Re: Misho 11/25- AMPS- 355

Status
Not open for further replies.

Di&Misho

Member Since 2014
Previous thread

Good morning everyone . Di messed it up and is very ashamed :oops: 26th of October is the Fall back for Daylight Saving time in my country which is normally +2 UTC/GMT Time Zone. We had a tough day and night with heavy rain ,thunders and strong wind that even blew off the cover of my spare tyre of the the car :shock: I stayed with Misho as I expected low numbers with his PMPS and actually couldn't sleep all night waking up nearly every hour so I totally forgot the time change and after the last test @+8 set the alarm clock for 6 a.m. as usual :oops: When the meter flashed 524 I was absolutely in shock and so confused . Today I have decided to increase the dose to 2,25U and check all day but when I saw this reading I decided it is not a good idea to change dose and I expelled insulin to usual 2U and shot, gave Misho his medicine and food and left. When I went out into the street I realized there is something wrong - too much traffic , it was nearly daybreak and all of a sudden I remembered that at 4 a.m. my local time all clocks should have been turned backwards with 1 hour. My cell automatically makes this change so I have actually shot Misho 1hour later than his insulin schedule - :oops: :oops: :oops: I know I have no excuse but it happened and obviously it is the reason of this high reading.
I also expected low readings last night with PMPS of 257 but as a rule I only saw pink ones :roll:
 
Re: Misho 10/26 AMPS - 524 - Daylight Saving Time change

Hi Di
i think they say that you can get back on schedule by shooting 15 min earlier each time to get back to your regular shot time.
We all have times when we have to do the shot later or earlier. You are doing a great job with Misho, don't worry. You do the
best that you can. I think you are amazing for taking care of Misho so well. It is so difficult for you as he does not live with you.
You will get him back on schedule. Don't worry Di.
Hugs :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Nadine
 
Re: Misho 10/26 AMPS - 524 - Daylight Saving Time change

Exactly right on the 15 per shot.
Or, you can do 30 minutes per day.

And cats don't read clocks, so whatever works, works.
 
Re: Misho 10/26 AMPS - 524 - Daylight Saving Time change

It sounds like you already accidentally got yourself on track by shooting an hour late this morning. ;-) Only thing to do now is ride it out. Since it was a "delayed" shot, it shouldn't affect his numbers for too long.
 
Re: Misho 10/27 AMPS -337

Good morning everyone and thank you for your comments ! When I overslept one of his AM shots Mel and BJM explained me how the roll back thing works and I planned to use this scheme and change his shooting hour slowly as 5a.m. was definitely very difficult for me especially with morning shots
KPassa said:
It sounds like you already accidentally got yourself on track by shooting an hour late this morning
And having this in mind you are right :smile: But I was worried that 1 hour later will be a disaster as I read that cats are very sensitive to these changes and I already knew that 15 minutes per shot is the maximum. I don't think this late shot really affected his BG which is strange but I can only be happy about it. I followed Mel's advice and gave myself a rest yesterday. So I only know Misho's pre shot numbers. Today I increased his dose to 2,25 as planned and I guess I will have to do some more testing to see how the new dose works. His antibiotic course treatment ends today and we will visit my vet to have the dip stick urine test and to weight him as last time he has lost 0,200grams in weight for a few days only. Keep fingers crossed for my buddy ,please!
Have a successful and sunny week ( we have 5 degrees C here, it is Fall in Bulgaria quite cold one)
 
Re: Misho 10/27 AMPS - 337 dose increased to 2,25U

Remember

Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment.

The first causes problems slowly.
The last can kill quickly.
 
Re: Misho 10/27 AMPS-337 PMPS-297 dose increased to 2,25U

BJM said:
Remember
Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment.

Thank you BJM. I am trying to not forget this but I am a bit confused why you reminded me this rule today Is it because of the increase? I thought I am doing the right thing by going up with 0,25. I am at home now after I shot his PM dose but will be back at +4 and will stay overnight to test. Today the numbers after the AM shot look quite strange to me but at least they are not high. Reading the regulation protocol over and over I realized we are at step 2 still increasing the dose .If I am mistaken let me know please, all comments in our thread are always welcome.
 
