my diabetic cat registered High on glucometer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I am new on Feline Diabetes - I pulled a cat off the Euth list and she is diabetic. She just registered High on glucometer. I hit her with the insulin 3 unit, it went thru her, so I rehit with only 2, hoping 1 unit absorbed, and thinking if not, 2 isn't bad. Most of the shoot thru was on her coat, that I could tell. Any suggestions, she just ate about 3/4 a can????? HELP. nailbite_smile
 
no need for panic. being high for a bit is not as bad as being too low so you don't need to do anything more right this moment

typically we advise not to reshoot if you do a furshot (aka: shooting thru the cat, missing the cat, etc....) as that can result in an overdose but what is done is done and since she's reading high, you'll probably be ok this time.

can you tell us more about the kitty such as what insulin are you using? how long has kitty been on insulin? is there anything else wrong with kitty? how is kitty acting?
 
"Better too high for a day than too low for a minute."

Since you really do not know how much of that first shot was truly a 'fur shot', Please test again. To see which direction the blood glucose (BG) is heading.
 
Remain calm and breathe.

High glucose is not an emergency. It is somewhat urgent, as it you want to start working on it because it slowly damages the body and may generate ketones via fat breakdown for calories if the glucose can't be used.
 
Hi, thanks for responding. I feel much better. Tiffy is 8 yrs old. I pulled her off the euth list. She was very sick. She is now doing better, but the insulin is not regulating and her readings are growing higher. The vet has her on Wd. A person with a diabetic cat, who is brilliant, said switch to Evo, I just today put her on 1/2 wd and 1/2 Evo. I use Evo with my other cats. Tiffy is like 6 pounds. Very Skinny!!! Although she might have gained. She didn't eat a lot tonight. Approximatley 1 1/4 can of wet with 1/2 cup of water in it for hydrations. She typically is dehydrated. I've only had her since May 3rd and was at vet from 5-3 (pull date) to 5-15 with a URI. Then she relapsed a week later and was back at vet for another week.
The vet put her on ProZinc. We have no prior history on Tiffy (my sweetie pie bug). She has neuropathy, her heels touch the ground. We have no idea how long was was on the street without insulin, but I must have been long. She was matted, smelly. And She runs to the garbage pail in my apt so much so that I have to lock it up and anything that she could consume.
She is lethargic, but she plays with me. She likes sleeping on the marble floor in the bathroom. I'd like to take her temperature, but I don't want to push her as she lets me test her, admin insulin and clip her nails. She's a snuggle bunny. Very sweet. She does growl though at times. We don't know if she is spayed yet and we havent given her shots yet either due to the problems, but she is not FIV.
She's sleeping right now.
 
Hi, thanks for responding. I tested her this morning at 6:44 am and she was 585. She ate like no tomorrow. At 7:15 tonight, she registered Hi. I just tested her again at 8:35 and she registered 628.
 
to recap,

1. Tiffy age 8, female, 6 lb
2.Prozinc 3U
3. W/d dry food, switching to 1/2 w/d and 1/2 evo wet

6/5 am 585
pm HI
+1 628

appetite good, URI prone, advanced neuropathy - walking on hocks, unregulated, ravenous

What meter are you using for home blood glucose testing?
What was the starting dose of the Prozinc?
How often do you give the insulin?
How many hours apart?
 
OMG, you guys are great. I don't know how to thank you!!!
Alphatrak 2 (brand-new, and control tested. I spoke to Abbott Lab on it already) Just because she is so high.
ACC had her up to 2 units in am and 2 units in pm.
Vet lowered her to 1 unit in am and 1 unit in pm. I called Alphatrak (aka Abbott labs). My vet uses their old Alphatrak and it is not suggested. They said they changed the old meter for a reason and the new meter that I have prevails in readings. My vet got lower readings.
When Tiffy relapsed, they raised her to 2 1/2 units, and this week she just got raised again to 3 due the above 500 level readings.
I administer at least every 12 hours. I can give you the times if you want???? Approx every 12 hours. So 6:30 to 7 am to 630 to 7 pm (sometime 7:15-ish).
So I admin her twice daily 3 units (total 6)
 
She will be hungry until her body starts utilizing the insulin so you may have to feed her more. W/D is old school food and the dry especially is high in carbs. Also used as a weight reducing diet for fat cats, not much nutrition in it. One of mine, when I first adopted her would suck down 3 cans of Fancy Feast at one sitting. Bless you for saving her from being euthanized.
 
