FOOFOO and I need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

unwrapped21

Member Since 2011
I have a 15 year old cat who was diagnosed in Dec2010 with diabeties. I have been giving him insilin starting out at 1/2 now up too 4 units. I have switched to a dry low carb natural food. It is one that all my 6 other cats can eat too. My questions are. I have seen no change in reading. ( I home test) for months now all i get is (HI) on the meter. He take the shots fine still plays (very little)( but he is 15). He was 17 pounds untill Dec then he went to about 5 or 6. thats why i ttok him in. I dont know what to do and my vet has told me I have to just wait and put him down when he gets real bad. But I still think there is more that can be done. Am I right? Thank you for any help that i can get.

Signed
Still Hoping
 
Re: FOOFOO

There is a lot you can do. Our protocol has helped hundreds of cats into remission or regulation. We advocate wet lo carb. Even a dry lo carb is not good for diabetic cats and can keep blood glucose levels high. See this website by a FD vet: www.catinfo.org. All your cats would be healthier on a wet diet. There are lots of posters here who feed multiple cats on a budget.

It is wonderful that you are hometesting. What insulin are you using and at what dose? Are you testing for ketones? ketones There are a number of possibilities. There are cats who rebound if they start on too high of a dose: Rebound There are cats who have other medical conditions that require a lot of insulin or cause insulin resistance: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=375

Once you tell us your insulin and dose and give us an idea of what numbers you are seeing, we may be able to help you help FooFoo. You say you always get HI. Have you taken tests mid cycle - are they HI also?

PS You might change your subject line to something like My cat FooFoo or something. I thought it might be Spam...
 
Re: FOOFOO

There is plenty of hope to be had and you have come to the right place. I havent had a diabetic kitty in a long time so I will leave the more experienced people to make proper suggestions. I just want you to know that diabetes is NOT a death sentence. There is help for your Foo Foo.

You might want to start reading the FAQ's and get ready for a bunch of questions because there are people here willing to help you help Foo Foo.

Again WELCOME,
jeanne
 
First of all thank you! FooFoo is on PZI insilin and is up to 4 units twice a day. I have not even heard of Keytone's untill now. My cat does Drink like no other and peez anywhere he wants. Ihave 2 large boxes and he will use them to poop sometimes. But he really does pee alot. The vet told me it was his diabeties dooing that. As for the tests since Feb every reading at anytime says Hi. Before the food switch i was getting reading of not under 420 mostly 530's. his food was a urninary tract food by purina one. I have cat with really bad UTI. I hope that helps. I have found that the carbs on that are very high. Thank you again.

Sandy
 
What dose did you start with? We suggest starting at one unit twice daily and increasing by .5 units to find the best dose.

If I were you, I would read the inks you have been given. The catinfo link discusses diets for UTI kitties also, and wet lo carb is considered best. When we swItched Oliver from dry to wet, he went down 100 points overnight.

I assume you are taking the reading before each shot? Do you have any numbers for mid cycle? (4-6 hours after the shot?). That number tells you how low the insulin is taking FooFoo.
 
Hi Sandy, Some Vets just dont know enough about this disease. They have to know a lot about a lot of different things in animals and they just dont have the time to read up on particular things. The people here can help you help Foo Foo. It may take a leap of faith to trust people who are not Vets but DO deal with this diasease daily.

They helped me and it was a Godsend. My kitty passed a long time ago, yet I am still here trying to pay forward the kindness shown me.

Help is here. There are NO dumb questions.

jeanne
 
Foo Foo started out on 1 unit twice per day and over the next few months we have increased slowly to the 4 units twice per day. I take reading at anytime now and i get hi. Ihave not had a reading other then that since Jan. I think I will try him on some canned food this weekend while im at home to watch him. I work form 7-7 M-F. He gets his shots at 7 and 7. Thanks
 
unwrapped21 said:
Foo Foo started out on 1 unit twice per day and over the next few months we have increased slowly to the 4 units twice per day. I take reading at anytime now and i get hi. Ihave not had a reading other then that since Jan. I think I will try him on some canned food this weekend while im at home to watch him. I work form 7-7 M-F. He gets his shots at 7 and 7. Thanks


Is it possible your insulin is not 'fresh'....has it been stored properly ?

Also, have you tested yourself with the meter to validate that it
is giving good readings.

Something is fishy here....are your test strips good ? Stored in their original
container until just before use.
 
I agree with Karen something is amiss here.

And please know that when I changed to can food my kitty's BG readings dropped 100 points or more. I had to cut his dose of insulin in half or he would have gone dangerously low. PLEASE take a reading before shooting ANY insulin after changing Foo Foo's diet.
 
Sandy,

Where are you (city, state). It might be of great benefit if one of our nearby
members could test your cat with a different meter....one that is known to work.

I'm just suspicious of your test results.
 
I have tested my self and several of my other cats. I thought someting was wrong with the meter too. As for storing my insilin. I keep it in the fridge in the little cheese holder in the door. I will do more reading up on this subject. Thanks to you all so far. I know now more then the vet ever bothered telling me. Errr. I live near Pratt Kansas. If that is helpful.
Sandy
 
unwrapped21 said:
I have tested my self and several of my other cats. I thought someting was wrong with the meter too. As for storing my insilin. I keep it in the fridge in the little cheese holder in the door. I will do more reading up on this subject. Thanks to you all so far. I know now more then the vet ever bothered telling me. Errr. I live near Pratt Kansas. If that is helpful.
Sandy

If its in the door, it is being moved every time you open and close the door; this contributes to the degradation of the insulin. Store it on a shelf instead. Also, you mention that it has been a few months. I suspect it is time to change the insulin.
 
Wow didn't even think about it being moved in the door. And I just got this new bottle about a week ago. I have to get a new one every 30 days or so.

Sandy
 
If you think your vet is open to it, and because vets can't know everything, it may be helpful to bring in articles that are posted here about the protocol we use.
 
unwrapped21 said:
I have switched to a dry low carb natural food. It is one that all my 6 other cats can eat too.

I recommend changing your cat's diet to low carb canned or raw food. Even a low carb dry food can significantly increase the BG levels more than canned or raw foods. However, if you do switch to canned or raw food, you should also reduce your insulin dose to prevent hypoglycemia. All of your cats will benefit from a canned or raw food diet
 
Just wanted to let eveyone know how this weekend went. I gave FooFoo canned food low carb twice a day. Took readings evvery 2 hours. He started with HI and went to 588 then down to 433. So I am finally getting a number on the meter. I will keep him on the canned food and keep taking readings. I have backed the juice to 2 units twice a day. and will keep trying anything I can. Thanks
 
I might help for you to start a spreadsheet to track your numbers. It is especially good to record type of food fed etc in the remarks column so you can record any differences. Setting up a spreadsheet It will help you keep track of patterns and is a huge help to us when you ask for advice. If you need help, just ask.

If you are going to go down in dose, be sure to test for ketones: ketones I would not stay at the lower dose for more than a few cycles unless you see some movement downward.

Have we sure shared the PZI dose info with you: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top