7/22Durielle amps269,+4 184,+6 134,+9 119 Dental tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/22Durielle amps269,+4 184,+6 134,+9 119 Dental tomorro

There are a couple of things to consider.
  • If there are extractions, get pain meds. Bupe (buprenorphine) is what most of us push for. It can be given either as a subcutaneous injection (like insulin) or orally in the cheek pocket. If you give it orally, make sure the vet gives you syringes that are without a needle.
  • Get an "in the door" test when your bring Durie home. You'll want this for comparison with her PMPS. Anesthesia can lower BG for several hours post surgery so it's possible that you may need to reduce or skip the PM shot. I'd also make sure that Durie will eat before you shoot. Shooting and having your cat not want to eat because of dental work and then having to finger or syringe feed a kitty with stitches in her mouth isn't fun. I've done it and don't recommend it.
  • Anesthesia can also slow the GI track. So, your kitty may be starving from not having eaten all day. Don't give lots of food all at once or you're get scarf-and-barf. Feed a teaspoon or two of food at a time until you know the anesthesia has worn off.
  • Some cats have a paradoxical reaction to pain meds. They get agitated vs. sedated. A dimly lit, quiet room will help.
  • I'd have baby food on hand. If Durie's mouth is sore, baby food goes down easily and doesn't require chewing.
  • If there are extractions or the vet finds an infection, Durie may be given an antibiotic. You may want to have a probiotic on hand in case Durie ends up with diarrhea as a result of the antibiotic.
 
Re: 7/22Durielle amps269,+4 184,+6 134,+9 119 Dental tomorro

Thanks for the advice, I'll follow it.
 
Re: 7/22Durielle amps269,+4 184,+6 134,+9 119 Dental tomorro

Sending Perfect Dental Vines to Durielle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top