Need advice on PM ProZinc dose & timing

Status
Not open for further replies.

sophie

Active Member
Hi.

Finally, got Pudge's SS up (10 yo male, DX 12/17/2011 with FD, no other illnesses, no ketones, large kitty but overweight at 18 lbs - vet says he needs to lose 3-4 lbs). I would appreciate other eyes and brains taking a look at his ss!! His numbers went up high over the past few days and I increased the dose of ProZinc. Moreover, I messed up this morning, fell asleep. Consequently, he was fed before his AMBG was taken and his ProZinc 1.8 unit was administered 1.5 hour late at which time his BG was 500. Should I stick with 1.8 unit? Or go down to 1.6u? I'm concerned because at +10 overnight he was at 209 - ReliOn monitor. He has a good appetite, plays, grooms himself, but started large pees again, gets fed wet BeforeGrain chicken, turkey or quail and 100% chicken treats.

Thank you very much for your time and effort. Hi to all the kitties.

Sophie
 
Hi Sophie. :smile:

It's hard for me to see what is working on Pudgie with all the dose changes. Usually we stick to a dose for a few days and try to catch patterns. Hopefully someone with more experience will be on soon and can help. :smile:
 
You started out at a higher dose than is recommended here.

I would start over at 1 unit and join us in the PZI ISG.

What did your PMPS end up to be?
 
Hello, thank you! Thanks for the invitation. I'm in California and will have the PMBG in about an hour. I'm freaked out over the 500+ numbers, although this morning's I understand since it was after eating - don't want any ketones. Looking back back, I suspect that Pudge's diabetes may be of a much longer duration than we all think. He's simply a very strong cat who might have had it for much longer than it appears. I'm looking for a new vet in the Pasadena, CA, area. Still working on reviewing his ss.

Sophie
 
hello Sohpie and kitty cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: welcome to FDMB and to pzi ;-)

I noticed on kittys ss that you commented a few times ( wet shot) does that mean not all the insulin got in ( fur shot ?) if so what syringes are you using u-40 which is what you are suppose to use for prozinc BUT you can also use u-100 syringes with a conversion chart they have 1/2 unit markings and shorter needles :smile: the kind I use for callie is 3/10cc 31 gauge 8 mm you can get them at walmart for around 12.50 for 100 . If they are fur shots or partial fur shots you don't really know how much kitty is getting and you can't give another shot you have to wait 12 hours, that could be affecting his numbers !
 
Hello,
Rob, tonight Pudge's PMBG was 409. It would be difficult for me to dial back to 1 unit, although I realize that FDMB advises go slow approach. He simply appears to be more active and agile, more his old self, at these higher dosages. It's like the numbers tell one story and his activity level tells another. Of course, I understand that it's easy to add insulin but there is no way to take it out once administered. I've followed several hypo threads with my fingers crossed. I'm about to give up my cable and newspaper for Pudge, so I'm open to anything that will help him.

Marty, right now I'm using u-100 shorter needle with 1/2 markings syringes. Had to change because Pudge for now is extra sensitive to the shots and these are slightly smaller plus easier to use with the conversion chart from ProZinc's U-40 units.
Yes, unfortunately, I had several fur shots and waited the extra 12 hours for the next injection! I understand that could explain some of his numbers. Many thanks for your welcome, questions and suggestions, Marty. Many years ago, I also had a cat named Callie, an absolute delight! As was his sister, Clee.

Teresa, thanks! Right you are about the dose switches!

Sophie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top