4/16-Scratchie-347, PMPS-300

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

4/15 Condo

Morning all,

Debbie, thanks for your comments and visit yesterday. He's coming down albeit very slowly so I am pleased so far. This morning was only our 5th shot of Lev so hoping things start happening now.

Wishing good numbers to all, healing vines to those that need them. Have a great day!

Jo
 
Re: 4/16-Scratchie-347

Morning Jo,

As you know it will take him about 5-7 days to completely fill his shed, but at least he is starting to show a little movement with the Lev. Plus he was on a pretty high dose of Lantus and you started him on a very low dose of Lev, so at the very worse you may have to just take him up some to get him really moving with it, but so far he is giving you a very typical Levie curve...very flat with no real steep ups and downs and looks to be nadiring right around +8ish...again very typical of Lev.

If he is still in the pink by this weekend I think you are safe to increase him to 1u b.i.d. Since I know weekends are easier for you to do increases. But at least he doesn't have any wild swings so if he stays right where he is at the moment he will be ready to go up this weekend...You may have just started him a little low, but better to start low and be absolutely sure you haven't missed the ideal dose than to start high and wonder if the higher numbers are not enough or too much. :-D

Nice to see in your notes that his appetite has picked up and that he is handling the shots better :thumbup Because at the very least even if he does turn out to be a kitty that just needs a lot of insulin, Lev doesn't sting so that should help a lot.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/16-Scratchie-347

Thanks Mel, I hope I didn't go too low, but I started thinking that I'd rather start low and move up than have issues while at work this week hence the .5u.

I'll increase either Friday night or Saturday morning. I will be away from the house for a few hours on Saturday as we need to go take care of some things at my sister's house with her husband. My sis passed a while back and we're just now getting to the point where we can look at things and decide what to do. DH will be home though and I should only be gone about 4 hours. I'll test him before I leave and then back in the door test.

Once he gets lower numbers I'll do better on testing. Right now since it's only been a few doses, I don't see the point. I can generally tell when he starts to go down. Paws crossed that it happens....

Thanks for the advice as always!

Jo
 
Re: 4/16-Scratchie-347

Sorry to hear about your sister, I lost my mother in November so I know how hard it can be to go and have to deal with the possession that they leave behind. I know just getting through the stuff like the funeral and getting stuff they want to be buried with can be hard enough.

I kind of figured that when I saw that you had started him at .5u, and I agree if you are going to error it is better to do so on the side of caution, especially with all the hours you work, and after as long as he has been in those yellows and pinks another week as long as you are watching for Ketones which I know you are, isn't going to matter one way or the other and at least now you know he is going to need a little more.

I'm pretty much the same way with Autumn, when I know she is bouncing or just plain running high I just don't test her much either. I've always figured why waste the strips on the high days when I know I'm going to need them worse on the her super low days.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks Mel, I miss her everyday, she died too young. :sad:

Best number yet - :thumbup Come on baby, keep moving down!!! (anti-jinx, anti-jinx, anti-jinx)
 
Come on Scratchie you are so close to yellow you can smell it from there. Make your momma proud.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Lookin' good Scratchie!! :thumbup

The only reason I know Lev kitties nadir later, is cause Mel told me and Lucian, once in a while, likes to pretend he's a Lev kitty and not nadir till +8 or so. :lol: He's predictably unpredictable. :lol:
 
Look at Scratchie go!!! He is giving you basically the same numbers on .5u of Levemir as he was giving you on 4.5u of Lantus...I'm thinking you up him to 1u this weekend and you are going to start seeing some pretty yellows and maybe even some nice blues. He is already dropping beautifully on what is a much smaller dose of Lev...Go Buddy Go! Pretty soon you are going to be playing in the water with the rest of the kitties.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks Debbie and Mel!

Yep, he's looking good and I am loving it! DH says he is eating well and a member of the CPC club today - that generally means he is down below 300 so that is what I am hoping I will find when I get home tonight. I'll barely make it home in time to test and shoot as having to stay a little later at work today. Keep paws crossed for us ladies!!! I'm waiting for yellows and blues and anxious to see them again..... :lol:

Jo
 
We are crossing fingers, toes, paws and tails for you two...Glad to here he is feeling so good. Go Scratchie Go!!!

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top