8/26 Onyx - PMPS=61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
8/23 Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102868

Good Morning, LL!!

So Onyx is doing really well. 5 of her last pre-shots were under 100, the last 2 were in the 60's...and yes, I SHOT!!! My big girl panties are fitting nicely...lol. I was REALLY trying to follow the protocol EXACTLY for Phase 4, and not do a decrease until her nadir was in the 40-50 range 3 times on seperate days, but her pre-shot numbers had come down so much, I had to decrease after 3 cycles with 40's. Good thing to, because on .75, she still hit the 40's last night. It's possible that could be some carry over from the 1U, but we'll see what the day brings.

She's doing better than I would have imagined 6 weeks after diagnosis, especially after such a rocky start. I'd sure love to get her into remission in under 8 weeks, the way they did on the protocol trial, so fingers crossed. Technically, we have 3 weeks left, since the 1st week was the wrong dose from the vet..then some missed shots to bring her down once I found FDMB. It's definitely possible. Her body is loving being in the 50's and 60's.

Another update: the Young Again has her fur in the best shape it's been in, in years!!! And the coconut oil I've been using topically to her bald/chewed skin spots, are healing wonderfully. She's no longer chewing...and the bald spots are now gone. So the combination of oil and the calming collar, are really working wonders for her. I'm so happy. It broke my heart when she made herself bleed everywhere.

Anyway, I hope everyone has a wonderful day...and Onyx and I are sending out healing vines to those in need today.

:smile:
 
Re: 8/26 Onyx - AMPS=66

It's fantastic to hear such good news about Onyx. What a quick turnaround! You're doing a wonderful job of looking after her, and she must be feeling so much better!
 
Re: 8/26 Onyx - AMPS=66

Thanks, Amy. Yes, she's doing great. I gotta say, I'm soooooooo glad I took the summer off. Had I not, it's hard to tell where we'd be right now. The data I've been able to collect has truly helped me learn how her body responds to the dosing. Once we switched to that ultra low carb food, EVERYTHING changed so drastically, it would have been nearly impossible to keep up with only 2 or 3 tests day, considering her unpredictable nadirs. Granted, I might end up broke from all the friggin strips, but it will be so worth it when she goes OTJ!

:-D
 
Re: 8/26 Onyx - AMPS=66

Lookin' good Onyx!

Just a note...I think holding for 3 drops between 40-50 might be a bit aggressive? Most people here follow the modified TR, which calls for a reduction when the cat drops under 50 if they are newly dx (diabetic less than one year). It's totally up to you of course, just wasn't sure if you were aware. :-D

Good luck, hope you keep getting these great numbers! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/26 Onyx - AMPS=66

Hi Nikki.


Thanks for stopping by.

Yes, I'm aware how it's usually done. But I really want to follow the proven protocol as closely as I can, so I can get her in remission faster. When I started decreasing after 1 at 40-50, she would then come back up, then I'd have to go back up in dose, then repeat. Just seems like too much teeter-tottering when you want to be aggressive. Being more aggressive is really working for Onyx, but since ECID, it might not for others. Plus my schedule allows for it, but won't for much longer. Since we found Onyx's FD so quickly after her steroid treatment, she didn't have as much damage as other kitties. So I just want it reversed as quickly as possible, before I'm gone all the time and can't monitor her as closely.

But thanks for pointing that out. I started with the modified protocol, but have opted to follow the true TR. And so far so good!

:-D
 
Re: 8/26 Onyx - AMPS=66, +2=60

Hi Brandi! So happy Onyx is doing so well and she's eating the YA!! I guess Penelope will just have to be dandruff-y, cuz all my kitties are eating the same food now because of difficult Mr. Picky Pants. I'm going to make him read your post and see how happy Onyx is now. Sigh. Oh well, it is what it is! ;-)

Did you ever find out about the shape of the kibbles? I don't really care anymore obviously, but I was still a little curious why it would be so different..... :?
 
Re: 8/26 Onyx - AMPS=66, +2=60

Hey Dara!!!

Oh crap, that's right. I need to remember to call Jennifer tomorrow about the food thing.

I think we need to get Onyx and Bob together so she can talk some sense into him. But as long as he's feeling better, that's all that matters.

:-D
 
Re: 8/26 Onyx - AMPS=66, +2=60, +4=49, +7=60

I'm familiar with that protocol, I guess I was just surprised that it was being used with a dry food diet, since it states that it should be used with low carb wet or raw only. But since I was the queen of BCS, I know I'm not that brave! :lol:
 
Hey Nikki.

Believe me, I understand your confusion on the food. But if you look at Onyx's SS, you will see that this dry food is ULTRA low, or as close to zero as you can get, and it doens't affect her numbers at all, no matter how much she eats. Which honestly, I think is helping me to regulate her. It's much easier to keep her numbers under control when various amounts of carbs aren't being given at various times of the day. There's not nearly as much guess work. If Onyx's numbers hadn't gotten so level, so quickly after starting this food, I'm positive I would have stayed with the modified TR. I was really nervous before. But she's making it too easy now, and just wants OTJ...lol. I just study her numbers, and do what her body is telling me.

And for anyone who is nervous about me doing this, please know that I have the full 15 page article on the Roomp and Rand Protocol from Germany, and I have studied it cover-to-cover, many times. I'm being aggressive--but still very careful with my baby. I promise. :smile:

Maybe Marje shouldn't have given me the honarary BOS last week. They empowered me...lol.

:-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top