Recently Diagnosed - Need Some Guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah & Junie

Member Since 2013
Good Afternoon, My name is Sarah and my Cat Junie was just recently diagnosed with Diabetes. I’m feeling sad about his condition, but I want to do everything I can to help him. The vet did a blood test on him on Thursday and I went in yesterday to see the results. His BG is currently in the 500 range. I don't have the exact number. I've read quite a bit of information on this site and it’s all been very informative and very helpful. When I pick up his insulin this evening, I plan on also picking up a glucometer and some test strips for home testing. I did purchase some diabetic food from the vet yesterday, a few cans of soft food and a bag of hard food, Its Royal Canin brand. I’m not sure if I’m reading Dr. Piersons chart correctly, but under this brand for an Adult cat it looks like it has 14% carbs. Can somebody please verify that for me? I understand that 14% carbs is a bit high so if that is the case I’m going to get him fancy feast classics and start him on that. I also downloaded the spreadsheet so I can track Junies progress. Junie is about 7 years old and he weighs 11.27 pounds. The vet recommends that I give him 1u of Insulin twice a day. Junie has lost a little weight and muscle mass on the area behind his neck and along his spine. He's always been a little big so I’m not sure what his ideal weight should be.

That’s basically all the background information. I do have a couple questions in regard to home testing. I went through some videos and read some tips on the process although I’m wondering if I should try and poke the vein on his ear or the area in between the vein and the end of his ear? Also I’m a little confused as to when to do the testing. I work 5 days a week from 8 to 5. I’m planning on testing him first thing in the morning when we get up. After the test I’ll feed him then give him his insulin. Off to work I go. When I return in the evening, my plan is to give him another test, feed and then insulin if needed. Then before bed another test. What are your thoughts on that? I would like to give him more than 2 serving a day. My schedule will not allow for me to go home during the day to feed him. Should I give him a little bit a food before bed? Any information that you can provide would be so helpful in my quest to help Junie. Thanks for your time.
 
Hi Sarah, Welcome to the forum. You can get the help you need here. There are many knowledgeable and helpful people.

What kind of insulin was prescribed? We need to know the kind of insulin to make suggestions.

It is much better to feed him wet food than dry food and it should be low carb food. Have you found the links to the food information pages?

http://www.catinfo.org/?link=cannedfoods

Here is some information on testing. I was concerned I would hurt my cat Ozy, but really, he doesn't seem to feel it much.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-test.htm

I wanted you to know you will get help.


donaleen
 
Hello and welcome to the board!

You are correct that 14% calories from carbs is too high - you really want it under 10% for best ability for regulation and possible remission. As you said, the fancy feast classic pates are perfect. Heres a list of suitable foods under 8% : http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=94685

For home testing here is a shopping list. (and if you can share the spreadsheet with us we can help more)

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro.
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast

Here are home testing tips: https://docs.google.com/document/d/13c_CPZVKz27fD_6aVbsguadJKvjSrSAkD7flgPPhEag/pub

What kind of insulin is it? I usually recommend 4 tests a day but it depends on the insulin too...

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe. So with your schedule I am thinking this is about 6.30am and 6.30pm?
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low he is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want him dropping too low (under 50). This may be hard timing wise cos it will be 11.30-1.30 (day or night)
- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what his overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle. If your shot time is 6.30pm then this is 8.30-9.30pm.

For feeding you could buy a timed feeder and leave food out for during the day. Or freeze it and let it defrost. I prefer free feeding or mini meals to help keep the pancreas from having to manage big meals.

Wendy
 
Thanks for the information.

The vet prescribed Lantus for Junie. Im hoping to get a BG reading this evening before he eats. I want to make sure its safe. Im hoping my first try at drawing blood will be a success, but im not sure. I don't think his levels have gone down since he is still drinking lots and lots of water. I will definitely start him on some wet food like Fancy Feast Classic pates. I did take a look at the information pages in regard to the food and found some helpful information.

Thanks for suggesting a timed feeder. I'll look into that. I also think that giving him a mini meal a couple times during the day would be benificial.

Yes, testing will take place at about 6:30am and 6:30pm daily. I can possibly do a mid day test a few days a week, but Im most likely going to have to set my alarm and do it at night.

Thanks again for the helpful advice and information.
 
Hi Sarah and sugar kitty Junie and welcome to the FDMB.

I'm Deb and that tuxie pictured to the right is my sugardude Wink. He eats the Fancy Feast classic pate style food and is doing very well. Lantus is what Wink was on when he still needed insulin. For now, the low carb diet is enough to keep him in normal numbers.

Yes, you are like a lot of people here, that can't test during the day in the middle of the week because of work or other life responsibilities. We just ask that you do the best you can, and try for some of those mid-cycle tests on the weekend and sometimes at night.

We'll work with you and try to make suggestions to fit this new sugardance into your busy schedule. Diabetic cats can live long and healthy lives.

Deep breath, hold, release, deep breath , hold, release, deep breath, hold, release.

It will get easier, and you will develop a routine that will not take up much of your time.