Hello and welcome to the board!

I agree with everyone and the main take away here is that the sooner you can stop the dry and feed only wet the better.

The tests you have got are at the end of every cycle. Its important also to know how low it is taking her before changing the dose. Can you get a few spot checks during the day?

Wendy
 
Hi
Could more of you please weigh in for Teresa here? She is using PZI. I am a Lantus person. However, in speaking with her, I am coming to the conclusion that her cat is doing somogyi rebounds over and over. We are both in NYC and she pulled the kitty, Tiffy, from the kill list at the shelter and he went straight to a NYC vet--who helps rescue a lot, but is not well versed in insulin dosing. If you all recall, back 1.5 years ago, I pulled Shane (now Sebastian) also from the kill shelter while in diabetic ketoacidosis...This vet saved him from DKA but then proceded to overdose him on Lantus--going from 0.5 units to 2.5 units in 3 days for a 6 lbs skinny cat.

I insisted on bringing him home once I realized that he was not being fed mid shot and also that he was being sent into hypos repeatedly...ONe hour after I brought him home from the vet he was in the 30s....Sebastian is still today, 1 1/2 years later on 0.5 units of Lantus only once a day and he is in the 100-200s He is 12 lbs, not 6.

This cat, Tiffy, was at this same vet's fro 14 days....she had not posted nubmers yet I don't believe, but she needs PZI advice on dosing. Right now the vet is advising 3 Units BID..for a 6 pound cat and she's getting PS number after PS number that is 500s/600s to HI...And these higher raised doses are not bringing it down at all.

Please weight in...what is the lowest she should back track with? If it were Lantus, I would advise dropping to 0.5U BID and letting that hold for 5 days and then reevaluating. I don't know with PZI if it's the same.

Thanks
Martica
 
That's how long after the shot? Two hours? Three? We refer to the time after shot as +the number of hours so.. If its two hours after the shot we all it your +2.. If the test was three hours after the shot, it's a +3..

Anyway she is dropping. Can you set the alarm to get a +6? Want to see how low maggy is going..

Wendy
 
Ok cool. Tonite if you are up then get a +6... Otherwise you will want to get one in the next day or so to see how low she is dropping before you change dose. Maybe even a few spot checks mid cycle ie +4, +6 and +8...
 
to recap once again w/ updated info

1. Tiffy age 8, female, 6 lb
1a. kill list pulled 5/3
1b. 5/3 til 5/15 at vet with URI
2.Prozinc 3U , BID, shots roughly 12 hours apart
3. W/d dry food, switching to 1/2 w/d and 1/2 evo wet
4. Alpahtrak 2 meter
5. Starting dose of 2 U BID
6. Dose lowered to 1U BID
7. Dose raised to 2.5 U BID
8. Dose raised to 3U BID
9. Shot times about 6:30 - 7 am and pm. EDT

6/5 AMPS 585
PMPS HI
+1 628
+3 480

appetite good, URI prone, advanced neuropathy - walking on hocks, unregulated, ravenous
In my numbered list above, there are the dose raises, numbered 5-8. Would you please put a date associated with each of these dose changes. Thanks.

When were these 500 level readings taken in relation to the time of the shot? In other words, did your vet increase the dose of insulin based on the pre-shot test numbers or a mid-day cycle reading?

We express the test times in hours since the last insulin shot. A test 5 hours later is the +5 (5 hours have elapsed since you gave the shot). This gives all of us in different time zones an idea of when the tests are taken.

Any update today on Tiffy?

With the change to more low carb wet food, you may need to drop the insulin dose very, very quickly, like drop it in half. A change from that high carb food to a low carb food can drop the BG's 100 points. You do not want to deal with a hypo.
 
