9/3 Zeke - AMPS 225;+2=87;+2.5 ~56;+3~66;+3.6~74;+4 94

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by MrZ, Sep 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    We're early into his cycle. Just gave him 1 tsp LC. Please let me know if I should "feed the low number". Also how often should I be taking a reading? Is hourly ok unless I see signs of hypo?
     
  2. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Get another test in half an hour to see how the LC is effecting him. The 87 is still in normal range you just want to keep from going lower. It looks like his nadir is about +4?
     
  3. BorisV

    BorisV Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Hi, I can't give you advice - I am sure someone will be along soon. I would test every 1/2 hour until you see TWO rising numbers. Feed Low Crab unless there is a drop in numbers then switch to a higher carb food. I am sure someone will be posting soon! Hang in there!
     
  4. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    You did right by feeding the 87. It's not that it's too low, but when you saw it in the cycle. It's early, and on an Alphatrack, "80" is your line in the sand, I think.
    I would test at +3 for sure.
     
  5. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Recently his nadir is +4 but sometimes +6 or +7
     
  6. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Do you have syrup and HC gravy food? If he drops below 80 you will need it. Looking forward to that next test in 30mins like Ann said.

    We will advise how much gravy food depending on his numbers. Maybe 1-2 tsp
     
  7. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Is feeding 1 tsp LC adequate say if he drops below 80 within the next two readings +3 and +4? I'll be testing every 30 just for my peace of mind.
     
  8. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Carl is correct -- a drop below 80 is the "line in the sand" for a dose reduction if you're using an AlphaTrack.

    This post on Handling Low Numbers can guide you through if people aren't around. I'm at work and can't hang out with you. There are several experienced Lantus users, along with Carl who knows the drill, who can lend a hand. The important questions are whether you have a supply of strips and high carb food and can be around to monitor your kitty.
     
  9. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    If you are testing every 30, then yes, I think you can try LC first to see if that works. Unless you see a number below 70 on the next test, in which case I would bust out the big guns and go with HC.
    Since this is the first time you've seen 80s, it's a chance to find out how he responds to carbs on low numbers. But you don't have much wiggle room to play with.
     
  10. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK) +2.5 56 Help

    Just gave him 13% carb food - 1 tsp. Should I give him more?
     
  11. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Is readings at 30 minutes sufficient or should I do every 15 minutes?
     
  12. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Have you tested again?
     
  13. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    Just saw the 56.

    You have any gravy food?
     
  14. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 (ALPHATRAK)

    yes just gave him FF chicken in gravy about 1 tsp. Should I give him more? Take a reading 15 minutes after last?
     
  15. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    20 minutes. It takes that long for the food to show up.

    I updated you first post heading to show the 56 so everyone can see it.
     
  16. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    Food may not show up in the test numbers for 20-30 minutes.

    It is feed 1-2 teaspoons of high carb gravy (absorbs faster than solid food), wait 20-30 min, re-test, repeat until up in safe numbers.

    He's low enough on the AlphaTrak I'd probably feed every 15 minutes, even though the test numbers may not show it until later ... but then, I'm the nervous type.
     
  17. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    He loved the FF. Is waiting for more. I gave him another tsp of MC (13%) after I saw the comment about bringing out the big guns. He seems fine. Got excited seeing a squirrel when I was taking his +2.5 reading. Please let me know if I should be rushing him to ER.
     
  18. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    He's not showing any weird behavior? Let's see what the next test shows. Do you have Karo just in case?
     
  19. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    Keep on going with the food.

    I might feed more of the gravy as it'll absorb faster.

    If you have Karo or other syrup, add a few drops.


    Just to be prepared - do you have an oral syringe?
     
  20. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    He's up to 66 (39 on ReliOn). I gave 2 tsp FF Chicken w/gravy 13% Carb. He loves it. He's waiting for more. Will test again in 20 minutes.
     
  21. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    Good! I'll be here for the next number.
     
  22. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    Ok. Thats better.

    Gravy wears off faster than solid food, so keep going with the process.
     
  23. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    He's hanging out ins the kitchen, very alert. No weird behavior. I have the open can of FF and he's sniffing the air just waiting for more. Will be taking next test shortly. I have maple syrup but no oral syringe.
     
  24. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    Good on the behavior.


    Oral syringes are handy for a number of purposes, not just when managing low numbers. You can find them - later - at the pharmacy, as a children's syringe..
     
  25. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    @+3 plus 20 minutes he's up to 88 AlphaTrak (49 ReliOn). We haven't gotten to nadir yet. Shall I give him more food? He's waiting in the kitchen. Maybe just LC food? Though after the FF, I don't think he's gonna want the wellness.
     