{{{{{Hugs}}}}}
 
You want to aim for the area between the vein and ear edge.

regarding insulin - make sure the vet writes a scrip for solostar pens not vial - because you can go here and sign up for a savings card - be sure to register in the cat's name and list birthdate at least age 18 to qualify for the card - the card will save you tons of money and you can purchase each pen for $25. Most pharmacies will sell insulin pens as a set of 5 pens to a box - so the cost would be $125 instead of over $200. some pharmacies may even sell you one pen at a time.

http://www.lantus.com/sign-up/offers.aspx

and also get the vet to write a scrip for insulin syringes - U100 .3 cc 30 gauge and you can get long or short needles - my preference is short - but there is no right or wrong.

additionally don't let the pharmacy tell you that you must purchase the needles that go with the pens. That is for humans, not kitties.
 
Good Evening,

Just wanted to thank you all for the advice and encouragment.

I sucessfully got a blood sample from Junie this afternoon on my first attempt. What a relief. His BG is at 311. I fed him some Fancy Feast Classic Turkey and Giblets and gave him 1u of insulin. I think were on the right track. In about 2 to 3 hours I plan on giving him another test to check his levels again.
 
Congrats on your first successful test! It took me weeks to be able to regularly get blood from Nikki, so you are way ahead of the curve! :-D

It's great that you are willing to get up at night to test sometimes. I was out of the house 10-11 hours a day too. It was hard to get up at night to test, but so worth it once Nikki went into remission!

Good luck!
 
Congratulations Sarah on your first successful BG test and welcome to the vampire club!
 

Attachments

  • vampire smiley small.jpg
    vampire smiley small.jpg
    9 KB · Views: 727
Good Morning, I tested Junie this morning when we got up and his BG was at 53. That seems really low compared to the 301 he was last night right before bed (10:30pm). Yesterday evening I tested him and his BG was at 311. I fed him then gave him his 1u of insulin. I tested him 3 hours later and he was at 301. I'm thinking the 53 reading is a bit alarming. What are your thoughts. Thank you.
 
That 53 is way to low to give any insulin. Our suggested shoot/no shoot threshold for a new member is 200. No insulin please!

Hopefully, you did not give any insulin this AM? What meter are you using to test?

9/16 PMPS 311 1U +? 301
9/17 AM 53

How many hours later than your evening pre-shot test (PMPS) was that 301? You said 10:30, but we don't know how many hours that was. We all live in different time zones, so we express the test times in a + hour format.

+2 = 2 hours after your shot
+3 = 3 hours after your shot
+x = x hours after your shot

AMPS = morning pre-shot test
PMPS = evening pre-shot test
U = units of insulin given.

You're post says you are using Lantus.
 
Hi Deb,

I did not give Junie insulin this morning. I knew a 53 reading was way too low to give him insulin.

I’m using the Relion testing system and the Relion test strips that I purchased from Wal-Mart yesterday.

On 9/16 PMPS test Junie was at 311 I fed him then gave him 1 u of insulin. +3 he was at 301

This morning 9/17 I have him a test first thing and he was at 53. I fed him, but did not give him insulin. Before I left for work about 1 1/2 hours later I have him another test. This time it read 96. I will definitely not give him insulin for anything under 200. I didn't expect his GB to drop this much over night, I’m wondering if it’s because I changed his food. He is typically not picky when it comes to dry or wet food. Before the diagnosis I was giving him a little bit of both. Yesterday for din I just gave him 1 3oz can of Fancy Feast Classic brand food. Your thoughts on this issue are much appreciated. Thanks for your time.
 
When the pre-shot test is too low to shoot, and you wait 30 minutes without feeding, re-test, and are still too low to shoot, this may suggest a dose decrease is in order.

You're giving 1 unit BID; maybe tonight, shave it down to 0.75 units. You'll have to eyeball it, as the syringes do not mark quarter units.
 
Thank you for the suggestion. I will check his BG this evening when I get home and see where he is at. He may just need a smaller dose of Insulin. He's only had one dose of insulin so I think its weird that his levels dropped so quickly over night. Im wondering if perhaps low carb food will bring him out of the woods and if the insulin is really necessary. Its probably way too soon to tell. He did drink water last night as he has been doing everynight although he didn't need to use his litter box this morning which I thought was a little odd.
 
If that's the result after only 1 shot of Lantus, drop it down to 0.5 units. Lantus effects build up in the system, ie are cummulative.
 
Lantus takes a few days to reach optimal levels in the cats system - its a depot insulin. So given you only gave 1 shot that tells us that the insulin dose is too high to start - We need to find a dose you can shoot consistently.

I agree with BJ, maybe try 0.5 units for now.. unless he drops below 50 in which case I would reduce again.
 
Sarah,

Maybe the diet change WILL be enough for Junie. It happens that way some times, to the lucky ones.
 
Junie didn't need his little box last night although he drank a lot of water like he usually does. When I came home this evening, I noticed he threw up during the day. Im wondering if he threw up cause I changed his food or because of the insulin? Maybe I should give him a little of his old food and some of his new food. When I tested him this evening he was at 289. I think I'll try 0.5 units of insulin this time.

It would me so great if just changing his diet did the trick. I'll keep you all posted. Thank you!
 
Food changes should be gradual to avoid GI upsets ... like vomiting.

And if he's not eating predictably, I'd hold the small insulin dose unless he is over 200 mg/dL and has been able to keep food down.

If he is over 200 and not eating, I'd be inclined to give 0.25 units (some vets, when asking you to fast an animal, will have you halve the insulin dose)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top