Hi, at +5 last night she dropped to 281 and me and Martica (in note above) feed her 1/2 can due to rapid drops.
@ +7 she raised to 448 ( didn't keep food in caged area)
@ +10 she was 440
at +12 she was 501. I admin'd 1 1/2 (I dropped her from 3 units to 1 and 1/2), I waited 1/2 hr and fed her.
at + 1/2 she was 438
I didn't leave food out for her
I went to work
When I got home @ +11 she was 512, I admin'd 1 1/2, and waited 1/2 hr, within in that time she had diarrhea and she threw up bile. Within 15 minutes I feed her 1 can with 1/2 cup of water. (she ate 3/4) .
I typically add water to the food due to dehydration.
+2 she was at 470
+4 she was at 301, and I feed her a half can, she at almost all of it (again 1/2 cup of water)
I mixed half can of evo and 1/2 can of wd together, but she still got diarrhea. I was trying to avoid that. So I am weening her off wd.
she is much better. she is purring and grooming herself. she is wide-eyed and spunkier.
It was advised to take her down to 1 unit tomorrow and completely get her off wd.
I am worried about the rapid decreased in insulin and also the quick change in food. I kind of like gradual.
 
I am worried about the rapid decreased in insulin and also the quick change in food. I kind of like gradual.

You should look at Wink's SS in my signature. Look how fast he dropped from the higher yellow and pink numbers down into the blue and green numbers. I had just started the food change and his BG numbers headed down really, really fast.

If I had known better, I would have cut his insulin dose in half instead of the tiny decreases I was doing.

Yes, the high numbers are scary to most new members, until you know that the high numbers do slow damage over time. The low numbers, under 40 can kill quickly, in hours. That is why we say: "Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute."

The gradual change over in the food is a good idea, because as you have seen, it can cause diarrhea. go slower on the food changeover if you want to.

Has Tiffy had DKA? Has she had ketones? Do you test for ketones?

You dropped the dose from 3 to 1.5 which is what I suggested with the food change. I do not see where you were advised to drop the dose to 1U.
 
Hi, I know here personally, so it was over the phone. So anyway, she really advised to change the food right away, and so middle of night feeding, like 2 am ( didn't glucose her), I feed her Evo only with water 1 1/2 cans. This morning she was slightly high. 501 at 7:00 am. I waited an hour before I feed her to let the insulin kick in, at +1 she was 451, and I feed 1 can of Evo with a can of water added. She licked it down and is resting. I feel these numbers are too high. I will see how she defecates today and if all is okay, I will just make the switch.
So I have her at 1.5 on the insulin down from 3 units. My friend said even drop her to 1 unit. It is just a lot of changing going on. She is much better!!!!!! She is off her Hocks. She is high on her toes. Ha!! I am so scared she went hypo on me from too much insulin. She bounced back, but I really don't want that to happen again.
She is really skinny, so I am with the feedings midday and midnight. She is gaining more weight with the feedings. Again, I am concerned about these high number. In Nadir she is only at 281 and 333. I would love to see that like 180. I am going to test all day today and into the weekend.
AND NO, I don't do ketones. Can you assist with that, please? And give input on the numbers and feedings nailbite_smile
 
Well, listen, your cat is so much lower than mine. Tiffy is High and would be in the black zone as per ams and pms are always in the 5s
 
Hi, I know here personally, so it was over the phone. So anyway, she really advised to change the food right away, and so middle of night feeding, like 2 am ( didn't glucose her), I feed her Evo only with water 1 1/2 cans.

Please, any advice you get like that over the phone, needs to be put in the post. Otherwise, there is no way for us to know what is going on and properly advise you.

If I talk to someone by PM, any advice I give is put in the post ASAP. I won't give dosing advice in a PM, only talk about food or personal stuff. We want to keep what is going on with your cat as public as much as possible. Whoever is advising you, if they are a member of this board, should post what she said to you here on the forum, a quick synopsis. That way, we know what is being said.

One of the great things about this board is the peer review. We all have different experiences to share.
 
Yes, Wink is now much lower than the numbers you are getting. He is now diet controlled and does not need insulin for the time being. We are trying to get your cat Tiffy there too.

If you look at Wink's spreadsheet, it only gives you a tiny slice of his diabetes journey. He was in a shelter for months in the high 600's, 500's 400's and it took 5 months to get him to where he could stop getting the insulin.

That is my goal with Tiffy. Let's work together on that.
 
The food change and the insulin changes take time to see the effects.

The food may take a week or more to see any change. It may take two weeks. If you stay with the total changeover as your friend suggested to you over the phone, it will be faster, but there may be intestinal tract issues. It's a balancing act, to get your cat Tiffy eating better food without upsetting her tummy so that she vomits or has diarrhea.

