Re: Misho 12/22 AMPS 425 @+6 288 PMPS- 461

Status
Not open for further replies.

Di&Misho

Member Since 2014
Good morning everyone ! I have a short question only. Can you please look at Misho's ss and tell me if I have to reduce his dose for his AM shot today ( it is 3 a.m. here). We have never had such a day with surfing in blues and greens only and I don't know if it will be for one day only or Misho will be lucky to have thse nice numbers longer. He always has failed his reductions so far but it seems that if I keep him on 2U it will be too much.
I am sorry I have no time to read and post lately but circumstances are beyond my control for the moment. Thank you to all of you who give us a hand in times of need :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

previous thread
 
Re: Misho 12/02 AMPS 133/ PMPS 117 - @+4- 40, advice needed

Well my computer seems to not want to load his spreadsheet, so just going off the numbers posted that 40 at +4 earned him a dose reduction of .25 so I would reduce his dose by at least that much. With SLGS reductions are given if the cat drops below 90 with Tight Regulation cats earn a reduction if they drop below 50. So under either protocol Misho earned his dose reduction.

If I can get his spreadsheet to load for me later I will try to answer your other question about if this is a one time thing or if he is finally starting to stay in good numbers. (Of course I can't load my own spreadsheets at the moment either....gives computer a swift kick)

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/02 AMPS 133/ PMPS 117 - @+4- 40, advice needed

I find that if I zoom out (make smaller) the spreadsheet, if patterns exist, I will be able to spot them when there is a fair bit of testing.

I think he is starting to settle down. Some of the reds in recent days may be due to some bouncing from going lower that he was used to.

You'll have to eyeball 1.75 units, as no syringes mark that, only half units at most.
 
Re: Misho 12/02 AMPS 133/ PMPS 117 - @+4- 40, advice needed

Thank you Mel! I came back home just to ask this question and I will have to go back so here are his numbers for today just in case you are online to read :
AMPS - 133
+2 - 176
+4 - 178
+6 - 157
+8 - 128

PMPS - 117
+1 187
+3 - 88
+4 - 40 some honey and dry food
+5 - 61
+6 - 72
+7 - 61
+8 -90 some dry food as I left

P.S. BJM- thank you ! I always use the printed patterns and I guess this is a precise dosing. I just hope this reduction will work as Misho is never happy with them :roll:
 
Re: Misho 12/02 AMPS 133/ PMPS 117 - @+4- 40, advice needed

Thanks BJ for looking at his spreadsheet since the dinosaur is being stubborn today, :-D (Santa said he was bringing a new laptop this year. :thumbup )

From just his numbers today that is a beautiful cycle although a little lower there in the middle than we would like especially since he doesn't live with you. And he may be higher tomorrow just because of the dry food as it likes to hang on in some cats for a day or two, others will process it just as quickly as they do canned food. Plus he will also probably bounce some as well.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/02 AMPS 133/ PMPS 117 - @+4- 40, advice needed

I gave him only a little bit of dry food Mel and I hope this will not affect his BG that much. Will shoot 1.75 this morning I really wish we could start reducing his insulin dose and I believe the time to do so has come.
I am glad you both were online to help with advice before his AM shot.Thank you cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 12/02 AMPS 133/ PMPS 117 - @+4- 40, advice needed

You're welcome hon

I'm glad to see him finally doing so well and having that long beautiful surf today. dancing_cat

I'm usually here for a few hours in my evening. :-D At least until I fall over....lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497

Good morning everyone. Since yesterday Misho is on the reduced 1,75U. I couldn't test him at +8 to see how low he went but what bothers me are his very high pre-shots. I understand it might be a bounce from his green numbers the other day but my question is why these pre shot are that high. Today we have 497 and yesterday it was 518. Misho is obviously a bouncy cat and it is not the first time he does so but why so high ? Thank you :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497

I spotted that on his spreadsheet, Di. I'm very interested in hearing what might have caused them. I notice that you left out some dry food for him. I wonder whether that be a possible influence for the highest AM value?
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497

