9/6 Gracie PMPS 292 Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

9/5 Recap:
AMPS: 177
+2: 103
+3: 81
+4: 57
+4.5: 45
+5: 57
+6: 52
+7: 45
+7.75: 51
+9: 56
+10.25: 43
+11: 50
PMPS: 67
+1: 109
+2: 96
+3: 88
+4: 68
+5: 67
+7: 75
+8.5: 71
+10: 115


Happy LUPITA FRIDAY!!!!! ((((Barb)))) still thinking of you and sending you prayers. Healing vines to all ailing kitties and beans.

Last night was not pretty. Gracie ate well on her own yesterday and I reduced her dose last night because we worked so hard to keep her BG up yesterday. Last night, we made sure she ate well before we shot. About 30 mins after the insulin was in her, she had a massive puke with more hair. I gave her some cerenia (1/4 tab) so I could get food in her to control her numbers and she vomited that up AND started having diarrhea. I gave her another cerenia (1/4 tab) and she kept that down. I was then able to get food into her; had to syringe feed her once and I added some karo just to keep her BG a little higher. I hated testing her every hour but just was concerned that without her normal food, she'd drop. Even with the karo, she didn't go very high. She and I slept in a guest room so Mike could get some rest as I knew I'd be up and down and tossing/turning with worry. She had a more solid poo at +8.5 and a pretty normal one (weird color, though) at +10. She just had another small one, solid but I swear it looks like a hairball. Dr. B emailed me late last night to check on her and she said that a hairball could cause severe vomiting and diarrhea. So far, Gracie has eaten well this morning on her own and kept it all down (touch wood). We have an appt at 3 to get an U/S. I just don't want to go into the weekend not knowing if something is going on; it all came on so fast. The weird thing about a hairball is we brush her every single day and after we brush, we run a damp cloth over her fur to catch the loose hair. She does like to bathe, though. Dr. B told me to give her some squash and she licked it up. I hope that is not what raised her BG so high although I did expect a bounce.

LBG is feeling well enough to give Lupita the stinkeye and a hisssssssssss! YOU'RE BACKK???? cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam :lol: :lol: :lol: She swatted at a few toys this morning and has been moving around the house. She has her tail up but there's just that spark in her eyes that I"m not seeing that has me worried that she still doesn't feel well.

Please excuse my absence but until our baby girl is better, I need to spend the time with her. I'll let you know an update after the U/S. Thank you for all your prayers and support. Hugs to you and your babies!
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

Tons of vines for the Principessa! We need that spark back , Gracie!
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

I hope Gracie feels better really soon. She can't give a good stink-eye without that spark!
(((Marje)))
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

Thinking of you and Gracie! I just KNOW she'll be fine but know that you won't be until you find that out. Sending loads of positive thoughts and those healing vines / vibes as well! I knew something was not quite right when I saw your SS wasn't updated, maybe Lupita will whip all into shape. I just KNOW all will be okay!

Bern
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

LBG is feeling well enough to give Lupita the stinkeye and a hisssssssssss! YOU'RE BACKK????

Now THAT'S our Gracie :lol:
While I don't condone the behavior, and I believe she's just trying to mask her true feelings of love for Lupita, it is nice to see somewhat of a return to normal. ;-)
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

Prayers to you all as you go in for Gracie's U/S. I so hope she gets better quickly!

Karen
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

Paws crossed for a good US and this was all due to a hairball that is now cleared out. Good job keeping an eye on that Lupita, Gracie. :lol: Carl's "I don't condone that behavior" made me laugh! :lol: :lol: :lol: Hugs to you, Marje.
Liz
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

We are still at vet waiting for the U/S. however the IM specialist feels she just has gastroenteritis from either eating some bad food or something she doesn't normally eat. He said he didn't think he needed to do an U/S but I told him I want one because she is FD and it is the weekend. I want to be 100% sure he's not seeing anything scary. Hey it's our money right! So we're waiting.