Prozinc insulin is a an in and out type insulin. Whenever dosing changes are made, it takes time to see the changes helping. We have people keep the same dose for a minimum of 3 days or 6 cycles, each cycle being 12 hours.

Patience little grasshopper. This journey you have decided to take with Tiffy is a marathon, not a sprint. Take it slow and easy and things will improve. It took more than a month or two for the diabetes to develop. It will take time to improve it. These are hormones we are giving, not medicines that cure in a few days.

Which EVO food are you feeding her?
 
Again, I am concerned about these high number. In Nadir she is only at 281 and 333. I would love to see that like 180. I am going to test all day today and into the weekend.
AND NO, I don't do ketones. Can you assist with that, please? And give input on the numbers and feedings nailbite_smile

Ketone testing is checking the urine with little test strips. You can buy urine ketone testing strips at the drugstore or pharmacy counter, 50 strips for about $10-12. They are checking for the presence of ketones in the body, which are produced when the muscle in the body is being broken down too quickly. You need to get a fresh sample of pee and dip the test strip in there for 15 seconds and then compare to the color chart on the vial.

Do you think Tiffy would let you get close enough to her while she is in the litter box to either put the test strip directly in the urine stream or put a small clean shallow container under her bum?

If not, I'll go find the urine catching tips and tricks.

We suggest ketone testing any time your cat is in the higher numbers, over 300. Ketones can develop at lower numbers with a combination of not enough insulin, not enough food and an infection (could be hidden, think teeth). This combination can lead to ketone production which can then lead to Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), a several day stay at the vets.

As you test today, would you please post the numbers? I'll be watching out for you. The weather is rainy and yucky so I won't be outside playing in my gardens.
 
Deb & Wink said:
recap #3, again w/ updated info

1. Tiffy age 8, female, 6 lb
1a. kill list pulled 5/3
1b. 5/3 til 5/15 at vet with URI
2.Prozinc 3U , BID, shots roughly 12 hours apart
3. W/d dry food, switching to 1/2 w/d and 1/2 evo wet 6/7 switched to all wet EVO
4. Alpahtrak 2 meter
5. Starting dose of 2 U BID
6. Dose lowered to 1U BID
7. Dose raised to 2.5 U BID
8. Dose raised to 3U BID
9. Shot times about 6:30 - 7 am and pm. EDT

6/5 AMPS 585 PMPS HI +1 628 +3 480 +5 281 +7 448 +10 440
6/6 AMPS 501 +0.5 438 +11 512 PMPS ? +2 470 +4 301
6/7 AMPS 501 +1 451

appetite good, URI prone, advanced neuropathy - walking on hocks, unregulated, ravenous, diarrhea (suspected from the food change to wet)
Walking better now,

In my numbered list above, there are the dose raises, numbered 5-8. Would you please put a date associated with each of these dose changes. Thanks.

You might want to add some plain canned pumpkin to Tiiffy's food to help with the diarrhea, about 1 teaspoon. Plain pumpkin, without any spices added to it, not the pie filling one. I freeze this in small portions in tiny ice cube trays, about 1 teaspoon portions. Pop out of the ice cube tray and pop them into a Ziploc. Had to give Wink a bit of pumpkin this morning to help with his diarrhea. The tiny portions thaw quickly, so I take one out of the fridge and let it thaw while I do some other morning chores.

The pumpkin can help with diarrhea and with constipation in cats. No sugar in the plain pumpkin to raise the BG numbers.
 
Hi, Deb, I appreciate this so much. Tiffy has had Diarrhea all day due to the food change, so tonight, I did more of the old food and less of the new, and in my experience that helps with the diarrhea. She is debilitated and I need to do the food change slow. The advice was: Change food, go to 1 unit, and feed midday and midnight, meaning in Nadir, which is putting weight on her, which she needs so much, and the nutrition is helping her hair come back. So sad!!!
So I didn't want to do 1 unit and all the new food, but she insisted and I know she is right, but it is a big step, meaning 3 units to 1, so I did 1 1/2 and half and half on the food, but she insisted, so last night I brought her down to 1 unit, and still gave half and half, and she was okay with the diarrhea this morning, just one bowel movement, but midday, I did all new and she was streaming, so dinner I did half/half, and she hasn't gone yet. Yehhhh. I am uploading the log for you. She is better. Martica knows what she is talking about, but the cat was debilitated and I think was going to die at 3 units, so she helped Tiffy so much. I wish I could show you before and after pics. The food thing I need to take slow. I also admin'd 24 mls of water via syringe for the dehydration. look for the upload. it will be next.
 
