8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 40 +2.5; pmps 100; 83 +1; 55 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
I wasn't prepared for 71 amps; remembered shoot low to stay low; but at the last second chickened out, squirted out a drop and gave a chicken sh$t skinny .75u. Probably should've posted here first. But he did get a shot and luckily it's another day that I will be home more than out and about so I will be testing frequently. (PS I know I've been at this a long time now but I still get very confused - was I wrong to shoot a 71 after a 94 +10.5?)

yesterday
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71!!!

Hi guys .. Great start to the day Elian! I think if it was me, and if I was going to be home for the day and fully stocked up on needed supplies, I would have shot the full dose .. but, it's been a few years since we've shot and it's easy to forget how those lower amps can make one nervous! I hope Elian surfs all day for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71!!!

Thanks - I chickened out. Hopefully he'll do well and I won't have to be afraid the next time. At least I did shoot it - funny that just a few days ago I was scared to death to shoot an 88 and now I'm questioning a 71. Absolutely amazing how well he is doing. I am so thrilled. Next time I won't be afraid. I won't be afraid. I won't be afraid!!!!!
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71!!!

Get a +2, and that should give you some idea on how the cycle might go. I put alot of value on that +2 so I'm prepared for almost anything.

have a good one, and gotta love those pretty greens :-D
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71!!!

squirted out a drop and gave a chicken sh$t skinny .75u.
One drop doesn't qualify as "chicken sh$t". ;-)
You're getting down to the mini-micro dose stages here, Susie. I'm a big believer in following your instincts, so I think you did just fine with this decision. My instincts are that E is not going to be on this dose for too long,anyway. He's got a goal in mind, and you're just along for the ride at this point. :-D
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1

I agree with Carl...Elian has a mission.

Your gut is usually right...when I look back at my Sunday night drama, my gut was telling me maybe not to shoot that 64...or stall it...or something. But I didn't listen, and worked very hard to keep Poe out of some very low numbers, so I think you did the right thing. :-D

I learned from that...I'll risk the higher numbers than shoot an uncomfortable low again.

Looks like you might be just a tad busy today... :lol:

But, no or little insulin on board, Elian will come up nicely I'm sure, as the depot drains some.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1

Wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if Elian earns another reduction. Yes, it's close to the last one, but Elian is a sugardude on a mission. ;-)

A BCS would have been to shoot 1/2 your dose. You only skinnied the dose. I think you earn these instead.
 

Attachments

  • Balls%20of%20Steel%202.png
    Balls%20of%20Steel%202.png
    67.8 KB · Views: 939
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1

Thanks for the support everybody - I really need it!!!! He's definitely on a mission - to add even more gray hairs to my already hard earned and need coloring grays!!!! Will be testing again soon and will post. He's sound asleep with his little bro Justin - they leave all of the worrying to me.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1

Doing good, looking good.

Yup it's scary, but just think there may be a cool end in sight........And Elian is going to lead the way!

And when you get to these kind of numbers, even though you may have shot slightly higher yesterday or 2 days ago, it's still scary to see and questioning your decision is part of the game.

As scary as this is, isn't it so much nicer than the bounces he did and the yellows and pinks and reds he had.........
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2

Thanks Hillary - much nicer than those other numbers! He's at 47 now +2. Gonna give him a LC snack and see how he does with it. Have to run out for a bit in about an hour so I will test again before going.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2

When you have a few spare minutes, start practicing on drawing up .5u too. :-D
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2

Hi Susie, I agree with everyone else. I shot a 72 with Tigger (& was terrified the whole time), but he didn't have a SS like E's!

With those beautiful greens & blues, I would've gotten a different message & done exactly what you did. I think he's on a mission, too!

