7/26 Nadia AMPS=302 +2=265 +9.5=284 +11=196

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone,

I was gone almost all day yesterday and came home and went to bed because I was under the weather. I didn't update LL, I apologize.

Nadia has been on her 1u dosecrease for three days now, and the first day I was home to test her. The other days I had to go to work. I don't have +6 other than that day. Her PS have been higher and higher. Do I need to dosecrease her again? Or should I test her some more over the weekend when I'll be home to decide?

Also, she will be going to the vet on Tuesday because she has a popping or clicking noise when she walks. I think it might be arthritis, but I have no idea. She doesn't appear to be in pain or limping. Has anyone else had this happen to their aging Kitty?

Thanks and I hope everyone is having a wonderful Friday!
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia AMPS=302 Dosing advice needed

I have no dosing advice to give you, unfortunately. She IS looking better, though. Keep up the excellent work! You WILL get there. :-D
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia AMPS=302 Dosing advice needed

I'm still learning (but I think we never stop learning about this disease) but I'm thinking you're having a little bounce. I'd probably stick with the current dose until at least tomorrow so you can be home to test.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia AMPS=302 Dosing advice needed

It's quite possible that this is a bounce.

Her PS have been higher and higher. Do I need to dosecrease her again?
Just as a reminder, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot. If you look at only the pre-shots, there's a good chance that you will miss a dose reduction. Gabby has started out in the 400s, dropped to the 40s, and bounced back up to the 400s by PMPS. If all I was doing was looking at her pre-shot values, I'd have increased vs. decreased the dose. You're seeing pretty consistent nadirs in the 100s (which is great)! That said, I do think Nadia can afford a dose increase but I'd want to see what her numbers look like by PMPS. Your AMPS could be a high before a break in the numbers.
 
Re: 7/26 Nadia AMPS=302 +2=265 Dosing advice needed

Sienne and Gabby said:
It's quite possible that this is a bounce.

Her PS have been higher and higher. Do I need to dosecrease her again?
Just as a reminder, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot. If you look at only the pre-shots, there's a good chance that you will miss a dose reduction. Gabby has started out in the 400s, dropped to the 40s, and bounced back up to the 400s by PMPS. If all I was doing was looking at her pre-shot values, I'd have increased vs. decreased the dose. You're seeing pretty consistent nadirs in the 100s (which is great)! That said, I do think Nadia can afford a dose increase but I'd want to see what her numbers look like by PMPS. Your AMPS could be a high before a break in the numbers.

Thanks! So you think I should shoot her at 1u tonight and see what the PM cycle does? Or see what her PS is and post here for advice? I'm available to set an alarm and take a middle of the night test if needed. Glad it's the weekend. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top