12/24/2011 Spitzer - I think I better think it out again

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Previously

AMPS .... 107 ... and vomit all over the kitchen floor, much of it greenish.

Did I mention he has some GI issues of some sort? He might have gone a bit hypo last night with the stomach issue. Due to the sleep disorder, I didn't wake up, if there was anything to hear.

It also may have been the classic "some cats go lower overnight" scenario.

He didn't remember there was more food on the kitchen counter, where he goes all the time because he likes the water up there better and he likes to put Tux in her place. There was food in the floor plate too, and it had dried out a bit more as there was less in the bowl (spread more thinly = more surface area to dry). May have to do the freezer pack approach with some of it.

Management options include:
1) always give the anti-nausea med in the evening
2) upping the carb content of the evening meal
3) splitting the evening dose in 2, which may make the curve a bit shallower
4) using a slightly lower dose at night

It would be simplest to do the pill and to up the carb amount slightly.

Of course, this morning, when I realized what had happened, I grabbed a can of the 6% carb calories Pro Plan and dumped it on a plate for him, plus got his med for upset stomach and gave that. And gave half of his dose until I saw if he kept it all down. He'll spike if he ate enough and keeps it down. (Time to go check.)

(" I think I better think it out again" is a lyric from a musical, I believe it was Oliver)
 
AMPS 107
+1 171 ... did I mention putting down an entire 3 oz can of the ProPlan (6% calories from carbs, which for him is high)? He did get a little help finishing it off from the others.

The food mix this morning is a bit richer as I cleaned PetSmart out of the 13.2 oz cans of Sophisticat Turkey and Giblets and picked up the remaining 5.5/6 oz cans too (need to go check the label for size), so the ratio will be a bit off

I'm expecting him to go high from the food mix as well as the counterregulatory hormones that the liver produces when the glucose goes too low.

Assuming, of course, that he manages to keep it all down. I'll be checking him a lot today, since I have given the 2nd unit of his 2 unit dose.
 
Bit of a nerve-wracking ride today! kept feeding the higher carb foods, and he managed to surf throught the first half of the cycle. This is a first for him and not something I can keep up unless I'm certain he is eating.

AMPS 107 @ 7:51
___ +1 171 @ 9:07
___ +2 175 @ 10:15
___ +4 164 @ 11:55
___ +6 177 @ 1:53
PMPS 248 @ 7:28

I gave him the ondansetron for nausea this evening and fed him, then backed the insulin down to 1.5 units for tonight, since I'd sleep through any noises he might make if he had problems again.

Its possible 1.75 units might work _if_ he can keep the food down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top