Newbie Requesting Feedback

Status
Not open for further replies.

yodasmom09

New Member
On Friday, I found out my 17 year-old Yoda is diabetic. It was detected through a urinalysis I requested due to an increase in urine output. My vet prescribed ProZinc, 1 unit BID. I came home and started him on it, then (like so many others) started to research what I needed to do for my Yoda. I am a non-insulin-dependent diabetic, so I already had the glucometer, test strips, ketostix, etc, as well as a good grasp of what this disease is and does, but have never had a diabetic cat. I tested Yoda on Saturday morning and his BG was 595 before his injection. I continued to monitor thoughout the day, but the lowest he got was 383 (a definite improvement, but still too high for my comfort). I also monitored his urine for ketones and he was negative every time. I called my vet this morning to inquire if I should increase the amount of PZI to 1.5 units and gave Yoda's BG numbers. My vet told me that the human glucometers are not accurate enough to use for a cat and that I should do the PZI at 1 unit BID for at least two weeks before worrying about BG values. This does not seem "right" to me, but I am completely new to this and was looking for feedback from more experienced voices. Yoda eats Blue Wilderness Kitten Food (canned) and also has intestinal lymphoma controlled with prednisolone (which complicates his nutrient absorbtion and is likely a contributor to his diabetic state). Any thoughts? Thanks!

Yodasmom
 
Hi, and welcome from another Yoda's Mom. My Yoda is a 13 year old calico, and she is not the diabetic in my household.

Your kitty is on a good, slow-acting insulin, and a 1 unit dose to start is a good starting place. There will be more people on to help you later, but I couldn't resist replying to Yoda's mom, and welcoming you to a good place for you to find in your journey to help your extra sweet kitty.

Your vet is right in saying you need to try the 1 unit dose a while...it does take a while for it to kick in. And very good that you are testing. What glucometer do you use? We find human meters fine for testing our kitties....we know that they do not give the exact same reading you will get at the vet. However, I would take my meter in to the vet's office and we would test at the same time, and my meter (Relion from Walmart) was always just around 20 below what the vet would get with his AlphaTrak. But that was when my kitty was about to go into remission, so his readings were getting pretty lower. The higher the reading, probably would get more of a difference. But it certainly is good to know where their BG is before you shoot them, to keep them going into the dreaded hypoglycemic numbers. I don't test my kitty but about weekly now, as he, thankfully, went into remission after about a month of treatment on Prozinc.
 
Welcome! I agree that you need to give the dose a while to settle. While he is running in higher numbers, it would be wise to test for ketones: ketones

Because he needs to continue on steriods, you will need to strike a balance between the insulin and the steroid to keep him healthy and in nice numbers. But you need a baseline first, and several days on insulin, getting preshot numbers and mid cycle numbers whenever possible will help.

Almost every one here uses a human glucometer and they are close enough. We are looking for trends and patterns and recognize there is a 20% variance with any meter. Human meters are so much cheaper than the pet versions and easier to get supplies for.

Here's some homework: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799 It's a massive document on ProZinc - how it works, how to dose - pretty much everything. Read in small doses and ask questions.

I can't find the carb count for Blue Wilderness Kitten food in our food charts: Janet and Binky’s chart The ingredients look low carb - no grains or gravy.

You now have a new support group for you and Yoda. We would love to help you help your kitty.
 
When first starting on insulin shots, it's frustrating to see those same high numbers and we were expecting a drop in them right away.

The numbers will not be the first to improve but many other things will.

Watch for an improvement in the urine output, and the appetite to adjust. You will see an improvement in the coat, and what will be the best is to see some old habits start to return.

Not many cats are dx quickly and there's really no way to know how long your cat's been in those high numbers as cats are experts at hiding their ills. Very gradually, some of they habits will stop and you will not notice they stopped until they return!

It is that kind of sign you will see at the start. The better numbers will follow soon afterwards.
 
The key word is patience. If you raise the dose too quickly, you can easily miss the right dose for Yoda. You may very well need more insulin because of the steroids, but don't jump the gun.

As to the glucometer, human ones are good enough to track trends and catch possible hypos. And they are cheaper, too. The next time you take Yoda to the vet, take your glucometer and do a comparison.
 
Welcome to the FDMB family! cat_pet_icon

Using a human glucometer is just fine, as it gives us a trend of numbers to know how our sugar babies are using the insulin...and how to dose. The human meter may not be as exact as a pet meter, but the cost is sure worth the slight different in numbers! :lol:

When you get a chance, pop on over to the PZI board. We're a small but growing and friendly family. :-D

Welcome again! cat_pet_icon
 
Hi Yoda's Mom! I'm Sab's Mama, and he was diagnosed on the 8th. He got his very first dose of insulin this evening! Like you, I am also diabetic. I've also worked in the nursing profession (previous career) and know all the human jargon & ways to deal with diabetes... in humans. It's like another world now lol

Here's to Yoda's and Sebastian's journey to being well again! ~O)
 
A huge thanks to all who replied! It is comforting to have such a great welcome and know that I have a network of support and "the voice of experience" to draw upon. The vets strongly suggested putting him an a DM diet, but (after looking at the nutritional label) I am going to keep him on his current food. Yoda is taking his PZI well and we are waiting a couple weeks to give his body a chance to adjust before doing another glucose curve. I am checking his blood glucose BID before administering insulin. Thanks again!

Yodasmom09
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top