9/4 Zeke - PMPS 254 (AT)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Just thought of another question. How often should I be testing? I got that the +1, +2, +10, + 11 are very important as this is data that will be crucial once we get to the point of shooting low. I've been testing at these times more (recently) because I've been home due to the Labor Day holiday weekend. However, I will be going back to work tomorrow and won't have as much flexibility as to timing of tests. I want to make the most of when I do test since they'll be less frequent.

So, aside from the PS tests, what other times should I really try to work into our schedules? The +1,2,10,11 may not always be possible but we'll do our best if you advise that we should continue capturing that data.

For today, since I'm home, I figured it would be wise to take the +10, +11 but was wondering if I should do any between then and the +6 I took which is usually his nadir. Thoughts?


WCR: The 5 P's look good today.
 
Re: 9/4 Zeke - AMPS 322, +6 148 (AT)

I missed all the fun yesterday! Good job though and nice to see you in Lantus Land! They are very helpful here and many really know their stuff!

It would be useful though if in these condos you can include a link to your previous post so people can click to go back through and review what happened before.

What time do you shoot and what time do you head out and get back work? maybe we can recommend times but I usually recommend 4 tests a day but it depends on your schedule -

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe.
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low he is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want him dropping too low (under 50). This one can be challenging depending on your schedule but you might be able to adjust shot times to get close to this at night?
- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what his overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/4 Zeke - AMPS 322, +6 148 (AT)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
It would be useful though if in these condos you can include a link to your previous post so people can click to go back through and review what happened before.

I checked the FAQ but didn't see anything on this. Could you advise how to include a link?

Wendy&Tiggy said:
What time do you shoot and what time do you head out and get back work? maybe we can recommend times but I usually recommend 4 tests a day but it depends on your schedule -

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe.
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low he is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want him dropping too low (under 50). This one can be challenging depending on your schedule but you might be able to adjust shot times to get close to this at night?
- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what his overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.
Wendy

We usually shoot at 7:30 am & pm. Before bed +2 or +3, no problem. His nadir is at +6 - the night one is doable. I can set the alarm, take the test and go back to bed no problem. The day nadir is a little more tricky. I'll see what we can do on that. Otherwise, it will be +4.5 or +5.

Just wondering, why didn't you suggest we take an evening nadir reading but instead the +2,+3?
 
Re: 9/4 Zeke - AMPS 322, +6 148 (AT)

His nadir is at +6 - the night one is doable. I can set the alarm, take the test and go back to bed no problem. The day nadir is a little more tricky. I'll see what we can do on that. Otherwise, it will be +4.5 or +5. Just wondering, why didn't you suggest we take an evening nadir reading but instead the +2,+3?
Cos many people cant get out of bed at night! An evening nadir would be perfect if you can manage it. Maybe alternate it between +5 and +7? Maybe a +2 before you leave the house in the morning or some other day test when you can.

Including a link is easy - find your previous post. Copy the url from the top of the browser. Then click on "url" above this text box where you are writing and paste the link in.

Wendy
 
With regard to the frequency of testing...

With Tight Regulation, the minimum number of tests is 4 -- each pre-shot and at least one test per cycle. When you test largely depends on your cat. I encourage people to get a +2 test. If the +2 is considerably lower than your pre-shot test, it's likely that it could be a very active cycle. It sounded like a +2 may not always be possible, though. You need to test when you can. Getting tests at the same time every day may not always give you the big picture. Getting spot checks when you can will help fill in blank spaces on your SS. Testing between +5 and +7 may not be when Zeke has his nadir. Some cats have an early nadir and other a late nadier. In addition, the nadir can change.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top