It is not the food I am sure. I left only a little bit because it was still +6 his BG was 99 so I didn;t want him to go very low. Besides the previous day we had AMPS 518 :sad:
The dry food I give is actually diabetic formula of Interga Protect of Animonda the brand I used to feed Misho with before I switched him to Granatapet so I guess it is not that high in carbs.
Today I tested Misho 3 times after AM shot and he was in blue numbers the lowest at +11 - 130 . At +8 when he usually has his nadir, BG has alredy rised slightly and I guess it will be again in the reds at pre shot. I really don't find these pre shots normal and I wish I knew the reason. :roll:
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497

Di&Misho said:
...The dry food I give is actually diabetic formula of Interga Protect of Animonda the brand I used to feed Misho with before I switched him to Granatapet so I guess it is not that high in carbs.

Unless you have the as fed or dry matter basis numbers for the nutrients, you can't assume a diabetic dry food is low carb. It is likely to be medium carb, with slightly slower breakdown.
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497

BJM said:
Unless you have the as fed or dry matter basis numbers for the nutrients, you can't assume a diabetic dry food is low carb. It is likely to be medium carb, with slightly slower breakdown.

You're right and I know that even diabetic formulas are not preferred food for diabetic cats and I have only 1 small packet to use it when Misho drops very low.
What I meant was that it is not the food that causes the high pre shots. I have given Misho some kibbles in other cases when he was very low and this has never caused significant food spike or pre shots like the ones we have now. I hope it is not any underlying problem again :?
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497

It's hard to tell if the dry might nor might not be the problem. Some cats are just more carb sensitive than others. And it might not even be carbs that might be the problem. It could be something within the food itself. One of the ingredients it contains could be throwing him back up. Like with Autumn, beef will shoot her to the moon. There was another cat on the board a few years back that if his food contained dried eggs would make him sky rocket, although fresh cooked eggs had no effect.

Also Bounces can happen from several different reasons.

1) Dropping into unfamiliar levels as in if the cat is use to running in the 300's a drop to even the 200's can set it off

2) a steep/fast drop, going from 400's down to double digits

3) Dropping dangerously low.

I need to run briefly and go feed my bunch but as soon as I'm done I'll jump back on and go have a peek at his spreadsheet and see if I can see anything that might be setting off a bounce.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497

Okay Di,

I got a look at his spreadsheet and yep the high preshots are bounces, and here is what are setting him off. If you look at the recent numbers he is sky high at preshot and then he drops into the blues. Going from 400/500 into the 100's is a very steep drop which to his body feels like the floor is falling out from under him so his body reacts and throws him back up again.

Now I learned to use Lev a little differently when the Lev ISG was active than what is now the standard here for increases and decreases in dosage. I was taught to look at the percentage rather than a set figure.

If he was living with you, where you could test for ketones on a regular basis I think I would suggest trying to take him down enough to flatten him out, even if that was running extremely high and then very slowly bringing the dose back up. But in your circumstance, that isn't safe for him. So right now all you can do is grit your teeth and ride out those highs. Bounces aren't necessarily a bad thing, what they do tell us is that pancreas is at least functioning somewhat, not enough to keep him in normal numbers but enough to sense a low, and then his liver is doing what it is suppose to in that it response to that perceived low. We both know that what his body thinks is a low really isn't and that he is perfectly safe in those numbers, but his body doesn't read it that way.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497

MommaOfMuse said:
Okay Di,
If you look at the recent numbers he is sky high at preshot and then he drops into the blues. Going from 400/500 into the 100's is a very steep drop which to his body feels like the floor is falling out from under him so his body reacts and throws him back up again.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Yes Mel,this is what I found not normal - I mean dropping from 400 to 100's . I thought the insulin is too much as I reduce in small increments -0.25 instead of 0,50. But Misho always has failed reductions so far this is why I prefer to reduce by 0.25. When I tested him and saw the double digits I thought of reducing to 1,5U as this will not allow him to drop that low. I understand his body doesn't like the steep drop and feel uneasy with these very high pre shots and at the same time I am afraid to reduce the dose :oops: I will see what will happen tonight ( I can only test him @+4) and tomorrow and if MIsho continues to drop that low and bounce to high pre shots I will reduce to 1,5U for a few days . I don't know if the Protocol allows this or not but I will try.
 
