7/13 bailey amps 293 +9 253 PMPS 289.Something is wrong

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

There's something wrong with bailey. He has lost 1/2lb in the last couple of weeks and then started drooling. I also thought he may be eating less.his BG was staying high and I increased his insulin dose. Initially I attributed it to an increase in his enzymes so I reduced the enzyme dose back to where it was.

Then his eating went back to normal as did his BG and I reduced his insulin dose again. I thought the issue had passed.

He was ok a few days and no more weight loss (although he is so so skinny and bony) but then today the drooling started again and I found he had peed on the sofa. And he is picky eating again..

I am calling the vet tomorrow. Any ideas?
 
Is it possible he has a dental issue? A bad tooth can cause drooling and not eating and thus weight loss.

Sending prayers.
 
The peeing could be a UTI. I'm sending vines your way that whatever is wrong can be fixed quickly.
 
Could also be nausea causing the drooling too....and anytime our kitties feel bad, they can have problems with inappropriate elimination problems.

So many possibilities....I sure hope your vet can figure out what's going on with Bailey

Sending good vetty vines for tomorrow!
 
My first thought was dental but it really could be anything. Labs and a good physical exam by your vet will help narrow down the possibilities.
 
Sending loads of vetty vines for Bailey :YMHUG: Inappropriate elimination and drooling can sometimes be from crystals and blocking or UTI, but could be anything. I hope your vet finds the problem quickly so Bailey can feel better soon!
 
He has a vet appointment on Wednesday - I will keep you updated!

Meanwhile though he is quite happily eating as many treats as he is allowed (which isn't many as he can't process them without enzymes and gets diarrhea) and running around chirping like nothing is wrong..

Wendy
 
Check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some home assessments which vets may ask about (eating & drinking, elimination, behavior, weight changes, dehydration checks and more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top