Udong
Member Since 2012
I am happy to announce that my cat Dongdong has been off insulin for 14 days. Her numbers during these 2 weeks are between 2.8(50) -4.8(86).
I’ll like to thank this site and all the good hearted members here to give me so much updated information on feline diabetes. She got remission just only 1 month stopping all prescription dry food. Here is a short profile of my cat Dongdong.
Dongdong was diagnosed with diabetes on Sept 13, 2012.
She was on 1 unit of Caninsulin and Hill’s md diabetes dry food for 6 weeks. Sept 13 - Oct 25. blind shot 1 Unit x 2/day (6 weeks)
1st curve done @ the vet's office, readings show high 22-18, also did a frutosamine test. My vet said to increase to 1.5 units.
Oct 26 - Nov 3 1.5 Units blind shot x2/day (1week)
During this period, I read all the info on this site and trying to absorb as much as possible.
I bought a blood glucose monitor for home test Nov 3, 1st blood test shows high +6hrs 21.8(390) so I increase the dose to 2 units.
The following 2 days after increase to 2 units. Her BG still showed high
Nov 5, 2012 25.5(459) 2 Unit am +10.5hrs. 23.4(420)
Nov 6,2012 am +10 hrs. 23(421)
I stop all the Hill’s md dry and gave her home made fish. Chicken and pork. After 3 days her BG drop a lot.
1st curve on Nov 10, 2012 amps 2U 23.3(420) +2hrs 19.9(355) +4hrs 15.4(275) +6 hrs11.2(220) +8hrs.8.7(155) +12hrs13.6(245)
Nov 11, +12hr 23.5 (425) 2u x 2
Nov 15, + 8 hrs. 12 (215) 2u x 2
Nov 17, 17.5(315) +6 hrs 22 (400) PM 20.4(365) 2u x 2
Nov 18, +6 hrs 14(250) 2u x 2
Nov 21, pmps 10.2(180) + 3hrs 17(300) 2U x 2
Nov 22, amps 19.1 (350) 2U x2
Nov 24, amps 17.5 (315) 2.25U +6hrs. 7.4(133) 2 U
Nov 25, pmps 16 (288) 2.25U x 2
Nov 26 amps 18(320) pmps 19(342), 2.25 u x 2
Nov 29 amps 17.6( 315) 2 u +6hr 2.1(39), pmps 6 (110) 1.75 u
Nov 30 pmps 9(162) 2 u x 2
Dec 1,2012 18.6 (330) 2.25 u x 2
Dec 2, 2012 +6 hrs. 4 (72) 2.25 u & 2 u
Dec 3, 2012 pmps 7.2 (130) 2 u & 1.75 u
After few weeks on 2-2.25 units Her BG seems to be going down, decrease to 1.5 u
Dec 4,2012 amps 10.7 (193) pmps 8 (144) 1.5 u x 2
Dec 5,2012 amps 10.1(182) 1.5 u x 2
Her BG going down again, decrease to 1.2 u
Dec 6,2012 amps 9.2 (166) pmps 6.7 (121) 1.4 u & 1.2 u
The next day still going down, decrease to 0.6 u
Dec 7,2012 amps 5.7(103) pmps 6.4(115) 0.6 U x 2
Dec 8,2012 amps 7.8(140) +5hr 4.3 (78) pmps 6.3(113) 0.6 u x 2
Still going down the next day pmps 5.4(97) off insulin and see.
Dec 9,2012 + 6hrs 3(54) pmps 5.4(97) 0.6u am & no shot pm 1st day
Dec10,2012 5.9(106) amps 3.2(58) 11:45pm No shot 2nd day
Dec11,2012 4.8(86) 11.45 pm NS 3rd day
Dec12,2012 4.8(86) 8:00 pm NS 4th day
Dec 13,2012 3.5(63) 9:00am NS 5th day
Dec 14,2012 3.4(61) 7:00pm NS 6th day
Dec 15,2012 2.9(52) 1:00pm NS 7th day
Dec 16,2012 3.9(70) 6:00pm NS 8th day
Dec 17,2012 4.8(86) 10:00pm NS 9th day
Dec 19,2012 3.2(57) 9:am NS 11th day
Dec 20,2012 4.3 (75) 9 pm NS 12th day
Dec 21,2012 3.9 (70) 10:30pm NS 13th day
Dec 22,2012 2.8(50) 6:30 pm NS 14th day
Here are 2 videos on her BG test after 10 days off insulin. :lol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0k2PdWeZKU0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KlzoUxDY_-I
I’ll like to thank this site and all the good hearted members here to give me so much updated information on feline diabetes. She got remission just only 1 month stopping all prescription dry food. Here is a short profile of my cat Dongdong.
