Low blood glucose in the morning

Status
Not open for further replies.

dholowiski

Member Since 2010
So Tiger Lily has been on insulin for about two weeks. This morning i tested her blood - before eating it was 113, and now 1/2 hour after eating it is 86.4! I have NOT given her insulin this morning. she did eat almost her whole meal.
I am watching her very closely and so far she is acting normal... Do I need to start worrying about hypoglycaemia yet? I'm going to re-test in 1/2 an hour.

It is great to see her not needing her insulin today... but worrying to see this drop after eating, without insulin.
 
Good Morning those are pretty numbers to wake up to. The fact that she was able to drop herself with just food is a GOOD sign, she maybe, just maybe headed to OTJ. Since food caused her numbers to drop t would suggest that her pancreas is beinging to wake up again.Keep testing her every couple of hours but don't give insulin unless she gets above 150 and then only a small amount...I don't remember which insulin you have her on.

Mel & Max
 
dholowiski said:
So Tiger Lily has been on insulin for about two weeks. This morning i tested her blood - before eating it was 113, and now 1/2 hour after eating it is 86.4! I have NOT given her insulin this morning. she did eat almost her whole meal.
I am watching her very closely and so far she is acting normal... Do I need to start worrying about hypoglycaemia yet? I'm going to re-test in 1/2 an hour.

It is great to see her not needing her insulin today... but worrying to see this drop after eating, without insulin.

No worries :smile: 113 and 86 without insulin are great numbers to have :thumbup Seems like your cat has a pancrease that does still produce its own insulin. You do not need to worry about a hypo since no insulin has been given. If you want, test bgs a few random times today to get an idea of how your cat is doing with no insulin.

When it is time for the PM insulin injection, be sure to test the bg. Newbies should not give any insulin if the bg is under 200 mg/dl (11 mmol). If you are unsure or want to double check, post here on the board and someone will provide help.

Do you have a spreadsheet for your cat? If not, set one up so that you can track your cat's bg levels. The Tech form has instructions on how to set up a Google spreadsheet
 
two additional things. 1) she can't go hypo with no insulin on board, and secondly you only have to really worry about hypo on insulin if her numbers get down to the 40-50ish range. But if you haven't given her any insulin since last night, then she won't hypo.

Mel & Max
 
Thanks for the fast replies! It is good to hear that I don't need to worry about a hypo if I haven't given her insulin.
She is on caninsulin (vetsulin) - we haven't even had time to change to something better.
I have been keeping a spreadsheet but not the one recommended - I didn't t like it so I had to make my own :) the spreadsheet does show a slow decrease, but this morning was the first time below the magic 200.

I will of course keep testing obsessively. Here's hoping we get to skip tonight's shot too!
 
Fingers and paws crossed that we will soon be doing the OTJ dance for Tiger Lily. I'll have the boys tune up their instruments and the girls make sure their tutus are washed and fluffed just in case we are called on to do the OTJ dance...lol

Just keep testing and let us know how its going...we love OTj dancing here. :RAHCAT Good work!

Mel & Max
 
Before supper test was 118... testing again in a bit, fingers crossed.
 
awesome amps and pmps!

again, tonight's number is too low to give insulin so if you want you can test again in a bit for data collection, otherwise, take the night off and see what tomorrow brings :-)
 
:thumbup So far so good! Keeping paws crossed and the OTJ dancers on stand-by. :-D Tell Tiger Lily if she can keep this up for 2 weeks we get to throw her a Party!!!!!!

Mel & Max
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top