Meet Kabaret : 567 at PMPS :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimouette

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,

Someone saw a video I put on Youtube explaining how to test a cat with a glucometer, and contacted me today.
Her name is Sylvie. she only speaks French so there's no way she can ask questions here and understand the answers, so I'm writing this message for her.

Her cat's name is Kabaret, he is 12 years old and weighs 16 pounds. I havent seen the cat but she assures me that he is not fat and that she can feel his ribs with her fingers... I doubt this is true with such a weight, but anway, that's not the problem right now.

On March 19th Kabaret was diagnosed with diabetes. He was put on Caninsulin 3U AM + PM.
Until today, he was fed half Royal Canin diabetes (dry kibbles) and half pouches of wet food called Almo Nature. On March 19th, his BG was 579 and his ALT was above average.
Fructosamine was 521 (normal range 191-349)

On April 4th, Kabaret stopped eating and was puking a lot. So Sylvie brought him back to the vet where they sort of diagnosed a pancreatitis. The cat was so stressed and aggressive that they could not do an ultrasound of his pancreas (which is why I say they "sort of diagnosed" a pancreatitis).
They gave him a shot of emepride and convenia and asked Sylvie to give him Serenia et zitac for couple of days.
Couple of days later the cat was feeling better, no more puking and instead of anorexia, the cat started to be very very hungry. His BG was 573.

Now both Sylvie and I are worried about Kabaret's diabetes. This is her first day with a glucometer, and she managed to test him twice today :
417 at +5
567 at PMPS
She will do her best to test at +3 and +4 tonight and tomorrow she will try to do a curve.

I asked her to stop feeding him kibbles right away, so now the cat is eating only Almo. If the nutritional analysis stated on the label is right, it is less than 1% carb, but I doubt this is true since it contains rice and the total is above 100% if we addition all the values. But anyway, it's supposed to be better then Royal Canin dry kibbles!
But of course, since I asked her to remove the kibbles, I also asked her to decrease the dosage of insulin. So tonight, instead of 3U he has received 1U. Normally I would be scared of hypos, but honestly now I am scared of hyperglycemia... What if the numbers wont drop?

Oh and I also asked her to go the pharmacy tomorrow to get KetoDiatix strips...

What do you guys think? Am I forgetting something? What would be your recommendation for the next couple of hours or days in terms of insulin... How fast should we start increasing the dosage? Should we increase the dosage tomorrow morning if the +3 and +4 tonight are still above X ?

Thanks a lot for helping us!
Kim (and Sylvie)
 
Ok so the tests are done for tonight:
PMPS : 567
Received 1U of insulin instead of 3U
+3: 462
+4: 504

I know we dont usually increase dosage only one cycle after the cat has stoppd eating high carb food, but would you guys agree that this kitty deserves an increase tomorrow morning? 1.5U for example? Or am I going too fast?
 
As long as she can monitor, it seems like an increase would be a good idea. The numbers are certainly high. The food change can make a difference, but if she tests, she can react if he drops lower. I haven't heard of that food but if it has rice, it probably is higher carb.

And the keyone tests are definitely a good idea if you are reducing the dose and getting high numbers, especially with other meds on board.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top