MrZ
Member Since 2013
So, really, there's nothing we can do, huh? Have to wait for AM?
!%?!$%?!@??##?#? - Very likely we have a complete fur shot. Lost opportunity. Can't shoot again and risk OD. !$%&!@%!!!!!
{BEFORE SHOT}
OK, here we are. Decision time. Please help! He's above 130 so I guess we shoot full dose of 1.25u? Yes? Oops, got a little panicky. His +11 = 157 (AT); PMPS=192. I feel much less nervous but I know it's gonna {it could have been} an active cycle. Let's go surfing!!! {Ah, not!!}
Since we started testing Zeke’s BGs, we’ve been using an AlphaTrak. Unfortunately, yesterday we were running low on strips so we had to take his 9/5 (PM) and his 9/6 (AM) readings using the ReliOn Micro. We'll resume using Alpha Trak tonight for 9/6 (PM) data. His BGs have not been that great today. Zeke can't seem to stay <300 entirely despite having had some low numbers at times. Is this still bounce we’re seeing or an indication we need to increase his dose?
We have some questions on the protocol, specifically related to Phase 2 as reflected here: Protocol using AlphaTrak.
We decreased his dose on 9/4 and since then his BGs have sometimes been > 300 and his nadir was > 200 on one occasion (all other nadirs have been either within the normal target range or just above). We’re wondering is Zeke due for a 0.25u increase or should we wait maybe two more days?
Also, we’re having trouble understanding the following reflected in Phase 2 (highlighted in the above doc for which a link is provided), which reads:
“If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL “
Could someone please explain what is meant by “peak” in this sentence and how exactly to apply this criteria?
Does this “peak” mean the period of peak effectiveness of Lantus, which my understanding is 5-7 hours? Does that fact that Zeke’s nadir is typically at +6 (once +7) come into play in determining if the “test” as per this sentence is met? Looking at Zeke’s ss, can you explain how we would conclude that he is or is not yet due for an increase?
Thanks,
Laura
Yesterday's condo(s):
Click here for: 9/5/13 AM info on Zeke
Click here for: 9/5/13 PM info on Zeke
!%?!$%?!@??##?#? - Very likely we have a complete fur shot. Lost opportunity. Can't shoot again and risk OD. !$%&!@%!!!!!
{BEFORE SHOT}
OK, here we are. Decision time. Please help! He's above 130 so I guess we shoot full dose of 1.25u? Yes? Oops, got a little panicky. His +11 = 157 (AT); PMPS=192. I feel much less nervous but I know it's gonna {it could have been} an active cycle. Let's go surfing!!! {Ah, not!!}
Since we started testing Zeke’s BGs, we’ve been using an AlphaTrak. Unfortunately, yesterday we were running low on strips so we had to take his 9/5 (PM) and his 9/6 (AM) readings using the ReliOn Micro. We'll resume using Alpha Trak tonight for 9/6 (PM) data. His BGs have not been that great today. Zeke can't seem to stay <300 entirely despite having had some low numbers at times. Is this still bounce we’re seeing or an indication we need to increase his dose?
We have some questions on the protocol, specifically related to Phase 2 as reflected here: Protocol using AlphaTrak.
We decreased his dose on 9/4 and since then his BGs have sometimes been > 300 and his nadir was > 200 on one occasion (all other nadirs have been either within the normal target range or just above). We’re wondering is Zeke due for a 0.25u increase or should we wait maybe two more days?
Also, we’re having trouble understanding the following reflected in Phase 2 (highlighted in the above doc for which a link is provided), which reads:
“If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL “
Could someone please explain what is meant by “peak” in this sentence and how exactly to apply this criteria?
Does this “peak” mean the period of peak effectiveness of Lantus, which my understanding is 5-7 hours? Does that fact that Zeke’s nadir is typically at +6 (once +7) come into play in determining if the “test” as per this sentence is met? Looking at Zeke’s ss, can you explain how we would conclude that he is or is not yet due for an increase?
Thanks,
Laura
Yesterday's condo(s):
Click here for: 9/5/13 AM info on Zeke
Click here for: 9/5/13 PM info on Zeke