7/27 Ozy AMPS-305,+2-284,+3-284,+5-279,+10-311

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100884Yesterday

As requested/suggested I tested him last night at +2-309, +3-276, +5-176 and checked him at +7 (I fed him then but did not test).

He was fiesty about being tested today. He is in my lap purring now.

update: He is not feeling at all well now. He didn't even raise his head when I tested his glucose at AMPS+3

update at +5.5 Awake but not getting up. Not sure why.
 
Re: 7/27 Ozy AMPS-305

Good job testing.
Maybe Ozy will clear his bounce by tonight. Fingers Crossed. Uh, that is as long as you're going to be home :)
 
Re: 7/27 Ozy AMPS-305

I can hardly leave the house now. We walk every day and yesterday I had to rush home because I was worried about him

Right now he is hiding. I think he doesn't feel well, probably his pancreatitis. I want him to come out so I can give him some buprenorphine.
 
Re: 7/27 Ozy AMPS-305,+2-284,+3-284,+5-279

I think Ozy has had pancreatitis issues today. Not super accute but making him nauseous... lots of lip smacking. He was very very lethargic for most of the morning. Didn't even raise his head for glucose testing. Finally he got up and ate a tiny amount. More lip smacking. He gave him buprenorphine this am and cerennia around noon. I think he is feeling a little better now. He is on my lap and a little more engaged with the world.

His numbers have been high and flat today. Bounce? Pancreatitis related? I don't know.

I read the stickies again. I keep finding things we were doing wrong. We were told by the vet tech to mix the Lantus by turning it over gently. We were also told to expel air from the syringe into the Lantus. We were keeping the Lantus in the door of the fridge. And I have to get in touch with Diamondback Drugs and find out if his buprenorphine has any sugar in it because it doesn't say it is sugar free. And I read some things that scared me in the Acromegaly section. Arghhhh.

Time for the porch now...
 
Re: 7/27 Ozy AMPS-305,+2-284,+3-284,+5-279

Sounds like a rough day. :sad:
I would think today's numbers are p-titis related, and that's making him feel miserable. Hopefully the bupe will help with that.

Don't let all the things you read overwhelm you. And while it might be useful to read the Acro information, I don't think it's something to worry about right now. And you are far from the first person who was told to roll the Lantus or expel air into the pen or vial of insulin. It's all a learning process, and it's great that you are catching the "tips" in the stickies. The information available is vast, and easily overwhelming. One step at a time, one day at a time.
 
Thanks, Carl. Ozy started feeling much better late afternoon... two doses of bupe today and cerennia, too. His glucose is even higher now(a little over 300 at +10 and PMPS) but he is definitely feeling good, even playful. Ahhhhhh..... that's my number one goal. Have him feel good.

Even though his numbers are high today (pancreatitis caused? bounce?), I am not planning to up his dose tomorrow. I think that is what was advised yesterday (Carl, Marje, Sienne). Agreed? Any discussion?
 
Hi donaleen

I'm sorry Ozy hasn't felt well today. Are you checking his ketones? It's really important when numbers are high and kitty is sick and we're still working to a dose that works for him.

Everyone starts out doing things that they later find are not the best. It's ok....you are learning.

Here is a post I did on Testing and Shooting Tips

I'd hold his dose tonight and see if he clears tonight or tomorrow. If he doesn't, I'd take him up.

I agree with Carl. Don't worry about the acro. We need to see a cat getting over 6u bid before we even start to worry about that.

Hope he feels better tomorrow.
 
Thanks, Marje. No, I haven't checked his ketones although I was reading about it today and looking at ketone strips on Amazon. Collecting the urine seems a bit daunting. The lab blood test said he was okay but that was early this month.
 
Ketones can develop quickly....as in be normal at morning and be high at night. I'd just grab some at the pharmacy.

Sme people just put a small ladle under kitty's bottom as they squat. I make little trays out of foil and slip them under Gracies bottom when she squats. If you need other tips, just ask.

I also thought this Primer on Pancreatitis might have something of interest to you...it is the latest research.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top