I'll let you all know when we're done.
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

Sending prayers to you for Gracie, Gus and Tobey. I hope the U/S results are good.
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

thinking about miss gracie - i hope you get good news before you leave the vet's today, marje! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

Best wishes and hugs to Gracie for an ultrasound with happy results.
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

Oh Marje,

I am so so so sorry that Lil Gracie is having such a hard time!!!! I think I have some of that good coffee you liked from Seattle to keep you awake!
Call if you need anything or I can help!

Rex and I will be pacing till we hear something back about the U/S.

Hugz From Around The Corner!!!
 
Re: 9/6 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 146 +5 254 U/S Today

Marge, I hope that all is OK with Gracie. I just saw your post. Rusty is sending a beautiful bouquet of healing vines. Hairballs are not fun!

Catch you later,


Ella & Rusty
 
Thank you all, again, for being so supportive.

As I said earlier, the vet did not want to do the U/S because he thought she just has acute gastroenteritis but I insisted. All findings were normal except she had a bit of "diffuse" thickening in the small intestine and a little bit of fluid still in her stomach long after her last meal. He said this is very indicative of acute gastroenteritis. I asked him how he knows it's not the beginning of IBD. He said that while most IBD, which is chronic, starts as acute, there are generally other symptoms like kitty does not want to eat, weight loss, fur doesn't look good, etc. Other than last night for one or so meals, Gracie has been eating fine. In fact, as soon as we got home, she hopped up on the counter. He said he really thinks it is acute and cats are prone to acute tummy upsets. He said it could be as simple as something different with a new case of food of the same kind we've always been using and I did just buy new cases of food about a week ago. He said it should resolve by the end of the weekend and since her stools are already firming up, he feels she has started the healing process.

So we'll see......She does seem to feel better today although her BG is really high probably due to bounce plus major vetty stress. She was on the U/S table a good 40 minutes and shook the whole time....poor baby girl.

I haven't eaten since breffis so dinner for me now and I'll try to do some posts tonight if I can stay awake ;-) Thank you all again!!!
 
Gracie, heal thyself!

Marge, relax and try to enjoy your dinner! We are thinking positive thoughts for your girl. Maybe this is a revisit of whatever all three of your furkids had a few days ago?

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
oh... Bless her little trembling body.... She had you with her at least, didn't she? I think I remember you get to stay with her.
Sending vetty de-stress vines and cyber cuddly fleece to hide from her harrowing day to the LBG.

and more healing vines to the whole gang.... no more tummy woes....

Hugs!
 
Poor Gracie! It sounds like it was a stressful day for you both. I hope it was just the food and that she is already on the road to feeling better.
 
Hi Marje, we were wondering about you all afternoon but just got home.

Glad you got the US - you'll be less stressed going into the weekend, at least. Good thing they think it's gastroenteritis & not IBD. Just out of curiosity, do you feed any food with carageenan? I've read it can cause problems for some cats. I just found that hairballs are a common cause of gastroenteritis: Pet Health: Gastroenteritis in Cats Interesting comment here (about GE meds, not hairballs) Mission Animal Hospital & Gastroenteritis

Does the vet still think Gracie also has / had giardia or gastroenteritis alone????

Hope you got a nourishing dinner - & Gracie, too, & that LBG's BG is just high enough for you to safely get some good zzzzz's - sending heling, appy, poopy, & sleepy vines right now

PS - Lupita sure seems to work well as a Gracie barometer - can you get her on Skype - or maybe wallpaper for your 'puter would work? :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Sending lots of healing vines to sweet Gracie.
I'm glad she's eating well and her poops are firming up.
I hope your vet is right about her clearing this by the end of weekend.
Please take care of yourself too, Marje. :YMHUG:
 
 

Attachments

  • get well.gif
    get well.gif
    54.3 KB · Views: 1,233
Marje, I hope Gracie is have a better morning, and you have some peace of mind after the US.
Sending all of you feel better soon vines :YMHUG:
 
Hi Marje. So sorry that Gracie was Ill. Good for you insisting on the U/S for your girl. Better to know for sure nothing else is going on, especially on a weekend. I hope she is still eating and that her poo is back to normal and she's enjoying her catio. We're keeping LBG in our Prayers and sending lots of healing vines her way.

Have a great weekend Marje.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top