Re: Misho 12/04 AMPS 497 @+7 130 PMPS - 421

Hi Di.
Tibbs is the same way. He always bounces high. i am still waiting for him to settle. i hope Misho settles soon too.
 
Re: Misho 12/05 AMPS 211 - shot 1.5f

Thank you Nadine, I know it is difficult with Tibbs, this is one of the ss I regularly check just to see if he has dropped lower than he usually does. I will be very happy for you both as I know how much you аre worried about your fur friend cat_pet_icon
Misho's AMPS was 211 today. I have noticed something very strange and I nearly know if he will have a low next pre shot. When his pre shot is high pink or red and at +4 he hasn't dropped much meaning he is just a bit low than the pre shot number he usually drops slowly and his next pre shot is his nadir. It always happens like this and if you take a look at his ss and the days when he was with low PS you will also notice it.
So when this morning I saw this number I wanted to try reduced 1,5U dose as I was sure if I shoot 1,75 he will drop very low. Fortunately Mel was online ( I have never seen her online at our morning shots) but today she was ther for us and agreed I have to give it a try. As I usually go to Misho with prefilled syringe I had to expel some insulin but as I use my cell as background light and the flashlight from above I was not sure I can precisely dose 1,5 and as to not shoot below 1,5 when I checked with the magnifying glass and I saw it was 1,5f I didn't try to expel more and I shot. I just pray this reduced dose will work and Misho will have nice numbers today. :roll:
Thank you Mel for your backing and good luck to your kitty :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 12/06 AMPS - 524

Good morning everyone. Today is Misho's second day on 1,5U and I think for the first time he didn't fail the reductions as yesterday he even dropped to 77. I can't still figure out why he sky rockets at pre shots especially the morning ones. I don't stay with him for overnight lately and I am afraid he drops too low in the greens after +4 when I test and feed him. I can't think of other reason for these black and red numbers at pre shot. Last night at +4 he was 204 so I fed him about 30 grams extra food as I knew I won't be there to monitor him later. And today unpleasant surprise of AMPS 524 :sad: I think it is wise to reduce his dose If today he drops again in greens. I don't think his body feels comfortable with these steep drops from redand black to green numbers and bouncing high back in the end oh the cycle . I am very much worried about this pre shots but I have the feeling Misho made some progress and I am happy he didn't fail his reduction. I so much hope that soon he will settle in nice numbers and will not bounce like this.
 
Re: Misho 12/06 AMPS - 524

How long a fast does he have before AMPS, Di? Also, does he eat everything that you put down for him straight away or does he ever graze his food?
 
Re: Misho 12/06 AMPS - 524 @+8 - 367 PMPS -418

Critter Mom said:
How long a fast does he have before AMPS, Di? Also, does he eat everything that you put down for him straight away or does he ever graze his food?

If I understand correctly your question you ask when he is usually last fed before AM shot? His evening meal is lately shared in two 1/2 at PM shot and 1/2 at +4 when I test him. His morning food he has at insuling shot 50grams , at+4 50 grams and +8 - 30 grams.
Misho is not the cat that will graze he is always hungry and eats immediately everything I put in his bowl. I always add some hot water to his meal as I have with me a bottle to warm his ear before the test. I do this because since he is on wet food he doesn't drink water at all and I thinkit is not good.
Todays numbers are pretty high :roll: I said he didn't fail his reduction and I hope to not have been mistaken :sad:
 
Re: Misho 12/06 AMPS - 524 @+8 - 367 PMPS -418

Di
i hope he comes down soon.
come on Misho. you can do it.
 
Re: Misho 12/06 AMPS - 524 @+8 - 367 PMPS -418

Thanks for the additional info, Di. Looking at Misho's data, it looks like he favours running lower at night. Saoirse was similar. Her BGs used to spike big time if she fasted too long, doubly so if she skipped a feed in the latter half of the PM cycle - it was a bit like a combination of dawn phenomenon and a liver dump caused by a fasting spike. I wonder whether Misho might be doing something similar. Is Misho still underweight? I'm just wondering whether it would be worth experimenting some evening by feeding him extra at the last PM feed?

