9/5 Hoot PMPS 284, +2.5/246, +5/234 Lantis Vial Life Span?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Very Active Member
9/4 Condo

9/4 Recap:
AMPS - 250
+2.5 - 298
+4.5 - 211
PMPS - 256
+2 - 196
+5 - 101
+6 - 111

Good Morning LL ~O)
Looks like Hoot is doing a little bouncy this morning. That dose threat got him down into some blues last night but he's paying for it now :roll: I gave him his dosecrease this morning so we'll see what happens. He's felling good this morning. He's just waking up and and starting "patrol" :lol: :lol: All 5 P's are good and his appy is great :-D Now we just need to get those numbers back down.
I'm just curious how long of a shelf life some of you have got out of a vile of Lantis. I've heard up to 6 months. I think I might invest in the pens next time. I was really hoping that Hoot wouldn't need much to get him back to the Falls, and in the beginning it was looking good, but it's not looking like thats the plan now. And I think even tho it's more costly up front, it's cheaper in the long run. I'm also wondering if his vile might be not working as good. I bought it 6/30/13. I always keep it in the back of the fridge and never reinsert a needle. it still looks good (not cloudy) I just have never had to use it this long as he went into remission in a month the first time we were here. Just really wanted some feedback on this as it is new territory for us.
Thanks for all the visits yesterday :-D
Sending ♥Vines♥ to all in need and especially to Barb,Jamie and Jupe :YMHUG:
Have a Great Purrsday LL ~O)
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258 Lantis Vile Life Span?

Looks like Hoot is working on breaking that bounce. Good luck with the new dose!

I haven't used a vial in eons, but I know Ann and Maggie used to get at least 4 months out of a vial, if not longer. I use pens, but I buy them one at a time, which does make it the more expensive route in the long run, but in the short term, I need to make the smaller investment. I'm able to use every last drop of the pen, and each one lasts me about 45 days, depending on where Trix's dose is.

I looked into buying a vial the last time I refilled, and I was shocked to hear the price had jumped by $35 since we started this journey 2.5 years ago. It's up to $165 now! I don't know much a box of pens would cost, but I now pay $57 for the individual pens. When we started, they were $45.

Have a great day, Pam!!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258 Lantis Vile Life Span?

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Looks like Hoot is working on breaking that bounce. Good luck with the new dose!

I haven't used a vial in eons, but I know Ann and Maggie used to get at least 4 months out of a vial, if not longer. I use pens, but I buy them one at a time, which does make it the more expensive route in the long run, but in the short term, I need to make the smaller investment. I'm able to use every last drop of the pen, and each one lasts me about 45 days, depending on where Trix's dose is.

I looked into buying a vial the last time I refilled, and I was shocked to hear the price had jumped by $35 since we started this journey 2.5 years ago. It's up to $165 now! I don't know much a box of pens would cost, but I now pay $57 for the individual pens. When we started, they were $45.

Have a great day, Pam!!

The box was $300 something and they wouldn't take the Lantis coupon (Walgreens) Where do you get just 1 pen?? I paid $165 for the vile too. I called Walmart and got a price and they were $195 :shock: They sell their strips and syringes cheap but make it up on the Insulin :roll:
Thanks Amy, I appreciate it!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258 Lantis Vile Life Span?

I get my individual pens at Target, but it is my understanding that not all Target's will sell them individually, so you have to call around. Yep, just another obstacle in treating our kitties as affordably as possible!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258 Lantis Vile Life Span?

People have used vials for 6 mos. I've always used pens so I can't speak from experience, though.

One observation on Hoot's SS. With a kitty that's back from the Falls, you often need to be more aggressive with dosing. At least to my eyes, one consideration is that you may want to raise doses by 0.25u rather than fattening the dose and evaluate the dose every 6 cycles. Generally, you would only fatten/skinny a dose if you are zeroing in on what is a good dose.
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258 Lantis Vile Life Span?

Sienne and Gabby said:
People have used vials for 6 mos. I've always used pens so I can't speak from experience, though.

One observation on Hoot's SS. With a kitty that's back from the Falls, you often need to be more aggressive with dosing. At least to my eyes, one consideration is that you may want to raise doses by 0.25u rather than fattening the dose and evaluate the dose every 6 cycles. Generally, you would only fatten/skinny a dose if you are zeroing in on what is a good dose.

Thanks Sienne,
I'm not really sure what "aggressive" means as we never really did "non aggressive" with him. He went down the dose ladder so fast thats all we did. I will definitely try to keep to this schedule of 6 cycles.
Have a great day!!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258 Lantis Vile Life Span?

Amy&TrixieCat said:
I get my individual pens at Target, but it is my understanding that not all Target's will sell them individually, so you have to call around. Yep, just another obstacle in treating our kitties as affordably as possible!

Thanks!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258, +4/129 Lantis Vile Life Sp

Hi guys .. good luck with the dosecrease .. I never used a vial with mocha, we always used pens and were only able to get about 26-28 days out of a pen .. We "probably" could have gone longer but it just seemed like her numbers fizzled out . .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258, +4/129 Lantis Vile Life Sp

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. good luck with the dosecrease .. I never used a vial with mocha, we always used pens and were only able to get about 26-28 days out of a pen .. We "probably" could have gone longer but it just seemed like her numbers fizzled out . .. have a great day guys!

Thanks!
Have a great day too!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258, +4/129 Lantis Vile Life Sp

Come on Hoot. Work the juice.

I can't give you any vial advice as we too were only at the insulin for a month. It sounds like you have protected it well and I too have heard you can get up to 6 months out of it. I called many different places as some would sell 3 or 5 pens at a time. I couldn't find any place that would sell them individually. Guess it just depends on the store.

