7/19 Charms AMPS 438, +2 480, +4 422, +6 418, PMPS 502

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Started Charms on the Young Again Zero carbs for dinner last night and he got a purple , but today the numbers are terrible. Not sure why. I also raised his dose this morning to 6.5 . Is this some kind of reaction (resistance) to this change? Not sure what is going on. Charms is eating and drinking well. It is horribly hot here today, fifth day in the 90's . We are not used to this weather, house is hotter than heck! Could this affect Charms numbers? I am supplementing the cats water with clear chicken broth to keep everybody well hydrated , but not sure I am keeping up with the heat. Take a look at Charms SS and let me know what you think. Thank you - Sam
 
It could be New Dose Wonkiness. Sometimes when you increase the insulin, the numbers go up instead of down.

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."
Link to the topic discussion here New Dose Wonkiness
 
Hi Sam & Charms!

I don't have too much advice - I'm more of an advice taker than an advice giver. Does Charms not like canned food? I had a difficult time getting Bob to eat canned food. Tried the YA and he hated it! One day it was like a miracle and I found a canned food he liked and he started eating it! I did want to mention someone else who switched to the YA and their cat's BG dropped within a few days. Someone else may have mentioned that. I just wanted to say something so you could watch out for it in case the same thing happens.

Good luck with those high numbers. Bob and I know how frustrating that is!
 
I kinda doubt this is NDW. I do suspect it's a response to a food change, though. Even though the Young Again is zero carb, it's a different food. Some cats will spike numbers with any change.

Remind me again why you're feeding any dry?
 
Sam.....are you giving them canned chicken broth? Be sure you read the ingredients because some of them have garlic, onion, soy...none of which cats should have.

Here is Charms 7/18 Condo. It's very helpful to us if you can post the link for the previous condo in your current one so we can easily go back and read one or more. With all the members we have, it's time consuming to look for them all ;-)

It's fine to let him have the YA if the other cats won't eat canned and Charms likes to steal dry food. N but Wendy made a good point yesterday....some cats actually do much better on foods that are in the 4-6% range rather than the 0-3% range.

I hope he starts to come down.....
 
Hi to all,
I feed dry because I have so many cats (11) since they are all rehabilitated feral cats, some are very shy and I like to make sure everyone eats. If I put can food out it will all be gone too quickly and some cats may not have a chance to eat. Free feeding makes more sense here, less stress for everyone.
I do make the chicken broth myself, I just boil chicken breast, give all the cats the broth, and use the chicken as a treat when testing Charms.

- Thank you to Dara and Bob for the YA advice. I will keep a close eye on Charms! -Sam
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top