I've been looking at Misho's spreadsheet data, and in particular the data for the PM cycle of 1 December. I notice that Misho's BG went DOWN for his PM+4 and that was after being fed some dry food with honey at PM+3. I'm wondering whether that drop at PM+4 might possibly be due to the additional carbs actually stimulating the pancreas to produce more insulin? Maybe Mel might confirm or deny whether this is a possible interpretation. It's one of the smoothest MIsho has had recently.
 
Re: Misho 12/07 AMPS - 380

Thank you for stopping by here Nadine, you always have something cheerful to say :YMHUG:

Aine- I have been told many times that small meals throughout the day are better for Misho but it is not possible for me. I am really sorry I can't do this in the evenings. I knеw about food spike but for the first time I read that Misho can spike because he is fasting long :oops: If I feed him the same schedule in the evenings I have to go to his place at 2:30 a.m. every night as I don't have timed feeder :oops:
Misho doesn't put on weight though I feed him 260 grams per day. This is the amount with the extra 20% for him as you advised us and he continues to have a ravenous appetite. He licks clean his bowl and cries for more. When I used to feed him only at AM and PM shot he was very happy and looked as he has eaten his fill But now I share these 130 grams in small meals as many of you suggested and for him 50grams per meal is like nothing :sad:
I don't know if he clears a bounce or it is the reduced dose but his nadirs seem high since yesterday. I will see what will happen today.
Thank you so much for your thoughts Aine :YMHUG:
To all of you and your kitties lots of positive vibes from our side of the world cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 12/07 AMPS -380

Morning, Di. :YMHUG:

If Misho's still underweight, then maybe a bit extra on the last meal of the PM cycle might help him to gain a little and also maybe help his AMPS. I think it's worth a try.
 
Re: Misho 12/07 AMPS -380 @+7-144 PMPS-421

Critter Mom said:
Morning, Di. :YMHUG:

If Misho's still underweight, then maybe a bit extra on the last meal of the PM cycle might help him to gain a little and also maybe help his AMPS. I think it's worth a try.

I will try Aine.He already had 1/2 of his food after PM shot I will go and test @10:30p.m.and will add to the rest 1/2 some extra food. His PMPS red again :cry:
 
Re: Misho 12/07 AMPS -380 @+7-144 PMPS-421

Fingers and paws crossed that the extra bit of grub will help.

:YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 12/08 AMPS -472 @+8-153 PMPS- 455

Critter Mom said:
Fingers and paws crossed that the extra bit of grub will help.

:YMHUG: cat_pet_icon


Last night at +4 - 196. I gave him the rest 65 grams of his PM meal plus 50extra. Today's AMPS - 472 :cry: if I don't test after +4 may be he drops to numbers that earn reduction. Don't know what to think. I wish I knew all the answers so I can do something and help him :oops:
 
Re: Misho 12/09 AMPS -365 @+4-146 @+6-128 PMPS-524

Today's PMPS - 524 :shock: :sad: I didn't know what to do but I think these steep drops has to stop and I thought reducing his insulin dose will help. I am not sure it was the right thing to do so but I shot 1,25U . As of today I decided to feed Misho as I did before, his meal shared in two at insulin shot and @+4. I still add hot water to his food and it looks like a soup but Misho is OK with that. I believe this helps to flush ketones if any.
I wish I had an answer of my question . I know why Misho bounces,he has always done this but why he began to bounce THAT high :oops:
I was wondering whether to post in the other forum so I can have the opinion of more people but I will wait to see what will happen after the reduced dose.
Any thoughts that might help are welcome.Thank you! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 12/09 AMPS -365 @+4-146 @+6-128 PMPS-524

Poor Misho. :sad:

At least you tried the slightly larger meal, Di. So much of this process is trial and error (something that frustrates me no end at times in my efforts to help Saoirse, especially with her finnikiness about food with the pancreatitis :YMSIGH: ).

It might be an idea to open a thread on the TR and/or Health boards with a link to this thread, Di. Additional eyes on the problem might spot something that could help. It will be interesting to see what effect the lower dose will have on the bounces. I can't suggest anything because I didn't have problems like that with Saoirse.
 
