215 PMPS - when should I test?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Denise & Honey, Oct 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Denise & Honey

    Denise & Honey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Just had lowest pre-shot number - 215.

    I figured that (i) she's still adjusting to lantus (5 days) and (ii) she hasn't eaten since amps.
    So still gave same 1 unit.

    I know I need to test at +6 but should I test earlier or just keep an eye on her?
    (She actually played a bit tonight - first time in months!)

    Previous Condo
     
  2. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

    Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I don't use Lantus but would suggest you test earlier than +6 if she hasn't eaten.
     
  3. Denise & Honey

    Denise & Honey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    She ate well this evening at pmps - 1*5.5 tin Wellness and 1 FF.
    She hadn't eaten since the morning but she ate well then too.

    She's eating a lot! Still drinking but not as much.
     
  4. Ry & Scooter

    Ry & Scooter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Try to get a test at +2 if you're not sure how a cycle is going to go. If your +2 number is quite a bit lower than your preshot number, you might want to keep the meter nearby as it could be a more "active" cycle.
     
  5. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

    Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Glad to know she ate tonight........wasn't sure the way it was written. Takes time for body to adjust and utilize insulin with food so the kitty slows down on the amount of food.
     
  6. Denise & Honey

    Denise & Honey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    pmps +5 259 so its come up.
    I guess that means the pmps bg was due to not eating during the day.

    She's still had 15oz of food today - seems a lot!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page