Re: Misho 10/27 AMPS-337 PMPS-297 dose increased to 2,25U

I reminded you because of the shooting late the other time and also because folks sometimes want to increase more than a safe 0.25 to 0.5 units (not you - you're being cautious).
 
Re: Misho 10/28 AMPS-221

BJM said:
I reminded you because of the shooting late the other time and also because folks sometimes want to increase more than a safe 0.25 to 0.5 units (not you - you're being cautious).

To be honest I am sometimes tempted by the thought to increase by 0,5 but I always remember the saying that the way to hell is paved with good intentions. Misho is not on high dose, or at least I think so :roll: so as per Protocol increase of 0.25 at a time is better for him. Last night he had some nice flat blue numbers , I tested 4 times just to be aware of what will happen between +6 and pre shot .
Today's AMPS is yellow and when I see a lower pre shot I always try to find a way and go to test him earlier as I expect an early drop but as a rule at low pre shot he always have high reading at + 4 and with high pre shot always a drop, sometimes quite good one . Case in point is yesterday morning with the late shooting - AMPS 524 @+5 - 364!! And the previous day with a PMPS of 257 @+5 - 306 . For me it is a kind of inconsistency and I have never had an answer what causes it. We will see if it happens again today.
We wish you all a nice day cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
EDIT-@+4 - 308
 
Re: Misho 10/28 AMPS-221

Mikey is the same way on Levemir. His +4 is usually always around his pre-shot number or even higher. With Levemir for a lot of kitties, the onset and nadir are much later than with Lantus. Lantus usually has an onset around +2 with a nadir around +6 while Levemir usually has an onset around +4 to +6 with a nadir around +6 all the way up to +14 (or even longer in some kitties). The "vunerable" time where there is the least amount of insulin is between the conclusion of the last cycle's nadir and the next cycle's onset. So, partially because of Levemir's longer overlap and partially because of Levemir's later nadir, that window ends up being around around +2 to +4 of the next cycle (vs. with Lantus, it can be around +8 to +14).
 
Re: Misho 10/28 AMPS-221 @+8-162 PMPS- 281

Most cats on Levemir go up until around +4- +6 like KPassa said. It is just the nature of the insulin. A typical Levemir curve is more a Bell Shape where they go up in the middle and down at either end of a 12 hour period, while Lantus is more a smiley face shape with the lowest point in the middle and higher on either end.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 10/28 AMPS-221 @+8-162 PMPS- 281

KPassa said:
Mikey is the same way on Levemir. His +4 is usually always around his pre-shot number or even higher.
As it is said ECID :smile: With Misho this usually happens only with low pre shots .
Levemir usually has an onset around +4 to +6 with a nadir around +6 all the way up to +14 (or even longer in some kitties)
and we have never had a nadir later than +8 ,ours is usually between+6 and +8 and from then on BG begins to rise. I have often read that many kittie's nadir is usually the next preshot but I have never seen this with Misho. This is why I usually try to test between +6 and +8 as to know how low he goes with the current dose. Last night I was absolutely happy when the meter flashed 3 times around 140 between +7 /+10 :thumbup
 
Re: Misho 10/29 AMPS-329

MommaOfMuse said:
Most cats on Levemir go up until around +4- +6 like KPassa said. It is just the nature of the insulin. A typical Levemir curve is more a Bell Shape where they go up in the middle and down at either end of a 12 hour period, while Lantus is more a smiley face shape with the lowest point in the middle and higher on either end.

Mel and The Fur Gang

I have always thought that Misho is not the typical Levemir Kitty . He is a mix between them both Lantus and Levemir , like his servant Di who is trying between TRP and SLGS :smile:
 
Re: Misho 11/01 AMPS-270

Good morning everyone! Last night Misho had a green number @+8 - 91 :thumbup
I was planning to make another 0.25 increase today and go up to 2,5U but decided to do it tomorrow . I haven't seen green reading for a long time and as yesterday there was nothing changed in our daily schedule I wonder if I will see another green number today. If I have understood correctly I have to stop increasing the dose once Misho has more blue and green readings on his ss for most of the time and this is why I think we still need to go up with the dose. I also give his AM and PM food at 3 meals. I can't be with him all the time but I now feed him 50gr at insulin shot and 25gr. @+4 and +8. I am not sure Misho is happy as these mini meals are like a bite for him :-D As his food will most likely be delivered next week from Germany I give him now only 200grams per day(which is 50grams less) as I don't have enough quantity left but I add of those treats I ordered for him last time and I guess some more days won't be a problem. Unfortunately his food is not available in Bulgaria and I also cannot afford to order big quantities at once but next time I will do my best.