Keep up the great progress!!!
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2

Carl & Bob said:
Since I can't quote your signature, I've copied and pasted it here:

"The soul would have no rainbow if the eyes had no tears"

What a beautiful sentiment, Carl. This really made me think, and reflect...wish we had a "like" button to use on the forum :-D Thanks!!!
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2

Yeah, that quote kind of hit me right between the eyes last week. I would have credited the source but my Sig was maxed out in characters. It's a Minquass Nation proverb. I read it in a Brad Meltzer novel the day I added it to my Sig.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5

So...... the stress level is running high right now! My daughter was annoying Elian so he ran behind the headboard of my platform bed where the only way to reach him, if necessary, is to pull the entire bed away from the headboard. Not easy since its heavy, 2 pieces, and on carpeting. I thought I had the two openings blocked with towels but he obviously felt the need for privacy bad enough. (My daughter is 21 but she can definitely be annoying and he just wasn't in the mood!) So I shook the container of his favorite treats and opened the patio door for him to go outside - his fave sounds. Nothing. I shook the treats inside the opening he climbed in. Nothing. I opened the cap to his test strips and..... I see his big butt backing out of the opening to the headboard! Stinker. So I gave him a treat and tested him. Down to 40. And that's after LC. So I called in the big guns - a can of HC. He ate a little bit and headed out onto the patio for some sun and fresh air. Will test again shortly. Oy I don't know if I can handle the stress! But then my mom's cobstant reminder pops into my head ...... this, too, shall pass. :-)
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5

PS it's 12:30 and I have been dealing with E since I woke up at 8. I am dressed and ready to leave the house but haven't been outside my bedroom doors yet! My contractor/handyman has been working in the house for a few hours now. He must think I am so lazy - thinking I'm sleeping til 12:30!!!! He should only know. And he loves to talk - for hours on end - so I will not even start to explain although he's been working in my house on and off for a month now so he knows a little bit about my sleepless nights. But I have to go out and do two jobs (I have a pet sitting business) so I cannot get into a lengthy discussion now!
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3

A little bit of HC ; a reading of 54; and momma bean can breathe a sigh of relief.... for now.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3

see how you learned - a little HC brings him up - be sure to leave food out for him, as he may drop more while you're gone!
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

Came home to a comfortable 71 +5.75! I keep 3 food bowls filled throughout the day so Elian and his brothers are rarely hungry. They used to free feed on dry food along with wet food am/pm. Now it's only wet.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

Pretty nice cycle except for the one moment that made you do this: :o
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

Haha!!!! This boy is keeping me on my toes... when I'm not napping! Does his 40 earn him yet another reduction or am I holding him at .75 tonight?
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

Hmmmmmm...... just tested again before leaving the house again. He jumped up to 102 +6.75.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

If Elian were my cat, I take the dose down another 0.25U, to 0.5U. I know it's really close to the last reduction, but Elian is on a mission.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

Wait for more input on dose, but I'm on the "reduce to .5u" bandwagon.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

If nothing else, it'll drain the shed faster so you won't have to hover over him with food! He may not hold it initially, so you just let it level out a few days and re-evaluate how he's doing. (which is pretty d*mn good,by the way!)
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

Wow Elian! Sure looks like Mr. P is back on the job and raring to go :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 59 +1; 47 +2; 40 +2.5; 54 +3; 71 +5

Shoot! My battery went dead while I was out to dinner so I'm just now getting the messages to give him another reduction. I already gave him the .75 - as soon as I walked in the door. He was at 100 amps. Will keep an eye again tonight and then see what you all recommend tomorrow!
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 40 +2.5; pmps 100; 83 +1

Lo carb only, Hillary. I only pulled out the hi carb today after he ate lo carb and was at 40.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 40 +2.5; pmps 100; 83 +1

Wow, what a ride for Elian, Susie! Kept you on your toes, I bet! Congratulations on the reduction, it sure looks like Elian's getting 'somewhere' fast! :mrgreen:

Since you free feed, did you feed any extra at the +1/59? Just curious.........
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 40 +2.5; pmps 100; 83 +1

I'm on board with another reduction. They can come down in dose really fast once they "snap" into all healing numbers. If he does start to lose momentum, you'll catch it quickly and go back up.

Yay Elian!
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 40 +2.5; pmps 100; 83 +1

Suzanne - he had his normal breakfast and came down to 59. I split either one can of Friskies pâté or two cans of FF Classic between my 3 boys so they each get about 2 oz per feeding.
 
Re: 8/13 ELIAN -amps 71; 40 +2.5; pmps 100; 83 +1

Libby - looks like I will be trying another reduction in the morning. I shot his .75 before I read all of these recommendations. My battery went totally dead at dinner and I walked in the house 10 minutes past his normal shot time so I immediately shot while my phone charged. :-(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top