BJM
Member Since 2010
Previously
Venita expressed concern about the greenish vomit yesterday.
He saw the vet Friday afternoon and she's going with anti-nausea meds and appetite stimulant meds. I and the vets already know he has some sort of liver issue, since ultrasound and needle biopsy in August 2011 identified "diffuse hepatopathy".
For all I know he has cancer of some sort; if he does, I'm up for palliative care, not chemotherapy. Chemo is expensive, stressful on the cat and owner, and generally aims for control, not cure, making it a long, drawn out process of watching your cat die. Been there, done that. I won't do that to him, nor to me. Liver cancer is not known to be easily cured, if that is what he has, and he'd be suffering during all that.
I think he just got too hungry the night before and there was nothing to vomit except bile. I hope that was it, but he has something else going on and it might've been that, or some combination.
I watched him like a hawk yesterday, even had my friend Mike come over to sit with him before Spitzer hit his nadir while I went out to get cat food and some nominal groceries. Spitzer didn't appear to be in any distress, so whatever is going on, is going on.
I made sure to give the ondansetron last night, left out lots of food, and reduced the insulin back to 1.5. There was no apparent vomiting this morning and he's eating OK today. I'd woken up once, too early, then fell back asleep again; Spitzer work me up to get fresh foods as the plates were empty. His BG was in the mid-high 300s because of the reduced insulin dose, plus eating more food overnight.
I'm doing what I can do.
Venita expressed concern about the greenish vomit yesterday.
He saw the vet Friday afternoon and she's going with anti-nausea meds and appetite stimulant meds. I and the vets already know he has some sort of liver issue, since ultrasound and needle biopsy in August 2011 identified "diffuse hepatopathy".
For all I know he has cancer of some sort; if he does, I'm up for palliative care, not chemotherapy. Chemo is expensive, stressful on the cat and owner, and generally aims for control, not cure, making it a long, drawn out process of watching your cat die. Been there, done that. I won't do that to him, nor to me. Liver cancer is not known to be easily cured, if that is what he has, and he'd be suffering during all that.
I think he just got too hungry the night before and there was nothing to vomit except bile. I hope that was it, but he has something else going on and it might've been that, or some combination.
I watched him like a hawk yesterday, even had my friend Mike come over to sit with him before Spitzer hit his nadir while I went out to get cat food and some nominal groceries. Spitzer didn't appear to be in any distress, so whatever is going on, is going on.
I made sure to give the ondansetron last night, left out lots of food, and reduced the insulin back to 1.5. There was no apparent vomiting this morning and he's eating OK today. I'd woken up once, too early, then fell back asleep again; Spitzer work me up to get fresh foods as the plates were empty. His BG was in the mid-high 300s because of the reduced insulin dose, plus eating more food overnight.
I'm doing what I can do.