Jayne's BG is 157 -- considering skipping PZI tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi. I recall someone telling me here last week that if Jayne's BG is under 200, I should not administer any insulin. She's at 157 a half hour after eating. I have been giving her one unit PZI BID. Just checking to see if anyone has any objection to skipping her dose tonight. Many thanks for any help.
 
Daphne, can you give us some more info? What was your amps? How much insulin? How long have you been testing and what kinds of numbers are you seeing?

Usually with brand new diabetics, we say no shot under 200- but if possible, wait 30 minutes (without feeding) and test again. If you are getting good numbers, skipping can set you back. Waiting to see if it will rise is a good idea, if you can.

Can we help you get a spreadsheet started? It makes these kinds of questions so much easier to answer quickly.
 
Hi Daphne & Jayne -- Welcome to FDMB! I'm still a newbie myself and not qualified to give dosing advice - others who come along shortly may be better able to do so. But given that her 157 is 1/2 hour after having eaten, it could be a food induced number and I would agree with skipping tonight's shot. Just be aware that tomorrow morning her AMPS number will most likely be a little higher.

EDIT: Looks like Sue and I answered at the same time. Please disregard me and trust Sue. She is the best!
 
Thanks, Sue, for your fast reply. Her last BG was at 269 this morning at +4 --didn't get a pre-dose level this morning. Last night it was at 256 pre-dose.

Yes, can you please tell me where I can find a blank version of the spreadsheet? I've been looking at others' spreadsheets for PZI but haven't been able to locate the blank one yet and have been keeping a basic journal. Thanks again! This glucometer is my new best friend, next to you and all the folks here... : )
 
Good catch, Laura. I missed the feeding part. Agree completely. If you have fed and still are in the 150s, you should skip.

Don't react to a higher number tomorrow with a higher dose. Often with PZI, if you get a pmps too low to shoot, you should consider reducing the dose.

Did you get a number before feeding?
 
Thanks, Sue and Laura, for taking the time to respond. I gave Jayne just under 1 unit this morning. I will skip tonight and test again int he morning.

No, I didn't test Jayne before her dinner, just after, before the shot time. Should I be testing before dinner and after, too? Also, please let me know about the spreadsheet when you get a chance. Thanks again.
 
Here is the spreadsheet: Setting up a spreadsheet If you have trouble, just send me a pm. I'd be glad to help.

Glad you are testing. Try to always get a preshot number. Once you feed her, the number is influenced by the food. You want a "real" number to decide the dose. It's test, feed and shoot.

Once you get your spreadsheet up, you could come over to the PZI forum and have others look at it and help out when you need it. viewforum.php?f=24
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top