Re: Misho 12/09 AMPS -365 @+4-146 @+6-128 PMPS-524

Critter Mom said:
Poor Misho. :sad:

It will be interesting to see what effect the lower dose will have on the bounces.

I have just come back from his +4 test - again a steep drop 243 from PMPS 524. I gave Misho the rest of his meal and added some dry food :roll:
 
Re: Misho 12/09 AMPS -365 @+4-146 @+6-128 PMPS-524

This is just a shot in the dark here, Di. What about giving him a bit extra for his PS meal with a view to maybe cushioning/slowing the drop? Going on how Saoirse's BG data went, I wonder whether the food is stimulating Misho's pancreas into producing a bit more insulin? Again, this is just speculation on my part. Wish I knew more about diabetes. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Misho 12/10 AMPS -504

Critter Mom said:
This is just a shot in the dark here, Di. What about giving him a bit extra for his PS meal with a view to maybe cushioning/slowing the drop? Going on how Saoirse's BG data went, I wonder whether the food is stimulating Misho's pancreas into producing a bit more insulin? Again, this is just speculation on my part. Wish I knew more about diabetes. :YMSIGH:

I already did twice Aine. On December 8th I added to his last PM meal at +4 some dry food, the same I did last night. I shot 1.25 but Misho again dropped very rapidly at+4 and this morning we woke up with AMPS of 504 Thank you for trying to figure out what is going on Aine Last night I read very carefully the comments again and I think that what Mel meant a few posts above was to decrease Misho's dose as to make him flatten. This is what I did yesterday for his PM shot and I thought that he won't drop that fast but he did again at +4. May be today he won't , I don't know what to think but there is something that is not right and I can't form a pretty good idea what it is.
Will post in the other forum as well

Critter Mom said:
It might be an idea to open a thread on the TR and/or Health boards with a link to this thread, Di. Additional eyes on the problem might spot something that could help
This is what I meant when I thought of posting there.
 
Re: Misho 12/10 AMPS -504

hi Di
don't forget that the dose you shot last night is not really just that dose that you are seeing in his bg numbers. he is still using insulin from his shed so it may be 6 to 8 cycles before you see the effect of the dose change. i so understand what you are going through. our boys don't like to follow the rules. they are definitely making us practice patience. i hope you will see better numbers soon. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 12/10 AMPS -504

tibbs5 said:
hi Di
don't forget that the dose you shot last night is not really just that dose that you are seeing in his bg numbers. he is still using insulin from his shed so it may be 6 to 8 cycles before you see the effect of the dose change. i so understand what you are going through. our boys don't like to follow the rules. they are definitely making us practice patience. i hope you will see better numbers soon. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

it seems Di doesn't make the right decison lately, Nadine so hopefully the experienced folks will help her to not err :oops: Thank you :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 12/11 AMPS -520

To some uknown reason I couldn't access the FDMB for 2 days :cry: Did this happen to any of you? I realized how important it is for me to have contact with the people I met here as in days of trouble I really don't know what to do :oops:
In case any of you would like to stay in contact with me send me a PM please to exchange any other possible ways we can hear from each other when it is not possible to log in the forum.
I posted in the TR forum and what I could read left me under the impression the reduction I did was wrong. So I increased to 1,5U . Yesterday Misho's numbers were high,no steep drop and I thought our AMPS will be at least pink but we woke up with black pre shot number again :cry:
I browsed the other thread to see if there is any comment or advice left but there was none after I answered the questions. I followed Wendy's suggestion to feed at +3 instead of +4.
So many people who need help and I understand it is not possible to follow every single thread .
I don't know what to do :?
 
Re: Misho 12/10 AMPS -504

Hi Di,

Sorry I've been so scarce around here this week but losing our sweet Angel has really hit me hard.

Okay looking at his spreadsheet you are getting the same pattern that I was getting with Autumn before I just took her off, let her factory reset and now I'm adjusting the dose back up. In Autumn's case even a tiny dose had her swinging wildly. So taking her completely off wasn't a big deal because I was here to monitor for ketones when she used the litter tray. I know you can't do that with Misho since he is in a different location than you are.

