes from here.

Carl
 
OK. So he chose "bounce" this cycle. No worries. It's 12 hours, just a small part of the big picture. Focus on tomorrow when today goes to crap. (I think that's Socrates, but I could be mistaken).

Carl
 
confused_cat Wonder how high it will be at amps? Guess it is a good test of his pancreas and liver?
 
Well, he certainly does bounce. I think the encouraging thing for me is that he surfed for awhile in those lower ranges. I like the dose, Shannan. He wasn't dangerously low but nice blues. He ran long but maybe next time you can postpone the feeding and shoot a little past +12 when he starts up.
 
I know your amps was discouraging, Shannan. He really bounced. BUT he held on to the lower numbers longer through the cycle. In the past he bounced right back up for pmps. Next time, you could chase the number up to the 200s and shoot more a little more than the .5. I am guessing it wouldn't have taken more than a hour or two for him to rise. If he keeps dropping down into the blues midcyle, the theory is that eventually he will get used to those numbers.

There are cats who take two cycles to clear a bounce. Not sure yet whether he is one. If he stays pretty flat this cycle, that may be his pattern. Hopefully he will give you some pretty colors today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top