Btw what does '5 p's " mean ? I guess these are typical things a healthy cat does daily but honestly I can think only of three beginning with p :smile: :oops: Can you please tell me the meaning of this phrase. Thank you !

Have a happy weekend all of you :thumbup
 
Re: Misho 11/01 AMPS-270

LOL
5p's - i think this is what they are.
Peeing, pooping, playing, purring & preening
 
Re: Misho 11/01 AMPS-270

tibbs5 said:
LOL
5p's - i think this is what they are.
Peeing, pooping, playing, purring & preening

Thank you Nadine ! I only guessed peeing, pooping and purring :lol: I didn't know the word preen I would use clean :razz: So one new word learnt today.
Misho is OK with 4 p's then :smile: He never plays and shows no interest to any cat toys I bring to him. I thought he doesn't purr either but may be a week ago when I stayed with him overnight he cuddled and purred a lot and it was really a good feeling to hear this.

I have just been with Misho to test @+8 and the meter flashed another nice green number just like last night :thumbup This brought to my mind the thought that maybe it is wise to put off the increase and keep this dose for a time. My idea is that most likely his body will need some more time to get used to numbers like 90 before I go with increase and begin to see lower readings than that and avoid bounces if this is at all possible of course. :roll:

Any thoughts with regard this decision of mine are welcome. Thank you !
 
Re: Misho 11/01 AMPS-270 @+8 - 90

I am sure that someone with more experience will tell you but i would think that since you are not with him all the time that you should hold off on increase for a while because you don't want him going too low if you are not there. Someone else will advise you. Great job Di :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: Misho 11/01 AMPS-270 @+8 - 90

If he keeps getting nadirs in the double digits just leave his dose alone. Unless of course he earns himself a reduction by dropping below 50.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 11/01 AMPS-270 @+8 - 90

Thank you Nadine and Mel :YMHUG:
MommaOfMuse said:
If he keeps getting nadirs in the double digits just leave his dose alone.
Mel and The Fur Gang

Let's hope this is what will happen :thumbup
 
Re: Misho 11/01 PMPS - 121

I have just arrived for our PM shot and unexpectedly PMPS -121 . My no shoot is 150 shall I just wait w/o feeding Misho? At +8 his reading was 90 , what should I do if within 30 min I don't see 150? Hope any of you is online .
 
Re: Misho 11/01 PMPS -121

I think I managed to change the 911 icon but I am on cell so if I didn't I appologize. Tested again after 30 min and the reading was 198. I don't think this rise is normal for 30 min only so I looked again at the first test strip and may be 121 was a wrong reading as I think the blood drop didn't fill all of the test spot. I don't know if you understand what I say :oops: As you know I use flashlight and may be I should check more carefully. Anyway I shot 30 min later fed him as usual and will come back at +4 to test and give next portion if his PM meal .
 
Re: Misho 11/01 PMPS -121

Hey sorry no one was about (not that I can really advise) but you dealt with it really well.

If it happens again and no one is about then post on the tight regulation board as there are usually more people online. The first time I had to shoot lower than normal I asked for advice and and waited 20 minutes and if it is rising from the last time go ahead and give the shot. As Misho makes progress you will begin to have to deal with lower numbers.

I found it useful to make a plan so I knew what I would do when it happened again. In the evening I test remi's blood about 10 minutes before his shot is due so even if I have to wait 20 minutes I am only 10 minutes late with it.
 