There are many different ways to manage the diabetes. You know your friend Martica better than us strangers on the internet.

We are here to give you other options.

Did you try the pumpkin for the diarrhea?

I'll keep my eyes out for the upload.

How are you doing? Stress levels through the roof?

Remember to take a break to refresh and renew your spirit and energy. Give yourself a treat. I like a piece of Dove chocolate.
 
well here are the numbers:
Fri, 6-7:
ams -(7 am) 501 (1.5units)
+1 - 451
+5 - 250
+6 -236 (feed her 1/2 evo)
+8 - 441
+9 - 467
pms - 415 - 1 unit
+3 - 405
+5 - 338
+8 - 444
+11 - threw up
(obviously plus 8 in 6-8, but I keep it with 6-7 because it is part of that shot)
5:11 am threw up and had a little diarrhea
6-8 (Saturday)
ams (6 am) 472 (1/2 evo 1/2 old)
+4 - 269 - freeze dried treat and all new food
+6 - 386 (diarrhea - 12 mls of water via syringe)
+9 - 410 (diarrhea - 12 mls of water via syringe)
pms - (6 pm) - 433 (half old food/half new food 1unit)
(no more diarrhea so far!!! :lol: :mrgreen:
 
No more diarrhea, but the number at +4 on 6-8 was high due to old food. this is a double-edged sword! I am going to try to give as little of the old food as possible. it is so horrible. I don't how the vets could prescribe it for use in diabetic cats. it is not good.
 
With some cats, you have to go at the cat's pace. Anything else causes problems. If that means slower food changes, then so be it.

You may adjust by laddering - alternately changing food a little while holding insulin stable, then holding food stable while adjusting insulin, going back and forth between those 2 types of adjustment as needed for your cat.
 
Hi, I had to put her back on 3/4WD and then a little more than 1/4 Evo, which the store ran out of, due to the diarrhea. I grab BG, until I can find another carrier of EVO, and that didn't help the diarrhea. Also I am not confident that changing the insulin level was the correct thing to do at this point with the diarrhea. The argument to change the units to 1 from 1 and 1/2, which we just dropped her down from 3 units, and she was doing much better, was because Martica felt she dropped too much in two hours, but she drops after her shot no matter what within two hours after her shot like that no matter what, so she drops a lot and then levels, and she feared hypo, but we had no proof of that because we never played out the 1 and 1/2 units. We fed her when she dropped even if the drop was 200 and she never dropped below that because we feed her. Now I think feeding her is great when she drops. It is and will put weight on her, but 200 is still high. And with the food she spikes back up to 400s and higher. Can I get some feedback on this. I like to feed her, she is skinny. Maybe a lesser amount of food. She suck down 2 cans a feeding this little girl. HELP!
So summary, she is back on WD and Evo, back on 1 1/2 and doing better, not ravenous, and looks better, gets up and plays, not throwing up, and diarrhea ceased. Numbers are still high, but I left her with food after her breakfast because I am scared not to. Maybe less food than a can because she has a can for breakfast or am shot time. And she was high from the last two days on 1 unit, she automatically spiked.
 
ACTUALLY I HAVE A SPREADSHEET, but I can't upload it. I have tried several times. I contacted the admin to this site but no response. Can you guys help me with that. Tiff is a little high. I rock-n-rolled her too much between the food and the insulin. I did tell you guys she is back on 1 and 1/2 and I am going to hold that stable until she is on all good Evo food. She had a bad fight with my other cat, who is so sweet. she attacked him. I don't know what is going on.
So if you guys can assist with the upload or let me have an all exclusive email addy to send to, that would help. I really need a little help. Was 680 tonight, but I gave her an afternoon meal, so I assume that spiked her. Her nadir was 310.
 
The administrator of this site is quite ill.

There are other people that can help you with your spreadsheet. Please check your PM (private messages). I'll try to help you with your spreadsheet setup.
 