So here is what I think might be happening with him and how I would handle it if he was mine and I was under the same circumstances as you are with him. Now again I come from a slightly different approach when working with Levemir since I learned it on the Levemir ISG as opposed to Tight Regulation Lantus and just like Relaxed and TR take different approaches to working with both Lantus and Levemir the old Lev ISG used Lev differently than they do over on TR. So from how I learned to gauge dosing with Lev when you are seeing these wild swings is that you lower the dose below what you suspect is close to the ideal get the curve flat even if flat is in the black or red, just so it is flat, Then once the curve is flat, you start raising the dose back up very slowly by .2u at a time instead of the standard by quarter to half units.

Right now if he was mine, I would drop his dose way back to 1u let him stay at that dose regardless of the numbers he hands you (unless under 40) for a week. See if that will take him back to flat. Once he stops swinging like a pendulum then raise the dose so that the entire curve comes down, the minute he starts swinging again hold the dose until he stops bouncing and then go for the next dose increase.

Just my 2 cents worth.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/10 AMPS -504

Hi Mel! No need to apologize , I read about your loss but sometimes I don't even know what to say . I've been there many times as I myself rescue stray animals and I know that whenever I lose the battle a piece of my heart goes away. I don't know how many pieces I have left but it is true that in times of loss we all remain alone to face our pain. It never dies away but with the time we learn to live with it. :YMHUG:
Our PMPS is 427 today I tested in different time and I noticed that BG raised rapidly somewhere between +7 /+8 . reading all comments today I thought to myself that may be all of this has to do with Misho's new food . I have read a lot that with low carb food the cats need less insulin and some of them even don't need it at all when they switch from dry to wet low carb. In our case Misho's previous food was wet but with 7,8% calories from carb and the new one 1.6% this is quite big difference :roll: I am not very good at this but it was just a thought that came up to my mind.
Anyway, I shot 1,25 this evening and I will follow your advice Mel . Honestly I don't feel very comfortable to shoot 1U as I am afraid that Misho will be in very high numbers but as the same time I know you are experienced and I can count on your opinion. I have one question to ask what do you do if your kitties have ketones I mean I know you go to the vet but what is the treatment ? This question might sound silly to you but I need to know the answer.
Let us see what will happen when I reduce Misho's dose to 1U.Please keep fingers crossed and Di will try to not worry very much if his numbers are very high. I said I will try :lol: but I guess you have noticed I am not very good in this :oops:
Thank you for your advice Mel I will give it a try and let's hope this will solve Misho's problem !
 
Re: Misho 12/10 AMPS -504

As far as ketones go, the standard treatment if kitty is still eating on their own is to crank up the insulin, start them on sub-q fluids to flush the ketones out and start stuffing them with food. Ketones in and of themselves are not life threatening, but are a concern because they can turn into DKA very quickly which is life threatening. For them to turn into DKA you have to have a perfect storm of Not enough Food + Not enough insulin + infection or other stress factor like pain, allergy etc.

Misho is probably going to be high for a few days until he stops bouncing like a rubber ball. But much like with my Autumn, you can't find the ideal dose while they are swinging so widely from shot to shot, because not only are you fighting against the normal sugars in their blood stream from just eating, you are fighting all the counter-regulatory hormones.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/10 AMPS -504 @+6 227 PMPS 497

Thank you Mel ! i hope that the water I add to Misho's meals helps, he actually eats soup :-D but is happy with it.
Tomorrow morning I will start him on 1U and God help me to survive one week :lol:
 
Re: Misho 12/12 AMPS -544 on 1U as of today

Good morning ,though good is not the word I would use. Third black pre shot number in a row ,today the highest one and always in the mornings :cry:
Starting Misho on 1U as adviced by Mel.
I have no idea how will I be patient enough to see those nasty numbers but I promised myself to try hard. If only could Misho speak and tell me what is going on with him :?
Keep fingers crossed for my buddy,please !
 
Re: Misho 12/12 AMPS -544 on 1U as of today

hang on Di. i know it will be difficult but Mel's advice is always great. good luck with Misho. i will be thinking of you.
 
Re: Misho 12/14 AMPS -475 on 1U 3rd day

tibbs5 said:
hang on Di. i know it will be difficult but Mel's advice is always great. good luck with Misho. i will be thinking of you.

