26/08 Miou, AMPS 94 Dose advise needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elsa

Member Since 2013
Hi all

I am a bit impressed with Miou's numbers. I don't know what to think.

Previous condos New Sugarcat on the block
and Miou has a very low PMPS of 32 - Please advise

So during the weekend due to the small number of test strips I had, I could only measure pre-shot BG, and as planned I shot with 1u only if her PS was >150. This had as a result that Miou was getting 1u on Saturday and Sunday morning, but no shot at night.

Today she had a AMPS of 94!!!! I want to stress the fact that last night she had no shot.
Although I have test strips now, I didn't give her a shot, just fed her, and tested her at +4 (actually the time that would be +4 if she had a shot) and her BG was 121

What do you think might be the case? What should I do? Is it time to reduce to o,75 ?
 
I think her pancreas may be starting to heal but I suspect she isnt ready yet for no insulin at all. She probably will need a little support to keep her going. Perhaps drop her to 0.75 units and see how that goes. Also i would try and get more mid cycle readings to try and see how low she goes even on the 0.75 units. If she drops under 50 we will try reducing the dose further.

Also you might need to start shooting her as low as 75... as long as you can get more tests in when you do ( ie +2) and are ready with syrup and /or HC food just in case.

Wendy
 
ok sorry for getting back so late but the day today was really crazy.

I used the syringe to give Miou her shot. It was my first time. I had watched the video with how to use a syringe with a Lantus pen or vial, so I could pay attention to the critical parts. I also have seen the pictures about the dosing on the syringe, but still eye-balling the quarters is making me a bit unsure about how precisely I am measuring the dose. The plunge was taking the whole space between the 0,5 line and the 1 line. Fine adjusting was almost out of question. Maybe after a few times I will get the hang of it.

Anyway to get to the point, Miou had a 159 PMPS and I gave her a 0,75U. I had the impression it might be a fur shot but her BG now at +2 is 67 so I guess it was not a fur shot.
I will be monitoring and will get an other test in another 2 hours (I hope I won't fall asleep before that).
 
Better get a test in an hour. She is dropping fast. If she is under 50 give 1 tsp of LC mixed with a drop of syrup and retest in 30 minutes. Or a tsp of high carb gravy food if you have it.
 
here is how 0.75 looks by the way - I am assuming your syringes have half unit markings.
5e86c3d4.jpg
 
Yes this is the picture I was refering to.
I have the BD 0.3cc syringes with the half units markings, they don't look exactly like the one on the picture.
Actually the plunge on the BD syringes I have looks a bit thicker than in the picture... that is why I am not sure...
I might have given her a bit less than 0,75, but definitely more than 0,5. :?
I think I have to get a magnifying lens for this job...
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Better get a test in an hour. She is dropping fast. If she is under 50 give 1 tsp of LC mixed with a drop of syrup and retest in 30 minutes. Or a tsp of high carb gravy food if you have it.

oops I just saw that ... off to test her
 
Elsa said:
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Better get a test in an hour. She is dropping fast. If she is under 50 give 1 tsp of LC mixed with a drop of syrup and retest in 30 minutes. Or a tsp of high carb gravy food if you have it.

oops I just saw that ... off to test her

she dropped to 57 I think I should give her a teaspoon of HC anyway
 
Good idea, its still very early in the cycle. Give her 1 tsp and test in an hour as it will have worn off by then and we don't want her dropping low once it does. Also set your alarm. U don't want to sleep through.

I will be here waiting for next test.

tomorrow.. 1/2 unit...

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Good idea, its still very early in the cycle. Give her 1 tsp and test in an hour as it will have worn off by then and we don't want her dropping low once it does. Also set your alarm. U don't want to sleep through.

I will be here waiting for next test.

tomorrow.. 1/2 unit...

Wendy

I could no way fall asleep now, and I really don't know how to thank you for being next to me
I will keep you posted
 
Ok good but get a coffee just in case, also I am wondering about a test in 30mins Too. She should be higher due to the high carb but this will check to be sure.
Also the high carb will wear off and so we will still need the test in an hour in case she does drop again once it does wear off.

Welcome to shooting low. while we wait.. heres some reading http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok good but get a coffee just in case, also I am wondering about a test in 30mins Too. She should be higher due to the high carb but this will check to be sure.
Also the high carb will wear off and so we will still need the test in an hour in case she does drop again once it does wear off.

