tortie58
Member Since 2012
Previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66330
Ive moved from TR as I have 21 cats to attend at home. Having test every 2, 3 hrs is over my capacity. As much as I want to keep Rosy safe, I know I just cannot fulfill the protocal.
Background
Rosy DX in Dec 2011 bg 450
put on Lantus 1u once a day
Rosy was having free fed of dry food then plus a canned meal each day
Condition turned worse - eating nonstop & excessive drinking , peeing
raised dose to 1u twice a day, then 2u twice a day (was using Lantus pen with fixed increment at 1u)
Condition worse off when eating W/D dry; rear leg lost power
Dose increased to 3u twice a day
Feb28th, found the forum - start hometesting
switched to all all canned food ( dont know if its LC because we dont have much choice in HK) with fixed 3 meal a day plus steamed chicken for dinner and a PM+5 supper
Condition improved- drinking less
Doseage reduced gradually to current 1.25u twice a day(using a syringe to draw insulin from pen)
Today Ive luckily caught Rosy at a bg of 31 I panicked at her twitching eye & gave her a plate of gravy canned food to raise her bg. She is kinda settled for now.
Ive called my vet when Rosy was having that slight hypo & she told me to stop the Lantus for PM & tomorrow. Can somebody give me advice on that? I am at stay at home mummy for my furry babies. I believe I can monitor her the best I can.
Tks
helen
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66330
Ive moved from TR as I have 21 cats to attend at home. Having test every 2, 3 hrs is over my capacity. As much as I want to keep Rosy safe, I know I just cannot fulfill the protocal.
Background
Rosy DX in Dec 2011 bg 450
put on Lantus 1u once a day
Rosy was having free fed of dry food then plus a canned meal each day
Condition turned worse - eating nonstop & excessive drinking , peeing
raised dose to 1u twice a day, then 2u twice a day (was using Lantus pen with fixed increment at 1u)
Condition worse off when eating W/D dry; rear leg lost power
Dose increased to 3u twice a day
Feb28th, found the forum - start hometesting
switched to all all canned food ( dont know if its LC because we dont have much choice in HK) with fixed 3 meal a day plus steamed chicken for dinner and a PM+5 supper
Condition improved- drinking less
Doseage reduced gradually to current 1.25u twice a day(using a syringe to draw insulin from pen)
Today Ive luckily caught Rosy at a bg of 31 I panicked at her twitching eye & gave her a plate of gravy canned food to raise her bg. She is kinda settled for now.
Ive called my vet when Rosy was having that slight hypo & she told me to stop the Lantus for PM & tomorrow. Can somebody give me advice on that? I am at stay at home mummy for my furry babies. I believe I can monitor her the best I can.
Tks
helen