Actually there is nothing else I can do but follow the advice of the experienced members.Thank you Nadine for your support :YMHUG:
Last night I decided to feed Misho his whole meal at insulin shot as my logic was that this will slow down the fast drop and he won't bounce so high. It seems nothing like this happened as we woke up with AMPS 475 again but I didn't test last night. Today I fed him his full AM meal again and will test at +4.
I thought that shooting 1U will keep him very high but it doesn't look to me it will be like this. So far with pre shot of high reds he drops in his yellows at+4 and I don't know if it is considered fast drop or not :roll:
I really don't know what throws him to these high pre shots but for me it is not just the bounce . I am planning to visit the vet net week and I think Tuesday will be the first possible for me as my car needs repair and I am not sure it will be ready earlier.
Mel, if by chance you read this can you please share some thoughts. Thank you !
 
Re: Misho 12/18-AMPS-509

Good morning everyone. I don't know why I am writing this but just in case someone experienced would be willing to share some thoughts. So far I didn't have any answer of my question what might the reason be for Misho's high pre shots. We all thought it was because of the steep drops but I am not sure anymore it was the right answer. Shooting 1U really flattened his numbers but has in no way affected the high pre shots. I see black ones more and more often especially in the mornings.
As of yesterday I increased Misho's dose to fatty 1U . I can no longer just sit and wait as Misho began to pee more and more, he lost weight and keeping him in this high range is not what is best for him. He has the same ravenous appetite and as he lost weight now he is 3,350kg I feed him 280 grams per day.
I don't know how often I can increase the dose now :roll: Can I do it slowly every day or I have to keep at one dose for 3 days ?
Yesterday I stayed with him some hours as I wanted to take an urine sample. I managed and I rushed to the vet with the syringe for dips stick test only. He said the specific gravity is low 1.010 and PH is very high for a cat 8,5. Sugar in the urine but again NO KETONES . Immediately after taking the urine sample I tested him and he was 368.
My vet says this low carb food is not at all good for Misho and I have to change it as the food always affects the PH of the urine and if Misho keeps it that high it is not good at all for his kidneys. He is absolutely sure that if I change the food to other brand that is higher in carbs and we make another test the PH and the specific gravity will be normal. So I ordered wet vom Fenstein of Animonda and I hope it will be delivered till Friday
On Friday my vet will take sterile urine and we will send the sample in human laboratory for microbiological test.
I am very much worried about my buddy and I want to know what happened and what caused this condition of his.

The good news is that MIsho will soon have his place to call home of his own :thumbup This is the only good news in fact and I am thankful to my friends in Vienna who did their very best to find the perfect family for my boy. His momma will be a very nice lady from the German Diabetic Forum. She follows the protocol ,have diabetic cat and I am sure Misho will be in good hands. Misho will have tests that we cannot do here and that can help fix his problems as here vets say he has no other health problems but still Misho is hard to regulate .
I haven't yet told her my final decision but deep in my heart I know this is our momma to be . Most likely in the beginning of January as now tickets are very expensive I will fly him to Frankfurt. It took a long time but I think we will finally made it and Misho will have all he deserves and I don't give him now. I owe him a lot, I made a promise to him and will be happy to keep it.
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 12/18-AMPS-509

Di

Great news on finding him a home!

Have you read the updated sticky for the Start Low, Go, Slow protocol? It does explain how often you can change the dose and by how much, based on the tests you are able to get.

If you change to an increased carb level in the food, you will need to increase the insulin to compensate. And the Urine specific gravity is elevated because he does need more insulin, so I think I'd go back up to where it was.

I know you're limited in time; is there a way you could shoot every 8 hours, rather than every 12? It might help keep him from getting so high.
 
Re: Misho 12/18-AMPS-509

Di
i'm so happy for you and Misho that you found him a home. that is great news. i hope you will still check in here and let us know how you are doing.
 
