8/16 Lucy PMPS=104;+2=94

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Friday!!!

Yesterday's condo

8/15 AMPS=94; +1=83; +2=76; +3=86; +8.25=126
8/15 PMPS=128; +2=110; +5=131

8/16 AMPS=113; +2=86; +3=72; +3.5=88; +7.5=104
8/16 PMPS=104; +2=94

Lucy has been on 1 unit since 7/28, almost 3 weeks.
Most days, I like her numbers very much.
Some cycles (8/8 PM or 8/12 PM) make me feel that the dose is just perfect and not much room for a dosecrease, but some cycles look like she could use a bit more juice.
I'm sure the preds she's on every other day are affecting her numbers... well... every other day.
Is this where I need a dosecrease or patient pants?
In the past, fattening a dose didn't make any difference for Lucy, so if I am to try an increase, I should do 1.25 unit?
What do you think?

Lucy is doing good.
She seems happy and ate her 1st & 2nd breakfast by herself. Yay.

Thank you in advance for any advice on dosing, and wishing you all a wonderful day!
 
Re: 8/16 Lucy AMPS=113 // DOSE QUESTION

Morning Mariko
I don't have any advice on dosing. I just wanted to stop by and say howdy.. "HOWDY"
really YAY!! that's she's eating by herself. That makes a happy bean!!
Have a great day.
 
Re: 8/16 Lucy AMPS=113;+2=86;+3=72;+3.5=88 // DOSE QUESTION

Well, this morning Lucy's giving me a cycle I feel against a dosecrease.
Off to work now.

Hope I'll get a dose advise....
 
Re: 8/16 Lucy AMPS=113;+2=86;+3=72;+3.5=88 // DOSE QUESTION

No dosing advice from me either, but it sure looks like with some nice normal numbers and greens in this cycle, you may not need it. :mrgreen:

I'm sure some more experienced eyes will come along soon.
 
Re: 8/16 Lucy AMPS=113;+2=86;+3=72;+3.5=88 // DOSE QUESTION

Nice greens for Lucy today. :mrgreen: I don't have any dose advice, but I'm sure someone will be along later who will.
 
Re: 8/16 Lucy AMPS=113;+2=86;+3=72;+3.5=88 // DOSE QUESTION

Here's what I would ask myself if I was in your shoes: Is Lucy's nadir where you want it to be? It looks like Lucy is largely in normal numbers and her nadirs are in the higher end of the green range. She's got a "flat" curve -- there's not a lot of variation in her numbers. This part of the protocol used on the German Lantus forum may also help:

Phase 3: Holding the dose

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.

So, Lucy is in the below 130 range the vast majority of the time. You may need to tweek her dose if you feel that her overall numbers could drop a little. I'd probably think in terms of fattening the dose IF an increase seemed to be needed. You don't have that much room to for her numbers to drop!
 
Re: 8/16 Lucy PMPS=104

Thank you for your visit!
And thank you, Sienne, for your dosing advice.
I'm going to hold the current dose for now.
Most days I'm happy with her numbers, and I really like 1 unit, so easy to measure. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top