Re: Misho 11/01 PMPS -121@+6,5-25 !!! @ +8- 83

Thank you both for your comments ! The link was absolutely helpful , it is amazing how many members were there to help :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup Most likely due to the time difference I usually don't see many of you online when I post so I browsed the sticky post about low pre shots and I was ready to shoot even below 150 . Misho earned a reduction tonight, at + 5 he was at 83 but Di dozed off w/o setting the alarm and next test was at + 6,5 when the meter flashed 25 at me :o :shock: I gave Misho his last portion of the pm food which he usually has at +8 , I added 2spoons more and several drops of honey. Retested after 15 min- 38 , after half an hour 78. Misho didn't show any signs of hypo. He was actually sleeping on my lap when Istartled and tested at +6,5 . Definitely he was happy to have some extra food and continued to cuddle and purr while his servant was browsing the forum trying not to fall asleep. I have just tested again @+7,5 - 83 and I guess we are already in the safe range. As I have read that honey and regular food wear off quickly I will test again at + 9 just to be on the safe side. I guess Misho will bounce after this drop but I have to decrease the dose with 0,25 if I follow the protocol. It will be a sleepless night it is 2:30 here, though Misho doesn't seem to agree with me sleeping soundly on my lap cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon I-)
 
Re: Misho 11/01 PMPS -121 @+6,5-25!!! @+8 - 83

yes Di. you are an angel. you take such good care of Misho. and you said you have no electricity there? you are amazing. ((((hugs to you ))))
 
Re: Misho 11/01 PMPS -121 @+6,5-25!!! @+8 - 83

Glad you caught the low number!

The Lantus TR forum is a good place to go for emergencies and also for more examples of what can be done under various circumstances.
 
Re: Misho 11/01 PMPS -121 @+6,5-25!!! @+8 - 83

Di

What a fantastic cat mum you are. Misho is one very lucky kitty to have you looking after him. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110

Hi everyone we are again here with pre shot of 110 and no one of you online :smile:
phlika29 said:
I found it useful to make a plan so I knew what I would do when it happened again. In the evening I test remi's blood about 10 minutes before his shot is due so even if I have to wait 20 minutes I am only 10 minutes late with it.
Today I decided to follow Sarah's advice and tested 10 minutes earlier - 110 .This time I am sure the test was OK, so I re tested 20 minutes later - 103 , I have decided to shoot once I see rising number so I tested again at 6:45 p.m. 30 minutes later than Misho's shooting time and reading was 121. I shot normal dose of 2U, gave Misho about 70grams of his food and came to a friend of mine living nearby to post in the forum I just didn't want to use my cell as the battery is fully charged now and I want it to stay full as I won't be able to charge it during the night and I might need it . I will be back to test at +1 just to be sure Misho is not dropping and then I will drive home as I have to walk my dogs and feed my cats but will be back to stay overnight.
I hope I will be able to manage with the situation but it will be much easier if by chance I can talk to someone online. Keep fingers crossed for us I believe I made the right decision as I read that experienced users in TRP forum would shoot any number above 50 which means it is possible . Have to go back now. I won't be able to access our ss through my cell if I have a minute I will do it at home before I leave.
I am sorry I haven't answered all your posts but thank you for your kind words. You all do great job with your kitties so I don't feel being different it is just a bit difficult for me.
Have a nice evening all of you ! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110

Di

I will make sure I am about tonight but my knowledge is limited but I will make sure i direct other more experienced users to this thread if need be. What I have found is that the lower you shoot the less the blood glucose will drop and if it does drop below the 50 you need to keep calm and just give a little bit (1 teaspoon) of gravy from a high carb food or honey on a low carb treat. You then wait twenty minutes and retest, and then repeat if necessary but certainly keep testing.

I will link the threads that will help you most tonight.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.

Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110 @+1 -198

phlika29 said:
Di
I will link the threads that will help you most tonight.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Thank you my dear :YMHUG: I have read all of this today . I thought I am ready to shoot low but it is really difficult when you see the low reading on the meter. I have enough test strips,9 boxes delivered from UK 2 weeks ago,I have honey and hopefully won't make the same mistake as last night when I fell asleep. It will be sleepless night again I guess but hopefully for the good. I have to go now,thank you for your concern cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110 @+1 -198

I thought you would be well versed in what to do but I know its nice to know others are about if needed :-D

Looks like the food at shot time raised the level as expected. I have been experimenting with giving remi smaller amounts food at shot time, +2 and +4. I find this helps to keep him from dropping too low too quickly. Difficult to achieve if you aren't at home of course unless you have a timed feeder.
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110 @+1 -198

hi Di
i will check on you too when i get home. as sarah said, if no one is on relaxed forum then post on the TR forum. they are also great over there and very experienced too and there are usually more people on line. they will stay up with you too. talk to you later.
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110 @+1 -198 @+4- 63

phlika29 said:
Looks like the food at shot time raised the level as expected. I have been experimenting with giving remi smaller amounts food at shot time, +2 and +4. I find this helps to keep him from dropping too low too quickly. Difficult to achieve if you aren't at home of course unless you have a timed feeder.
Quite difficult, yes. At least I now feed him at shot/ +4 and +8 when I test. I have just tested @+4 - 63. Fed Misho another 50grams more than I usually do at this time but tonight he will need it.
Nadine don't bother , most likely I won't be able to post all the time because when I use I-net my battery goes down very quickly and I can't recharge the cell here. I hope the night won't be too stressful for both of us. Actually Misho is again more than happy with the extra meal and is now purring loudly cuddling on my lap cat_pet_icon
EDIT - 40min later BG-41 ! Misho earned another 0,25 U reduction as well as Thrive Tuna treats with some honey. Hope the food he ate @+4 will raise his BG soon :roll:
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110 @+1 -198 @+4-63

Hi di

You seem to be handling it just fine. Misho is working those numbers tonight and you obviously know what to do. Just keep monitoring him and I am sure you will steer the numbers just fine.
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110 @+1 -198 @+4-63

hey Di
you are becoming an expert with steering those numbers. misho def earned a reduction with those low numbers. good luck Di
 
Re: Misho 11/02 PMPS -110 @+1 -198 @+4-63

Hello, Di.

In addition to looking after Misho, be sure to look after yourself (and keep warm!). :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 11/03 AMPS -367

Good morning everyone- finally I can post here. My home I-net was down when I came back home so I am a bit late with info this morning.
First things first- THANK YOU to all of you who help us always when we need it :YMHUG: No matter I am not in constant contact with you I know I can always read your thoughts and take advice when I feel it difficult to make decision myself.
phlika29 said:
Hi di
You seem to be handling it just fine. Misho is working those numbers tonight and you obviously know what to do. Just keep monitoring him and I am sure you will steer the numbers just fine.
Actually it didn't work exactly like this. I was trying to steer a steady course :-D remembering all I have read but Misho's BG decided to wreck my nerves. Twice within hour and a half the meter flashed at 41 though I fed Misho 2 extra meals second one with added Animonda Diabetic kibbles and with both meals tuna treats with honey.
tibbs5 said:
hey Di
you are becoming an expert with steering those numbers. misho def earned a reduction with those low numbers. good luck Di

I have a lot to learn yet Nadine as I think it was my mistake to see twice 41, I had to re test in not more than 15 minutes intervals I guess :oops:

Anyway as I was once told there are no mistakes only experience.
This morning we ended up with quite a good bounce which I think is normal having in mind the numbers from last night. Another decrease of dose and I shot 1,75U .
Hope this bounce will clear soon and what I wish for is decreasing the insulin as for me this means things are getting better and better.
Critter Mom said:
Hello, Di.

In addition to looking after Misho, be sure to look after yourself (and keep warm!). :YMHUG:

I try Aine, it is not that cold yet ,we have a temperature of about 4-5 degrees C but frankly speaking I feel more cold may be because of the insufficient sleep :smile: :razz:
Have to go now. Have a successful week everyone. Fondest regards from overseas from Misho and me :thumbup cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 11/04 AMPS -419 @+8- 216 PMPS- 319

Critter Mom said:
You two OK, Di?

:YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

Hi Aine ! I have just come back home and I was wondering whether to go back and test @+8 just to see how low he will drop :roll: Last night I didn't, Misho has pretty high numbers especially the pre shots after reducing the dose to 1,75 but I will give it one more day to see if they will go down and if not i will go up to skinny 2U. Misho always reacts like this to reductions , he earns them but doesn't respond well to reduced dose . It also might be a bounce as he dropped quite low the other day, we will see. What bothers me is that he again coughs :sad: and the thing is we don't know what causes it. He sometimes just doesn't and sometimes I hear him quite often. Well I mean at least 2-3 times a day and I wish I could do something to help him as definitely I don't find this cough normal. Thank you for asking Aine , I hope you are doing fine at home cat_pet_icon :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

I am planning to go up and shoot skinny 2U tomorrow morning. I have read a lot about earned reduction and everywhere it is said if it doesn't work we should go back without waiting. Obviously there are other kitties like Misho who do not respond well to reduction I mean when it is the full one and I read they recommend "shaving" the dose in such cases. I am going to do exactly this for his morning shot and I hope to see better numbers. Do you think it is wise to ask the members using the TRP before I change the dose? It is always better to know what more experienced people think :roll:
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

hi Di
might be a good idea to post in TR. there are alot more people on over there
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

tibbs5 said:
hi Di
might be a good idea to post in TR. there are alot more people on over there

I did. My idea was that members following the Tight protocol will have different point of view and reading their thoughts will help me to make decision in this situation. I have enough time to our morning shot it is 7 p.m. here :smile: Thank you Sarah :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

I would personally take him back to 2u and hold to see where he settles out at. He earned the reduction on 2.25, then you only dropped for a day before reducing again. The 2u never had a chance to settle and for his shed to readjust to the lower dose. Rushing dose changes with a depot insulin only gets you a wildly swing cat.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

MommaOfMuse said:
I would personally take him back to 2u and hold to see where he settles out at. He earned the reduction on 2.25, then you only dropped for a day before reducing again. The 2u never had a chance to settle and for his shed to readjust to the lower dose. Rushing dose changes with a depot insulin only gets you a wildly swing cat.
Mel and The Fur Gang

Yes I reduced the dose twice as with the reduced 2U he dropped to 41 twice in one night and I didn't know I have to wait before reduction. I just followed the rule to take reduction of 0.25 when the BG dops under 50 and was afraid it is not safe to shoot 2U .It seems it was my mistake :oops:
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

Di,
Just going to add my 2 cents here...I'd listen to Mel - she has more experience than many others. She's 'broken more of her toys' than anyone I've ever seen and I've been around a while. There's always differing opinions, yes there's more people over in TR but many of them actually use Mel's approach rather than true 'TR'. It's good to research and get lots of opinions but that doesn't mean they are know more. TR protocol calls for many things that lots of people can't truly do.

I agree with Mel's comment - 2 drops under 50 in the same cycle doesn't mean 2 reductions. Many things could have affected that double drop. My currently 'only' diabetic is EXTREMELY hard to get out of hypo numbers - the few times he's done it, he'll hand me hypo numbers for many hours up and down regardless of how much Karo I pour on his head... :roll: It also takes a LONG time for Dakota to settle into a dose - I can't use the TR rules for his increases or even decreases, he didn't read the manual. KT (GA 2 months ago) was easy to raise - he could look at the Karo bottle and jump, gravy food would raise him.

It seems it was my mistake

I don't think it was a mistake so don't let that get you down - it was a learning experience - exactly how we ALL learned!

HUGS and DANCES!
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

Typically, Tight Regulation has you wait 3 to 5 days for a dose to settle, while Start Low, Go Slow adjusts at 7 days or more.

If you ever need to reduce quickly - ex the cat isn't eating, or has had vomiting or diarrhea - skipping a dose is the fastest way to drain the depot.

Also, I had a vet tell me to cut a dose in half when I was fasting a diabetic before a dental, which suggests that some insulin, even when fasting, may be OK so long as the glucose is elevated.
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

Thank you all for your thoughts !I now know I wrongly reduced Misho's dose twice so I will shoot 2U tomorrow morning.

Squeaky and KT said:
Di,
I don't think it was a mistake so don't let that get you down - it was a learning experience - exactly how we ALL learned!

HUGS and DANCES!
Thank you :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

hi Di
yes this is how we all learn.
hope you and Misho are doing ok today.
hugs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top