Re: Misho 12/18-AMPS-509

Well taking him back to 1u did what I was hoping it would do and that is flatten him out. Now is time to take him back up again since we've stopped those wild swings, and as high as he is I would go up by .5u

Congrats on finding him a home of his own and with someone that has diabetic cat experience! :thumbup Hopefully once he can get to his new home and settled in she will be able to have some more advanced tests and be able to help him more than you could just because of circumstances beyond your control. Sometimes all it takes is just getting them into a home where they feel safe and can de-stress. And I'm sure that Misho is stressed just living in a place that has no power to keep him warm or cool and being lonely when you just can't be with him all the time.

I know my Maxwell was that way, he went from really high while he was at the vet who was caring for him after his owner wanted him put down and then still high in foster care, but once he got to me, Boom OTJ. Hopefully Misho will have just such a success story to tell when he gets to his forever momma

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/19 AMPS-405 @+8 200

Hi there ! BJM, Nadine and Mel , than k you all :idea: :YMHUG:

BJM, the specific gravity is not elevated it is lower than it should be, meaning the urine is very thin I don't know if the word is correct. I noticed that when I took the sample it had no color at all and looked more like water than urine.
About shots I thought only 2 shots per day are normal . What do you mean by shooting every 8 hours and if I do what is the dose for every shot?

Mel, for the moment I shoot 1f as I didn't know I can go up to 1,5U Misho's numbers began to drop last evening I was so happy to see pink pre shot. This morning it is red but actually could be pink :smile: I haven't changed anything only giving Misho more food and don't add so much water in it. I don't know what the PM pre shot will be but I hope so much to see better numbers. Today @+8 Misho dropped to 200 it is funny as in my ss it is blue and in yours it is yellow.
My vet sent urine sample to a human laboratory for urine culture and if ( I hope not) it is positive they will also make a sensitivity test as they do for humans. Of course I believe we won't need it. The general check showed no abnormalities ,my vet says Misho is healthy only his breathing is very strange and my vet has no idea where the problem is. Months ago I thought it might be a cardiomyopathy but the vet specialist at the University clinic where Misho had his X-rays said he doesn't have this condition. His lungs are OK. My vet says such breathing is not always respiratory problem and the cause might be buildup of acid or toxic substances in the blood. Misho doesn't have difficulty breathing but when you look at his flunks you see rapid contractions - I don't know if I explain with the right words. The vet doesn't hear wheezing as he did before when Misho was coughing .I know his momma to be will do her best and Misho will have the tests he needs to fix any possible problem.
I hope his pre shots will begin to drop and I will slowly increase his dose if not I will go u to 1,5 as you suggested and hopefully we will see a god result.
Thank you all for your comments cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 12/18-AMPS-509

I'm so happy for you both that you found him a wonderful home to call his own forever and ever. That is truly one of the best and worst feeling we rescuers get. We are elated for our little ones that are in our care when we know that we've found the perfect match, but our hearts still break when we finally hand that same baby into the arms of their new family. But over the many years I have done rescue I have made so many new friends because of some little unwanted animal when they find their forever homes. I have kept in touch over the years with both the original owners, and the foster parents of my own brood whenever possible. In fact I still email with Cassanova's first mom and Maxwell's foster mom. And even hear from Onyx's rescuer even though he has been at the Bridge now for 2 years. Really hope you will keep us posted on how Misho is doing and even invite his new mom to stop by here occasionally to give us an update or two. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 12/19 AMPS-405 @+8 200 PMPS- 454

Absolutely agree with you Mel. Waving good bye is the most difficult thing for me :cry: I received some other offers and though everyone said that adoption of a sugar cat is so difficult that I should be glad if at all I receive an offer I knew that someday we will find the right person. I insisted very much to find a member of the German forum as I didn't want to give Misho to a person like the one I was in the very beginning-absolutely having no clue what to do. Actually there were two offers but the hubby of the first lady didn't want a second sugar cat and the she had to put off the adoption but it seems Natalie is her friend and she told her about Misho. Natalie knows that we post here and I believe that she will find time to keep you updated. But until then we have some time.
Mel for you and people who can proudly say - I am an animal rescuer...

Video
 
Re: Misho 12/19 AMPS-405 @+8 200 PMPS- 454

That was absolutely beautiful and so very very true, seldom do we have a dime left between paycheck to paycheck but there is always room for one more that needs a warm bed, and a full belly. RESCUE IS MY FAVORITE BREED!

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top