Deb, Thanks so much. I feel like a nervous wreck and wondering if I will get this stabilized. I am going through a fortune on alpha trak 2 glucose strips, 50 a week just to test her. I am only going to do three tests a day. I have been doing every two hours and her ears are raw. I like to do 6 am. and then at like 830 before I leave. Can I ask you something, if she is in the high 300's before I leave for work, should I leave her additional food. I feed her at about 630-7 right after shot. The other girl said to feed her because she might hypo, but it keeps her high. Granted she did get into other food today, and that has happened since she has been getting out of cage, but I feel it spikes her?

Theresa Tramondo, CLR

You asked me this offline, so I wanted to include it here so other people could see and comment.

The Alphatrak 2 test strips are expensive. That is why most of us in the USA use the Relion Confirm/Micro glucometers or the Relion Prime from Walmart. A meter is around $14-16. Test strips for the Confirm/Micro are $0.36 each (0.3 micro liter blood drop). Test strips for the Prime are $0.18 each (larger 0.5micro liter blood drop). Much less expensive than the Alphatrak test strips. The Prime does require a slightly bigger blood drop. The lower cost of the strips may make that ok with you.

If you put a little pressure on her ears after the poke, this helps to prevent bruising. 20-30 seconds should be enough pressure. Buy some triple antibiotic ointment with pain relief. the gel version, not the cream formula, that causes the blood to soak into the fur. Put a tiny dab on the ear after the poke and wipe off any excess. That will stop the sting of the poke and help to heal the ears. Be sure to wipe off any excess. You don't want her to clean her ears and face with her paw and get it in her eyes.

If you are concerned with her going too low while you are away, you can leave out a little food. Yes, it may raise the BG's a little bit, especially until you can transition completely over to the lower carb food.

"Better too high for a day than too low for a minute".
 
Hi, thanks for your help, Deb, but I am frantic. She is very high, and the fact that she is throwing up with diarrhea scared me. I had the wrong code in the glucometer. I guess, just start from the 469 reading at +2. So right now her statis is:
469 at +2, no diarrhea, solid bowel, but starving????? What should I do? She is killing me with the starvation, but she is too high to feed. I gave her a can of food :oops: :roll:
 
Deb, I am going to stick with Alphatrak, too late. I didn't get the ketone strips. Will do tomorrow, any suggestion on the Brand? Please read prior message also
 
Glad we got your user id and password situation straightened out.

Would you smell Tiffy's breath for me. Does it smell fruity, sickly sweet, like nail polish remover (acetone)? This is a sign of ketones.

Has she had ketones before or did she have DKA?

Any brand of ketone urine test strips are fine.

The tricky part is catching them in the litter box to get a bit of urine. Here are some tips:https://docs.google.com/document/d/1quta5WLEjdO0Y_t2dAYSwN84h-LNZWxOdtVsJDKZ16A/pub

When was the last time she vomited?
 
If she is starving and losing weight, let her eat. However I would really prefer her to eat the evo instead of the w/d since her BG is pretty high and the w/d has way too many carbs.. But I understand your worry bout the diarrhea so maybe you can slowly transition out the w/d?

Which evo is it? Innova evo cat and kitten is a low carb dry you could try.

Wendy
 
No, it doesn't smell sweet to me, but she is starving and being difficult. Deb, about a week ago, her urine or bowel movement smelled like chemical??? Is that the same????
 
Theresatramondo said:
No, it doesn't smell sweet to me, but she is starving and being difficult. Deb, about a week ago, her urine or bowel movement smelled like chemical??? Is that the same????

No, sounds like something different.

The SS in your signature is a read only version. You will need to sign into google to access and update.

I thought you were too busy to learn how until Monday night.

You could always list a few numbers here if you want like this:

6/15 AMPS xxx 1.5U +2 xxx PMPS xxx 1.5U +2 490
 
I am busy, but I love her so much, I just want her better.
I will post here. It is just I feel like I am screwing her up with the stupid things like not putting the right code in. I can't give her only Evo. She gets diarrhea and will continue to dehydrate.
Tonight, at +3 she is 369, so she went down 100 points, but we don't have a baseline due to my stupidity.
SHOULD I GIVE HER SOME FOOD?
 
Yes, give her some food.

Until the insulin gets balanced better, she will be starving. Try not to feed past about +5.

