2/2 Musette amps~360,pmps~352, +3~238, +6~160

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
I moved her back up to the 1.25u again I just think she was getting much better numbers on that dose, she is just staying too high on the 1u, and I'm not seeing anything that would be causing her to bounce, so it looks to me like at 1u she just isn't getting enough insulin.

I just need to remember when I see those early blues and greens that is what I'm striving for with her, to hold her in normal numbers as long as possible each day and not have that knee-jerk reaction to lower her dose. I also need to remember if one of her preshots is lower than I'm comfortable shooting for that dose I can lower and play catch up on the next or the next day. Easier said than done. :lol: It is so easy to advise it when I'm looking at someone else's spreadsheet and just seeing the numbers, not so easy to do when I'm the one holding the syringe and shooting my cat. ohmygod_smile

I really need to get her on a fairly stable dose in the next couple of weeks before she heads off to the vetty bean to get her dental done, since I don't want her with such high numbers when she has to be put under. She is going to feel bad enough after having her teeth worked on, I don't also feeling crummy because she is in the 300s!

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360

It will her as I'm afraid she is gonna lose a few teeth if I'm seeing what I think I'm seeing in her mouth. :cry:

I was looking over the vet records that came with her the other day getting them ready to go to the vet's with us. She was dxed with peridonal disease way back in Feb 2011 and never had it addressed...poor little girl. When she lets me look briefly in her mouth it looks like she has several teeth in the back that are either broken or worn down almost to the gum line. She also has a red line right along her gum line, so that plus just smelling her breath when she yawns in my face I think she may also have a low grade infection in there as well. Which good be a very good reason why she is so hard to regulate.

At the very least she needs a good cleaning and some antibotics if not several extractions. I've just been dreading taking her in since last time she saw a vet she didn't know her last owner just dumped her there to be killed. So while it sounds like my vet just has a flat rate for dentals, I still want to take her in, have them look her over and at least let her meet the vets and techs before I have to drop her off to have the dental done.

I'm not sure cats rational like this but it makes me feel better to have her first trip to a new vet be one where momma doesn't have to leave her, so she will know that she isn't going to be abandon again, that regardless of what happens to her at the Vet's mom will be there to take her home again...ALWAYS!!! Luckily I also work for this vet part-time so I get away with things other clients don't like I know they will let me stay with her until she is ready to go under and they will let me sit with her until
she wakes back up again. So my face will be the last she see before her dental and the first thing she sees when she wakes up. :-D

I was really surprised when I had my male tux neutered that they let me stay with him while they put him under, then let me observe while they did his surgery (they have a glass observation room since they are also a teaching clinic), and sit with him while he woke up, so I know they will let me do the same with Cupcake. Especially if I explain that she was abandoned at a vet clinic before I adopted her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303

"so she will know that she isn't going to be abandon again, that regardless of what happens to her at the Vet's mom will be there to take her home again...ALWAYS!!!" -- I love how you look out for your sweet little Musette, Mel! I'm SO glad she "found" you.

And I hope her dental brings her bg numbers down and gives you better control, Mel. That would be great.

Eva
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303, +4~213

Liking these numbers so much better.

Yeah I'm kind of an overprotective fur mom...lol. Of course my human children would have told you I was an overprotective mom when they were teenagers too..Now that they have children of their own I don't think they believe I was all that overprotective.. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303, +4~213

Yep after having her for 11 almost 12 years, they took her to a vet she had never seen before and left her there to be Put to Sleep. She has a brother that they still have, since he wasn't a diabetic. Just because little Musette was the unlucky one to come down with diabetes she was the one that had to go, and this is after they got her through DKA once, then didn't follow up with insulin on regular basis, so once it looked like she was headed back into DKA they decided that she should be put down. Just plain heartless. I can see taking her in to be put down if they didn't think they could treat her diabetes properly for whatever reason. But you don't take them where they have never been, & you don't just leave them there to die. You take them where they know the doctors and techs, and you let them go while you hold them and tell them how loved they are, you make them feel as safe as possible so they go into that final sleep gently and without fear. At least in my book that is how it works, but then again maybe I get funny ideas.

I'm kind of glad they didn't take her back to her regular vet, since the vet they did take to her to had a vet tech that knew about Venita and DCIN and the tech stepped in & called Venita, who called me.

I really don't think her first people did much more than feed her, she is just now acting like she is figuring out what it is like to play with toys, and to be picked up and cuddled. When we first got her, if we picked her up at all she would freak out, struggle to get down or go stiff as a board in our arms. Now I can pick her up, flip her over on her back and carry her like a baby and she will purr up a storm. Which always makes me wonder what kind of life her brother is leading? I kind of wish they would have surrendered both of them so I could have taken them both in.

I'll never know for sure but I have the feeling that because she was beautiful and they had her like a living piece of art. She was meant to do nothing but look good laying on the bed or couch etc. She wasn't meant to be cuddled or played with. When she first got here she didn't know what catnip was, or how to play with a jingle ball, string anything. She would just sit and watch the other cats play with a confused look on her face.
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303, +4~213

I'm glad she's in a happy home now. I just don't get people. I really don't. I mean to share your home with a living creature for 11 years and then just throw them away? WTH? I can't even throw out a sweater I've had for that long without hoping it goes to a good home. Do they know their cat was saved? Not that it matters what they know or think. Heartless people make me stabby.
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303, +4~213, +6~129

I think they had to sign a release to have her rehomed but I know they didn't want any contact from me. Now Maxwell has never known a home longer than 5 years, because first he was a survivor of Katrina, then spent 2 years in a sanctuary while they looked for his people, then went to Boston where he spent sometime in a shelter, was adopted out of there by an elderly lady, he got diabetes and she got dementia, and the family was going to have him put down. But when I adopted him the grand-daughter asked for updates and pictures for her grandmother. I still write to her regularly, send her pictures of him and the last email I got from her grand-daughter was that her grandmother has a framed picture of him that I sent sitting on her dresser in her room at the nursing home.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303, +4~213, +6~129

That's sweet of you. :) My BFF had to rehome her dog years ago when she was going through a divorce. Her ex could not be trusted to take care of the dog and she had to live with her dad who wouldn't allow the dog to come with her. She found a coworker to adopt her and still gets emails with pictures now and then about how Payton is doing. It broke her heart to have to give that dog up, but she found a good home for her to go to.
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303, +4~213, +6~129, +9~158

Yay! She is back to surfing the blues again...so glad I didn't try to hold that 1u today! Much better numbers for her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303, +4~213, +6~129, +9~158

Oh, what bee-ooo-ti-ful numbers for Little Cupcake today, Mel! Glad you took her back up to the 1.25U dose.

Have a relaxing evening with your sweet fur gang.

Eva
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360, +2~303, +4~213, +6~129, +9~158

Me too I think the 1.25u is just about purrfect for her, there may be times that I will have to reduce because of a lower preshot, but that 1u was just not cutting it for her. She may eventually need something like 1.15u or 1.10u which I hope isn't the case because I will go blind trying to shoot that with consistancy..lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/2 Musette amps~360,pmps~352, +3~238

"because I will go blind trying to shoot that with consistancy..lol" -- :-D I know what you mean, Mel. I wear trifocals and have such a hard time with microdosing. My husband is much better at it, so he's started doing most of it which I really appreciate.

"there may be times that I will have to reduce because of a lower preshot" -- I'm becoming more and more convinced that for some cats it makes sense to shoot a reduced dose when there's a lower preshot and then return to the higher dose. This is especially true for cats that don't hold reductions well.

Eva
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top