08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI +7=338/PMPS=527 at least it's a # :-)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI

Truly! ohmygod_smile
Nataschia Isabella.. please come down from there....gently.. no diving!
xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI

Her high PS # this morning may be a result of the extra HC that was given to her last night. Don't despair as this is probably a bounce, and these #s will come down. Just remember that it could take up to 72 hours (depending on her, of course) for her to clear the bounce. Continue doing what you're doing, and try not to get too frustrated. I know... Easier said than done, right? :lol: We've all been where you're at. You're both doing a wonderful job. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI

I have a question - maybe I SHOULD know this by now but I don't ....when you get the +2 after a PS and that is "supposed" to tell you how "active" the cycle may be ...... I'm not understanding how to gauge the drop.

Yes, obviously is a cat was PS 200 and tested 100 @ +2 that is a significant drop at those numbers.

As Tashie inherently has a very high PS number, that same 100 point drop would be different, right?

For example, last night her PS was 424, at +2 it was 317 = a drop of 107. Was that a big drop at those numbers?

Another example would be the night before her PS = HIGH, +2 was 427 ...... I felt fine going to bed - but then I wake up to a AMPS of 162 - so, somewhere that night she kept on dropping and who knows how low she went - this is not the "norm" for her but she seems to be responding differently since I've got her back onto LC food and NO DRY.

Just trying to get a better understanding for where I need to be on "alert" ........ I understand ECID and that there isn't an absolute answer to this but if I could get some advice I would truly appreciate

B & T
 
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI

Bern --

Before I reply to your question, are you using R? (i.e., "Regular" insulin or Humulin R)

Also, HC takes an hour or two to be metabolized. HC that's fed hours and hours ago isn't going to effect the subsequent numbers.

With respect to how "big" is a big drop, really depends on where your cat is at pre-shot and what's typical for your cat. You also have to take meter variance into account. If a cat is at 400 at pre-shot, a drop to 320 which is substantial, could reflect meter variance or the start of a fast drop. There are some cats that are just divers. You get a feel for the cat's pattern and know whether you're looking at an active cycle. For as much data as I have with Gabby and as well as I know her patterns, she can still surprise me. On 7/31, I went to bed with her last test at 211. Her AMPS the next day was 81. Go figure!
 
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI

Sienne, just using LANTUS the ONLY time she had "R" was when she was in the hospital, I've never used it and not confident at this point to do so.

Her high PS # this morning may be a result of the extra HC that was given to her last nigh

.....and as far as the HC food thing - don't know where Angela got that from? Once I got Tashie out of the woods yesterday, I DID NOT feed any more HC and that was at +6 during the DAY, I didn't question that it was a food influence at all?

Just trying to understand how to gauge an "active cycle" and when I need to be more pro active.
 
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI

The reason I raised the question about R is that in your dose for last night column, you have "f .5 R" which to mean implies you were using R.

FWIW, I suspect the below 50 numbers yesterday were due to Tashie's depot not having caught up with the dose reduction from the previous evening. You gave two 2 reductions pretty close together. Usually when you do this, the reduction doesn't hold. If it looks like this is the case, you'll need to raise the dose.
 
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI

Oh, sorry, I guess it did look like "R" ....I have changed it to be more clear. It was my "code" for "reduction" I'll be more careful, sorry. I will be monitoring her more carefully due to the reductions and will be sure to ASK if I need to increase again. Unfortunately, when she was in the hospital, she got addicted to kitty crack again - as it was the ONLY thing she would eat for them. I've finally weaned her completely off the stuff and her numbers/insulin have changed along with that. Just goes to show the difference the carbs makes! She was on 3U with the "cookies" and now, at least for a while, she is back on .5U. I think that is huge!

Thanks for your "eyes" & comments! REALLY appreciate it!

B & T
 
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI

I also thought you gave some R last night. I agree with Sienne that you have some dose reductions that are really close together. I hope she comes down nice and easy today and the bounce is a quick one.
 
Re: 08/04 Tashie AMPS=HI +7=338/PMPS=527 at least it's a # :

Well, we are still bouncing -- she ran pretty high today but didn't BOUNCE back up to "HIGH" for PM. She seems to be clearing these bounces a LITTLE better than she used to? Guess we'll see!

Have a great evening all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top