  26. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    See if he'll take the Wellness.
    You're handling this perfectly, by the way :D
     
  27. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~ 56 (ALPHATRAK)

    Yes on more food, precisely because you haven't reached nadir yet.

    Gravy will wear off faster, so you may want to do another round of high carb, or maybe mix some of each together.


    Saw the 88 - start mixing the Wellness in.
     
  28. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT)

    ok, he's eating the wellness. Getting ready to take another +20 minutes reading. Hopefully, the BG is rising steadily.
     
  29. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT)

    That's the plan ... sometimes the implementation needs help :smile:
     
  30. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT)

    OK, so you've learned that Zeke responds really well to the higher carb food. Good to know if and when this happens again. If you can keep the numbers above 80 using LC food at this point, that's good to know also.

    See how I have updated your original topic title? That makes it easy for anyone to see what's going on as soon as they see the main index page. It catches their attention so they can hop in to help if needed.
    You can do that yourself, but in order to do it, you have to go up to your first post, hit the "edit" button, and then you can update it for each reading you get. Just good to know for next time. (I can only do that because I am one of the board moderators. Otherwise, only the author of a thread can edit their own threads.)
     
  31. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT)

    Dropped to 74 (AT) 41 (ReliOn). Feed 2 tsp FF (13%) with some Wellness. Will test again in 20. His behavior is normal. thanks for hanging in here with us. :mrgreen:
     
  32. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT)

    You want to keep testing at 20 to 30 minute intervals until you see Zeke staying up without additional food for at least 2 tests. If he starts going down again give a little more LC pr MC.
     
  33. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT)

    Be glad this isn't an all nighter! (Been there, did that!! and folks stayed with me too.)
     
  34. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT)

    OK, so nadir today is might be beyond +4 ;-)
    Good on the snack.

    It's also good that you've been comparing meters to see the pretty consistent variation of 30 or so points. That's good to know if you ever run out of strips for either of them.
     
  35. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    It's not unusual for numbers to wobble around. You want to keep testing until you see several tests in a safe ( i.e., above 80) range while you're still testing every 30 min. Once the numbers stabilize, you can back off to testing every hour.

     
  36. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225;+2=87;+2.5 ~56;+3~66;+3.3~88;+3.6~74;+4 94(AT)

    Will continue 20 minute testing. So how much reduction has kitty earned? 0.25 or 0.5? Thanks again from both of us for sticking with us. Couldn't imagine doing this without you. {{{{ BIG HUGS }}}}
     
  37. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    The standard deduction would be .25u, but wait for more input.
     
  38. Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    OK, I have to fly out the door to get to work, but there are plenty of people around that can help if needed.

    Great job with this today! I'll check in later.
     
  39. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Ok, at +4 plus 20 minutes holding at 94 (AT) since +4 reading. ReliOn down just a tad at 49 from 51. Will test again in 20. Poor Zekey's getting tired of the ear pricks. Had to give him some freeze-dried salmon kisses to keep him from getting worked up.
     
  40. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    You are doing a great job! How long between the last test and food? ALWAYS give treats when testing! Tess purrs through the test anticipating her treat! Many cats come on their own at test time looking for their treat!
     
  41. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    its not the protocol, but tonight, you might decrease 0.5 units to drain the shed a bit faster than just decreasing 0.25 would do.

    If not always home a lot to monitor, you might keep it at the 0.5 unit reduction level until test data indicated a change was needed.
     
  42. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    + 5 at 88 (down a tad). No ReliOn result. Will test again in 30. Hopefully then I can go back to hourly testing. Feed him wellness with a little tuna.
     
  43. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Once you're past about +7 (the usual range for a Lantus nadir, though this may vary), it may start coming up on its own. Unitl then, be vigilant.
     
  44. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    You are doing a great job! How long between the last test and food? ALWAYS give treats when testing! Tess purrs through the test anticipating her treat! Many cats come on their own at test time looking for their treat!
     
  45. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    +5.5 93 (AT). Up 5mg from +5 reading. No ReliOn possible. Gave LC wellness along with tuna.
     
  46. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Thoses last several numbers are really surfing. All meters will vary a little from test to test. Looking good.
     
  47. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Still surfing. +6 94. Is it too early to start thinking ahead? Not sure I'm up for another PM like early this AM. Like the surfing but don't care for BGs under 79 (want the reduction though).

    So, should we reduce 0.5 or 0.25? I like the 0.5 because I'm hoping that will keep Zekey out of the 70s (low), 60s & 50s but don't want to set him back either. It's a tricky call. Would appreciate the benefit of your experience on how we should proceed. Thanks.
     
  48. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    The protocol says 0.25.

    I'd go with 0.5 to help the shed drain faster, just because I don't stay up well (sleep disorder).
    - You might then go to the 0.25 reduction tomorrow, unless you want to work down to shooting low to stay low more cautiously.