I do think we need to increase her insulin dose.

ETA: I'm updating your SS for you as you give me numbers. Until you have some more time on Monday to learn about using the SS.

Did you click on the words "Tiff'ys SS" in your post signature? Try that now and you will be able to read the SS only. No updating.
 
oKAY, I JUST FED HER A LITTLE, LIKE 3 TABLESPOONS OF EVO 95 PERCENT PROTEIN AND 1 TEASPOON OF WD, SO AS TO NOT GET DIARRHEA. I ADDED WATER TO IT.
AND DEB, TO ANSWER YOUR QUESTION ABOUT WHEN SHE HAD DIARRHEA LAST, IT WAS LIKE 3:00 PM TODAY, AND IT STARTED ON AND OFF YESTERDAY. BUT SHE IS SOLID NOW, SHE JUST HAD A BOWL MOVEMENT. nailbite_smile
 
Tiffy's ss, using this in browser didn't pull anything up. I feel better, and I feel help is on the way. she just finished eating and is laying on the table next to me. she is happier now. omg, this is hell. all I did was pull her, and I am suffering because she is suffering, I can't imagine if it was one of my other two, darma or abyss.
 
Did you scroll down further in the spreadsheet? First page has dates only, not much data.

Are you getting some kind of an access error message?

p.s. Have you tried adding plain canned pumpkin to her food to help firm up the diarrhea? About 1 teaspoon should help. More if needed.

Also, I think you want to increase the insulin dose. She's got room to drop and I think 2U might get her out of those blacks more.

You also need to switch the food. Part of the swings and high numbers are undoubtedly due to the W/d. She probably has higher numbers when on the W/d. Don't know but if that is something you track, we could check the SS. I know you had some notes on the food and I did put those on the SS for you in the remarks column.
 
Deb, I can read the SS but like you said, you have to scroll down to get to the lines with data in them.

I also agree with your dosing suggestion on upping it to 2u. Until Tiffy can eat lower carb food without diarrhea happening, it's probably going to take more insulin to fight the carbs.

I hadn't seen it mentioned but may have missed it, but where are the shots getting injected? Maybe a change in location might help? I'm thinking also that with the bouts of diarrhea, there may be some dehydration issues, and the insulin might not be getting absorbed well. Grasping at straws maybe...
 
It has been rough, and I feel like an idiot because I can't see the sheet. I also can't upload Tiffy's pic. Oh, My.
The other girl made me lower her from 3 units. Let me say this: She was up to 800 on 3 units, so I don't think the answer is in raising it. Let's give it another few days and see what happens, since she has been moving all over between the doctor, Martica, and you guys now wanting more insulin. I am mentioning the 800 because it doesn't make sense to be on 3 units and be 6 lbs and be 800. I even called Abbott labs to consult them with the glucometer. I am not even sure if the diarrhea is from the depletion of the WD. Could you guys think of any other reason why she would have diarrhea? I will get the pumpkin tomorrow. I have nothing in this house as I've been working on a case til 11 each night, starting at 9, waking up though at 6:30. So I am bushed. Plus when I get home, she'd break out of cage and get into the other cats' food. THAT MIGHT BE A BIG REASON WHY SHE'S ALL OVER. SHE DID THAT TWICE IN ONE week. I now have her in the bathroom while I am at work. My cats and her are not getting along well, so I had to re-separate them. Let's Give the separate and not getting into their food with 1 and 1/2 another week or at least until Wednesday. It has been rough with Her. She is a rough, tough outside cat that happens to be sweeter than Pecan Pie. :YMSIGH:
 
If you PM me the picture I will shrink it for you and you can post it.

In terms of dose, I would trust Carl and bob, he has a lot of experience as you can tell from his high number of posts and he knows your insulin very very well.

It does take some tweaking to find the exact right dose on any insulin and the safest thing is to start low and work your way up which is why deb and Martica said to start at a lower dose.. And then the plan was to gradually raise it.. And she needs it raised because these blacks aren't good for her. But she might not need it raised that much for it to work so I would try 2 units and see how that goes.

The high BG could also be upsetting her system and causing the diarrhea.

You could try the food change etc for longer but definitely test her pee for ketones, you don't want her to get diabetic ketoacidosis which is very very serious and costly to treat. I would be testing her daily right now since she is so high.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top