Have a great afternoon and I hope Hoot surfs the greens for you...he's headed in the right direction.

Karen
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot AMPS 332, +2.75/258, +4/129 Lantis Vile Life Sp

GregFurBall said:
Come on Hoot. Work the juice.

I can't give you any vial advice as we too were only at the insulin for a month. It sounds like you have protected it well and I too have heard you can get up to 6 months out of it. I called many different places as some would sell 3 or 5 pens at a time. I couldn't find any place that would sell them individually. Guess it just depends on the store.

Have a great afternoon and I hope Hoot surfs the greens for you...he's headed in the right direction.

Karen

Hi Karen, I did find a Target that would sell me 1 pen for 67.99. A box of 5 was 334.99. If a pen only lasts about a month, it's cheaper to get the vile for 165.00 if I can get 6 months out of it. Decisions Decisions :roll:
Thanks for your input!!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vile Life Span?

Hi, Pam!
Decisions decisions is right!
I switched to the pens after using most of the first vial, and I'm glad I did (ultimately for cost reasons).
I had a hard time finding a single pen around here, so the best price I found for a box of them was at Costco. If you have one near you, it's worth looking into ~ you don't need to be a member to use their pharmacy.

Give Mr. Hoot scritches from us!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vile Life Span?

I used Furball's last vial for almost a year. Near the end her numbers were a bit bouncy and I couldn't tell if the insulin was old or she was just being bouncy so I got a new vial. I wish the vials weren't so expensive.
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vile Life Span?

I just used up my vial...down to the last drop....after 3.5 months.

I went ahead and just bought another one...as I don't feel like learning anything new right now!!!! 'I finally have something down to a science.....I don't want to have to watch another video 100 times again....ha...silly right?

FYI: when I bought my first vial at walgreens it was: $160.00

When I bought the next one last week it was: $200.00

WOW.

I saw on your SS that you were trying to "make" Hoot an indoor only kitty.......how did that go? Tom is a hates indoors/loves outdoors cat too!! double the stress ...right?

good luck ......

~kelly
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vile Life Span?

You may have better luck finding individual pens calling mom and pop type pharmacies... they seem to be more wiling to break up a box.
It doesn't hurt to call every where. Someone might be willing.

I only ever used a vial before and it lasted over 100 days ( that was as long as we needed it for otj)
I have a unused single pen now just in case ( we had a run of higher numbers but then they went back down lower so now it sits there waiting )
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vile Life Span?

Hi Pam,
I'm glad Hoot is feeling good. :-D

We can still buy cartridges in Canada, so that what I use.
I didn't know pens are so expensive!!!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vile Life Span?

Josie & Ripley said:
Hi, Pam!
Decisions decisions is right!
I switched to the pens after using most of the first vial, and I'm glad I did (ultimately for cost reasons).
I had a hard time finding a single pen around here, so the best price I found for a box of them was at Costco. If you have one near you, it's worth looking into ~ you don't need to be a member to use their pharmacy.

Give Mr. Hoot scritches from us!

Thanks Josie, I will check out Costco's prices.
Have a good night :smile:
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vial Life Span?

carfurby said:
I used Furball's last vial for almost a year. Near the end her numbers were a bit bouncy and I couldn't tell if the insulin was old or she was just being bouncy so I got a new vial. I wish the vials weren't so expensive.

Wow, a year...thats hopeful!! I know, it's all expensive, but the vials seem to be the best value depending on how long one will last.
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vile Life Span?

We got up to 3 months on vials with Zener. We started using the pens recently and were able to get individual pens at our local hospital out patient pharmacy. They would also honor the Lantus coupon, so we paid $25. Our local Target would not sell individual pens.
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vile Life Span?

tomtom13 said:
I just used up my vial...down to the last drop....after 3.5 months.

I went ahead and just bought another one...as I don't feel like learning anything new right now!!!! 'I finally have something down to a science.....I don't want to have to watch another video 100 times again....ha...silly right?

FYI: when I bought my first vial at walgreens it was: $160.00

When I bought the next one last week it was: $200.00

WOW.

I saw on your SS that you were trying to "make" Hoot an indoor only kitty.......how did that go? Tom is a hates indoors/loves outdoors cat too!! double the stress ...right?

good luck ......

~kelly

Hi Kelly, Wow on the Walgreens price hike :shock: I just got this one on 6/30/13 from Walgreens. I better start checking around. I still have over a half of a vial so I have time to check it out.
Yeah, Hoot just loved being outside. I always brought them in at night...I told them the "Bad Cats" were out at night so they had to come in ;-) :lol: He liked being indoors too, but not all the time. I feel so bad for him. I try to take him for walks as often as I can so he can still get out. He is adjusting ok, but I just hate it :sad:
Thanks for stopping by!
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284 Lantis Vial Life Span?

Anne & Zener said:
We got up to 3 months on vials with Zener. We started using the pens recently and were able to get individual pens at our local hospital out patient pharmacy. They would also honor the Lantus coupon, so we paid $25. Our local Target would not sell individual pens.

The Target I talked to said they would honor the coupon too, and sell me 1 pen. So as long as they honor the coupon, that would be the cheapest way to go. Otherwise they charged 67.99 a pen. That's a big savings! How long do the pens last unopened?
 
Re: 9/5 Hoot PMPS 284, +2.5/246, +5/234 Lantis Vial Life Spa

Thanks everyone for all the GREAT advice today. It really has helped. Hope you all have an uneventful night and get some sleep I-)
Hoot and I are heading to bed now. Well actually now he wants to play...so I guess just I am heading to bed :lol: :lol: Go easy on the house Hoot nailbite_smile :lol:
Sleep tight LL I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top