    You hold the syringe, so its your call.
     
  49. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Want to make sure I understand your recommendation.

    So this morning we shot 1.5u, and I'm understanding you to suggest that it's our call and we can choose to:

    (a)Tonight - shoot 1u
    Tomorrow morning and going forward shoot 1.25 (unless kitty earns another reduction tonight < 80) and hold until need to increase or decrease based on protocol.

    (b) Follow the protocol and if I have the strength to stay up with him tonight (which is what I'm more inclined to do), shoot 1.5u and see how it goes, unless he's at 80-130 at shot time tonight, then we decrease by an additional 0.25 and shoot 1u.

    Is this correct?

    Based on today's numbers, say we decrease only 0.25. Based on your experience are we likely to see really low numbers again or really can we not predict as ECID?

    What about the fact that he was able to go as low as 56 and not go hypo. Is it safe to assume that if that happens again most likely I won't be faced with a hypo crisis (not that I wouldn't take the same action to get him back up to =>80).

    On the other hand, being that he's already dipped into the 50s, if it happens again does the risk of going hypo increase?

    I know it sounds like I'm asking to have you look into your crystal ball but I figure it doesn't hurt to ask these questions.

    Thanks,
    Laura and Zeke
     
  50. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Yes

    No, the protocol would have you shoot 1.25 tonight.

    You might, due to the shed/depot effect. That's why I'd take it down to 1.0 units tonight, myself. Get that shed drained down a bit.

    No - you were lucky. so many things go into the glucose level - illness, activity, changes in food batches, etc.

    I don't know about that. His insulin sensitivity may increase, though, any time he gets really low like that. Another reason for dropping to 1 unit tonight.
     
  51. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    By the way - tonight you may see a bounce - a surge in glucose numbers due to compensatory hormones releasing a stored form of glucose from the unusual low. This may take as much as 72 hours to clear.

    If he is way high tonight, you may choose to shoot through the bounce, ie give the 1.5 that took him low, then take the reduction. He got so low, though, I'd suggest patience if you see those high numbers and just wait it out.
     
  52. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    I'm a little fuzzy on the way the shed works. Are you saying reduce by 0.5 (i.e.: decrease more than the protocol calls for and shoot 1u) so that Zeke uses the extra insulin he has stored in the shed? So what happens is that because I'd be injecting less insulin, his body would instinctively take from the shed (the insulin storage) to make up the difference now that his body's gotten "used" to the "higher" insulin levels it's been experiencing?
    Does shed = depot?
     
  53. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Yes. It takes about 3 full days to stabilize at a dose change. Letting it drain a little more tonight, may reduce the chances of another cycle like this one where you have to test, feed, wait, repeat. He went very low.

    Not an instinct. Lantus has an acidic pH; the body is more neutral. When the 2 come in contact, Lantus makes little crystals. These slowly dissolve. The crystals Lantus makes (aka depot or shed) keep dissolving. You just aren't adding as much back in.
     
  54. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Think of liquid pouring into a funnel.

    Too slowly and it runs right through.
    Too fast and it overflows.

    A little fast, then back off, and it makes a stable pool with liquid going in and out at the same rate.

    Speed up a bit then level off - the pool is bigger.
    Slow down a bit then level off - the pool is smaller.
     
  55. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Thanks BJ. You explained everything so well. Additionally, you've made it quite clear (thank you) that the situation this morning was seriously dangerous. I will definitely play it safe and reduce to 1u tonight with an increase back up to 1.25u tomorrow morning barring any <80 numbers tonight. I don't want to push my luck and definitely want to keep Zekey safe. But only by the grace of God did the situation this morning not take a very dire turn. I figured at some point I'd have to deal with low numbers but I didn't expect that to happen so soon. I'm praying I do right by Zekey and get him safely through this process.

    Thank you to you, Ann, Carl, Wendy and Sienne for helping me today, as well as Deb and others who've provided advice or information since the minute I joined this MB.

    - Laura
     
  56. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    You might want to print this out and make sure you have everything you might need should this happen again.

    Shooting and Handling Low Numbers
     
  57. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    BJ,when you say "...,unless you want to work down to shooting low to stay low more cautiously"? Do you mean do not increase up to 1.25 but stay on 1 and see how it goes?
     
  58. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    I don't think that's what she meant. After our cats have been on Lantus for awhile, and we have enough data to see how they react (both to insulin and food) instead of having a "no shot" blood glucose number of 200, we start working our way down

    The goal is to learn how to go ahead and give insulin when they're number is lower than that (shoot low) so that they're numbers stay in those healing 50-120's (to stay low)

    We want them to spend as much time in those healing numbers as possible to give their pancreas a chance to heal....if you look at China's spreadsheet, you'll see where I've given insulin even when she's been under 100 a few times.....and in the low 100's even more.

