New members/ Lynn and Kitten

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lynn, Dec 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lynn

Lynn New Member

My cat almost died this week of DKA. She is on insulin twice daily and I am concerned about how to monitor her bloodsugar levels at home. The vet said urine tests are really no good. Also, she gave me DM food.
    Lynn and Kitten

2. Patty & Tiger

Patty & Tiger Member

Welcome to the FDMB. Tiger was diagnosed about 2 1/2 weeks ago and if it wasn't for this board I don't know what I would have done. The people on here are very knowledgeable. A few questions they will ask in order to help you are 1. What insulin is kitty on and 2. Are you going to home test (this is advised). Since I am new with all of this I can only offer support :smile:

3. Michelle & Dusty

Michelle & Dusty Member

Welcome! I, too, am a newbie to all of this and so have more support than wisdom to share, but I want to let you know it gets easier. Home testing seems daunting but, at least for most, becomes routine fairly quickly. For me, at least, testing is by far easier than injecting the insulin. Because I give Dusty treats, she's starting to associate the tests with delicious chicken and so sits quite well as I draw the blood and test it. I've now been doing this for just a week and already it takes about a minute to test. Which is just to say that it's very doable. (And, because you can use human glucometers and test strips, it's also reasonably affordable.)

I'm sorry that your kitten has diabetes and that you had to discover it in such a horrible fashion. Know that it gets easier and that there are a whole lot of smart, caring people on this board who are eager to help.

4. Lisa and Witn (GA)

Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to FDMB.