Schmitty at 259 this morning-dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chippy

Member Since 2012
Good morning

I just tested Schmitty and he is at 259. If you see my posts from last night, I gave too much insulin and he was down to 33 at +3. I will be putting together a ss this am but would appreciate some advice before I shoot Was looking at .5 or 1 cc?

Thanks, Mary
 
Hi - glad you managed last night. I concur with what others have suggested, and because of the recent drama, I'm leaning toward staying with 0.5U for now. Hopefully you can get your hypo kit stocked today, even if you never need it again!

I have a meeting in an hour and am frantically preparing for it, but will check back on you later.

Just to be sure -- you are shooting 0.5U and NOT 0.5 cc, correct? Can you describe your syringe and to which point you are drawing up the insulin?

thanks!
MJ
 
Mary

Please see my earlier post....it is safest to shoot .5u for now...he got into double digits on it. It could possibly be shed but we won't know until he's on it for a bit and we can see a SS.
 
Good morning Mary, you did a great job last night. I'm glad Marje was there, sorry I dropped out but I was wiped out from the night before. Bounces are frustrating, but they happen especially in the beginning. :? And they actually give the humans a little break. I'm glad you shot the .5U, it is better to work gradually up to the proper dose than take the chance of a hypo by starting too high. As others said, after all that went on last night, Schmitty may bounce for a couple of days. Don't worry it's the Sugardance.

Here is a link to yesterday's thread. Having 2 threads going can get confusing. You can change the way the subject shows in the list by going to the first post and clicking the edit button. Then just change that old condo's subject, add "old condo" to the end or "yesterday" so people know to look for the new condo. We usually start a new condo (thread) every day so things don't get too long. Your's looks great this morning. Then throughout the day we add the additional tests to the first subject line. It is a quick way for others to keep an eye on Schmitty.

Could you please give the post shot time in hours though, one hour past the shot is +1, two hours is +2, …… The test just before shooting is AMPS (AM preshot) or PMPS (PM preshot). Soooo, that 259 is +11? or closer to the shot time?
 
I'm trying to get all my numbers on a SS and post it, but I'm having a little problem(but have someone helping me)

THe 259 was AMPS then I gave him .5 units
+2 - 245

I haven't pricked him anymore today(ears are probably sore from last night) I will test at PMPS and then go with the .5 units.

Thanks! Also thanks for teaching me the ropes...I'm sure it will take a while to get everything down right.
 
Thank you so much Mary for doing the SS. It makes it much clearer.

Question: what does it mean on the SS when you have an "X" in the units the night of 5/25 and the morning of 5/27? Does it mean you didn't shoot? If so, could you please just change that to "NS" which means "no shot"?

Could you please get a +10 or +11 on him tonight so we know where he might be headed before you shoot? Thanks, Mary.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top