    That's where the data you've been collecting on your spreadsheet really comes in handy. You want to get to the point where you can "shoot low numbers to stay low"

    From what I've read (and looking at your spreadsheet), the recommendation is to reduce to 1 unit tonight (to drain the shed a little), and then go back up to 1.25 and then hold it for the 3-5 days to see how it goes. IF he dropped below 80 again during that 3-5 days, you'd want to reduce even further in future cycles....down to 1 unit every cycle for 3-5 days and see how it goes...and IF another number <80 reduce another .25 to .75 units...hold again

    Is that any clearer?
     
  59. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Wow, what a day! You did great.

    Could you remove the 911 icon? We try to only use that when the situation is life threatening and it looks like Zeke is completely safe now. You can use the ? icon if you want dosing advice.
    Liz
     
  60. MrZ

    MrZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    As I'm a newbie, should I go back to posting on the main forum or can I stay here on the Tight Regulation forum?

    As I'm using an AlphaTrak, when analyzing Zeke's BGs against the SS should I adjustment the ranges in the SS (for my info) so that Green is 1-129, Blue is 130-229, Yellow is 230-329, etc (ie: add 30 to all)?

    If so, the target is 80-129 (very good regulation), right?

    We're not anywhere near this point but: After at lease 7 days that his BGs have consistently been in the normal range 80 - 129mg/dL, I can then consider reducing 0.25, correct?

    BTW - Zeke tends to get very sleepy within about an hour after a shot, is this typical?

    Lastly, is it possible to save my preference to see (in my posts) the most current postings first (in descending order)? I know I can change during a session, but it reverts back to ascending when I refresh or have to log back in due to timing out.
     
  61. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    I meant if you wanted to just keep the 0.5 reduction for a bit, get stable first, learn a bit more and get some confidence, then dive in and work more towards making dose adjustments following the Tight Regulation protocol and shooting low to stay low.

    If you're able to be home a lot and want a good chance at getting him off the insulin, following the Tight Regulation protocol and posting in this forum is where you want to be. There have been quite a few cats who've successfully done that in this forum.
     
  62. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    You're in the right place! Right here with the rest of us Lantus users!!

    Not necessary. You've got that you're using the AlphaTrak in your signature as well as in the remarks on your spreadsheet. We get pretty good about checking BUT if you think you're getting advice that doesn't sound right for the Alpha, make sure to remind us!! The majority of us do use the Relion (or other human meter) so we tend to get "used to" giving advice on the glucose levels we're more used to seeing. I saw that you'd also been using the Relion....it'll be easier if you decide on ONE as your "primary" and use that one for everything unless the other one has a problem.

    80-150 I believe. It's 50-120 for the human meters

    ANY time you get a number below 80 (on the Alpha) you decrease by .25...no matter what the other numbers are. You're right, it's too soon to think about reducing at this point unless you get one of those low numbers. Keep doing your home testing and we'll be here to help advise you as we see the trends he's showing us

    Cat's normal lives revolve around hunt, kill, eat, preen, sleep....so the "sleepiness" is much more likely due to being fed after shots

    The one thing I'll add is that since you had those low numbers yesterday, remember, the highs you're seeing are a "bounce". It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear, so just hold that 1.25 dose and let's see where he is in a few days. Of course if you're ever concerned about a number (whether low or high), please ask!

    Now, for a bit of "housekeeping". Here in the Lantus Forum, we post once/day.(we call them "condos"). Each day, give the date, cats name, and the AMPS reading in the subject line. As the day goes on, you just go back to that day's condo and "edit" the subject line with the latest results. If you also have a question, on that first post, tick the ? icon (in the icons above the Subject line) and it'll let us know you also have a question. And if you get a low number like you did yesterday, don't hesitate to use the 911 to get eyes on your condo fast! You can always go back and remove the 911 or the ? when it's appropriate.

    The rest of your condo can include things like the WCR (Whole Cat Report) Things you can include are thinks like how he's "feeling"...the 5 P's, peeing, pooping, purring, preening, playing in combination with his appetite are the clinical signs that give us the WCR

    Welcome to Lantus Land!!
     
  63. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak. (maybe print and highlight those?)

    < 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
    - At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

    < 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
    - At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

    50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
    - Off insulin - normal numbers.
    (May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

    > 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

    200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

    180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
    - Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

    >= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
    - Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
    - Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
    - Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
     
  64. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Re: AMPS 225; +2 = 87 +2.5 ~56; +3~66; +3.3~88; (AT); +3.6~

    Go to the "User Control Panel" and go to the "Board Preferences" tab. On the left is "Edit display options". The bottom "set" of options is "Display post order direction:"...switch it to Descending and "submit"....it should then keep the last post listed first.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page