Welcome to shooting low. while we wait.. heres some reading http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Wendy

Her 30 minute check is at 70, will recheck in an other 30 min, that is an hour after HC food
 
Ok good. Se might come down but let's see. We need two readings rising in a row without high carb food influence before we can relax.

You are doing great!

Wendy
 
ok I read the post about shooting and handling low numbers. I had read it a few days back, but it seemed a too far away situation then... lol little did I know
I was ready to ask you if the half unit for tomorrow would follow the >150 rule, or I could shoot lower since I have test strips... as if you knew, this post actually answers me.
I still get a bit confused about this paragraph "So why the +10's and +11's? Well say you are on day 5 of a dose increase change and your storage shed is now not only full, it is overflowing... and your +10 or +11 was way higher than your preshot. Good way to stay out of trouble cause now you know you would have shot a still dropping number, not a good idea. so what is the plan then?.... keep testing, and not 2 hours later, every 20-30 minutes would be better, so you can catch the minute it turns and do not loose all your overlap. If you miss the rise and cat is way up there BG wise before you shoot, remember the number is just going to continue to rise in those hours before the insulin has a chance to kick in, and you have a roller coaster curve going rather than the flat curve that is ideal.", but I am sure I will get it when I read it tomorrow at daytime

The whole idea of shooting so low, is making me really nervous nailbite_smile
but I guess I will get used to it, after all it's for Miou' s benefit

10 minutes for her next test... ~O)
 
Her +4 and one hour after the HC food is 73...
Should I rinse and repeat after 30' again?
 
I would test in 30 but don't give her any more high carb for now. We want to see if she is rising without it so you can go to bed.she is surfing right now.

I will answer your prior question in another post after this..

Wendy
 
Ok so say you get these results

+11 400
PMPS 100

PMPS is a lot lower than +11. Because you got the +11 you know her numbers are dropping and can plan your next move. Ie skip, or stall. Or if the PMPS is higher you know you are safe to shoot.

If you didnt get the +11 you don't know what's going on and you have to stall and see. You stall as long as you can until the numbers go up, by testing every 20-30minutes. And then you shoot but the insulin doesnt kick in for another few hours! So by stalling you are also messing with your cats lantus shed (depot) and draining it which will affect future numbers.

I always get a +11 when I think Tiggys might be low, so that I know which way he is going when I see the preshot an hour later and can shoot if he is going up, or stall/skip if he is dropping

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok so say you get these results

+11 400
PMPS 100

PMPS is a lot lower than +11. Because you got the +11 you know her numbers are dropping and can plan your next move. Ie skip, or stall. Or if the PMPS is higher you know you are safe to shoot.

If you didnt get the +11 you don't know what's going on and you have to stall and see. You stall as long as you can until the numbers go up, by testing every 20-30minutes. And then you shoot but the insulin doesnt kick in for another few hours! So by stalling you are also messing with your cats lantus shed (depot) and draining it which will affect future numbers.

I always get a +11 when I think Tiggys might be low, so that I know which way he is going when I see the preshot an hour later and can shoot if he is going up, or stall/skip if he is dropping

Wendy

ok I see now

Mious test now was 76... I guess she is rising rather slowly. I will wait an other 30 and test to be on the safe side
 
Sounds good. The HC will have worn off now and she is surfing on her own.

Tomorrow morning give 0.5 if over 150. ... will you be home to test her after that? If not you might want to skip. Also hows your supply of strips?

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Sounds good. The HC will have worn off now and she is surfing on her own.

Tomorrow morning give 0.5 if over 150. ... will you be home to test her after that? If not you might want to skip. Also hows your supply of strips?

Wendy

I will be home and can test a lot, I am on a new pack of strips :smile:
So what if she is <150, I don't shoot even if If I can test her ?
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Maybe if she is over 100 but I am in work tomorrow and the board is quiet at that time so you won't have a lot of support..

yeah it will be late at night for most of the people on the board, I will not take any chances
Just tested her and she is at 81
So Miou can sleep on without me waking her up constantly lol... I will stay up a bit more and then call it a day (or rather a night)
Thank you for your guidance and your help... Miou sends kisses and paws
 
Well get a final test before bed for your peace of mind. She is doing great by the way.. As are you Elsa !

See you tomorrow

Wendy
 
Miou had a AMPS of 130, but I got cold feet and didn't shoot the 0.5U :oops:
I am going ahead reading again about shooting low numbers so that I empower myself
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top