Dongdong was diagnosed with diabetes on Sept 13, 2012.
She was on 1 unit of Caninsulin and Hill’s md diabetes dry food for 6 weeks. Sept 13 - Oct 25. blind shot 1 Unit x 2/day (6 weeks)
1st curve done @ the vet's office, readings show high 22-18, also did a frutosamine test. My vet said to increase to 1.5 units.
Oct 26 - Nov 3 1.5 Units blind shot x2/day (1week)
During this period, I read all the info on this site and trying to absorb as much as possible.
I bought a blood glucose monitor for home test Nov 3, 1st blood test shows high +6hrs 21.8(390) so I increase the dose to 2 units.
The following 2 days after increase to 2 units. Her BG still showed high
Nov 5, 2012 25.5(459) 2 Unit am +10.5hrs. 23.4(420)
Nov 6,2012 am +10 hrs. 23(421)
I stop all the Hill’s md dry and gave her home made fish. Chicken and pork. After 3 days her BG drop a lot.
1st curve on Nov 10, 2012 amps 2U 23.3(420) +2hrs 19.9(355) +4hrs 15.4(275) +6 hrs11.2(220) +8hrs.8.7(155) +12hrs13.6(245)
Nov 11, +12hr 23.5 (425) 2u x 2
Nov 15, + 8 hrs. 12 (215) 2u x 2
Nov 17, 17.5(315) +6 hrs 22 (400) PM 20.4(365) 2u x 2
Nov 18, +6 hrs 14(250) 2u x 2
Nov 21, pmps 10.2(180) + 3hrs 17(300) 2U x 2
Nov 22, amps 19.1 (350) 2U x2
Nov 24, amps 17.5 (315) 2.25U +6hrs. 7.4(133) 2 U
Nov 25, pmps 16 (288) 2.25U x 2
Nov 26 amps 18(320) pmps 19(342), 2.25 u x 2
Nov 29 amps 17.6( 315) 2 u +6hr 2.1(39), pmps 6 (110) 1.75 u
Nov 30 pmps 9(162) 2 u x 2
Dec 1,2012 18.6 (330) 2.25 u x 2
Dec 2, 2012 +6 hrs. 4 (72) 2.25 u & 2 u
Dec 3, 2012 pmps 7.2 (130) 2 u & 1.75 u
After few weeks on 2-2.25 units Her BG seems to be going down, decrease to 1.5 u
Dec 4,2012 amps 10.7 (193) pmps 8 (144) 1.5 u x 2
Dec 5,2012 amps 10.1(182) 1.5 u x 2
Her BG going down again, decrease to 1.2 u
Dec 6,2012 amps 9.2 (166) pmps 6.7 (121) 1.4 u & 1.2 u
The next day still going down, decrease to 0.6 u
Dec 7,2012 amps 5.7(103) pmps 6.4(115) 0.6 U x 2
Dec 8,2012 amps 7.8(140) +5hr 4.3 (78) pmps 6.3(113) 0.6 u x 2
Still going down the next day pmps 5.4(97) off insulin and see.
Dec 9,2012 + 6hrs 3(54) pmps 5.4(97) 0.6u am & no shot pm 1st day
Dec10,2012 5.9(106) amps 3.2(58) 11:45pm No shot 2nd day
Dec11,2012 4.8(86) 11.45 pm NS 3rd day
Dec12,2012 4.8(86) 8:00 pm NS 4th day
Dec 13,2012 3.5(63) 9:00am NS 5th day
Dec 14,2012 3.4(61) 7:00pm NS 6th day
Dec 15,2012 2.9(52) 1:00pm NS 7th day
Dec 16,2012 3.9(70) 6:00pm NS 8th day
Dec 17,2012 4.8(86) 10:00pm NS 9th day
Dec 19,2012 3.2(57) 9:am NS 11th day
Dec 20,2012 4.3 (75) 9 pm NS 12th day
Dec 21,2012 3.9 (70) 10:30pm NS 13th day
Dec 22,2012 2.8(50) 6:30 pm NS 14th day
Here are 2 videos on her BG test after 10 days off insulin. :lol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0k2PdWeZKU0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KlzoUxDY_-I