Jean and Squiggy
Member Since 2010
This is Jen from Jennifer and Spunky who hid for 2 years in the high dose group...if you don't recognize us. My Best friend Jean's cat just got diagnosed with diabetes. I'm getting her set up with this login she is a little overwhelmed right now!
Squiggy: 20 year old male orinch tabby
Declining health, may have had two strokes in the last few months (after vet saw weird problems with his eyes). Jean noticed very swollen legs right side only, persisted about 5 days and DB said ok to take to vet (his cat). They thought he was going to need to cross the bridge soon. Vet did CBC, said all kidney and liver values were normal, but he was diabetic. I don't know the level of BG the vet had.
Appearance: classic pot belly, sway back, and greasy fur. Has cataracts. He has bad teeth..I'm sure...they are unlikely to be able to do a dental. Sweet natured big buddy! He looks like he could have acromegaly features...but I'm biased :roll: (doubt it)
Given PZI..in a weird bottle like it was hand dispensed...can't see writing underneath the label..all I know is it is not idexx! Dose 1 unit every 12 hours. The vet wants her to bring in Squiggy 6 days later to get just a +8 nadir reading (not a curve).
I've got her hometesting! Yea Jean!!!! Yea Squiggy for being such an easy loaf to test!
8/14pm 1 unit
8/15am: 1 unit +4 269 (first test)
+6.5 220
PMPS +12 282 = 1 unit
8/16 AMPS +12 73 = NO shot
PMPS +12 309 = 1 unit
She will be able to do a curve on Saturday, she is going to ask the vet if he can stay home and do home testing....a pretty rural vet so keep your paws crossed! Using Spunky's freestyle lite meter.
Any advice for dosing?...I'm used to high dose sliding scale...so I've told her not to dose under 150 til we know more. Haven't gotten into subject of u100 syringes yet....looks like we may be heading that way.
Food: had access to kibble high carb but has not been eating lately because of teeth (missing many). Was eating relatively low carb wet food already. Vet wants DM but he is currently on carb 6 or less from janet and binkys chart and no dry. I've suggested a can and half of fancy feast size a day.
I'm truly amazed he has no kidney issues!!!! He is a very old 20....cute as an elderly cat can get!
Thanks!
Jen and Jean
Squiggy: 20 year old male orinch tabby
Declining health, may have had two strokes in the last few months (after vet saw weird problems with his eyes). Jean noticed very swollen legs right side only, persisted about 5 days and DB said ok to take to vet (his cat). They thought he was going to need to cross the bridge soon. Vet did CBC, said all kidney and liver values were normal, but he was diabetic. I don't know the level of BG the vet had.
Appearance: classic pot belly, sway back, and greasy fur. Has cataracts. He has bad teeth..I'm sure...they are unlikely to be able to do a dental. Sweet natured big buddy! He looks like he could have acromegaly features...but I'm biased :roll: (doubt it)
Given PZI..in a weird bottle like it was hand dispensed...can't see writing underneath the label..all I know is it is not idexx! Dose 1 unit every 12 hours. The vet wants her to bring in Squiggy 6 days later to get just a +8 nadir reading (not a curve).
I've got her hometesting! Yea Jean!!!! Yea Squiggy for being such an easy loaf to test!
8/14pm 1 unit
8/15am: 1 unit +4 269 (first test)
+6.5 220
PMPS +12 282 = 1 unit
8/16 AMPS +12 73 = NO shot
PMPS +12 309 = 1 unit
She will be able to do a curve on Saturday, she is going to ask the vet if he can stay home and do home testing....a pretty rural vet so keep your paws crossed! Using Spunky's freestyle lite meter.
Any advice for dosing?...I'm used to high dose sliding scale...so I've told her not to dose under 150 til we know more. Haven't gotten into subject of u100 syringes yet....looks like we may be heading that way.
Food: had access to kibble high carb but has not been eating lately because of teeth (missing many). Was eating relatively low carb wet food already. Vet wants DM but he is currently on carb 6 or less from janet and binkys chart and no dry. I've suggested a can and half of fancy feast size a day.
I'm truly amazed he has no kidney issues!!!! He is a very old 20....cute as an elderly cat can get!
Thanks!
Jen and Jean